We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfectly Located”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

While studying abroad in New Zealand I spent a weekend in Queenstown and this was the perfect hotel. It has an amazing view of the water! You can also see the mountains and the gondola. The hotel is located on a STEEP hill and as I didn't have a car, I got quite a work out walking to/from the city center, but even with the hill it was only a 5-10 minute walk. The wifi that's provided is only 24 hours free and if more than one person is staying in the room, only one person can use it. I would recommend this hotel because it is centrally located and has fair prices.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ciara330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Thank you for the comment regarding our proximity to the centre of town, and although we are located on a hill it sounds like you handled the short walk back on a number of times with out problems!

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    281
    121
    37
    11
See reviews for
120
290
47
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is in the heart of the city as the name suggests. Everything you want to do in queens town is on walkable distance. Hence we did not hire a car while our stay in heartland, queenstown. The hotel staff was very kind to wish us for our honeymoon and to upgrade our room as well as gift us chocolates and a card. The view from the hotel is mind-blowing. it isn't a 5 start restaurant but it definitely is close to my heart. I still miss my stay at heartland:)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

So pleased you enjoyed your upgrade and the views from your room. We are ideally located for people who would like to walk the short distances to town and other attractions.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I loved this hotel, from the beautiful lake view from the room, to the friendly staff and the rooms very close and comfortable. The location is also very close to town, about 5 minutes walk. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

I'm pleased you found the staff friendly and the view of the lake to your liking. We are actually located only 200 metres from the centre of Queenstown, which is ideal if you're walking.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We have been there in March and got lucky because they gave us one of the best rooms, with an amazing view of the lake below. We didn't stay much (only one night) but the staff was very nice and the room was quiet and tidy. The only disadvantage is that is not easily reachable if you have got some deambulation problem, as its position is on top of a very steep road.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matteo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

Very positive comments about you enjoying the great views of the lake from your room.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quiet centrally located in the city of queenstown. The rooms are clean and spacious and comfortable. It overlooks the lake so gives a nice view from your hotel room. The hotel has all the basic facilities and the staff is very helpful and welcoming. We stayed at the hotel for 3 night and it was a nice comfortable stay. The market is jus 5 mins walking distance from the hotel. Its worth the money.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vaishnavi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Heartland Hotel Queenstown.

We value your positive comments also about enjoying the views from your room.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night during our 3 night stay in Queenstown. The place is a bit old, requires some renovation (especially the toilet/bathroom). Parking was a bit crowded and troublesome. Otherwise the stay is OK with reasonable access to town and helpful staff. The manager actually moved his car to make room to park my car :). Overall not a disappointment, but just average.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank in_oz_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel in Queenstown.

We value our guests comments as it helps us make improvements where possible.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Upon check in toilet was dirty, bathroom vanity had hair on it, floors were dirty, powerpoint in bathroom didn't work. Had to call reception at 2am to complain of ongoing excessive noise of guests partying in adjoining room. Fire alarms went off at 7.30am first morning, then 6am, 7.30am and 8am second morning - no good nights sleep or sleep ins here. Guest laundry was filthy - literally dirt all over top of both washing machines and inside. Dryers looked like never cleaned. Tokens for laundry charged at $2 each one day - the next day they were $4 - when we questioned this we were treated like liars, no apologies were issued or offers to honour original price (a petty issue but on top of everything else it seemed like a big deal). Rooms were creaky and noisy - can hear people walking around in adjoining rooms and everyword ppl say outside - they should invest in double glazed windows. No allocated parking meant that other guests parked right up against our door and we had less than half a metre to squeeze past the car with our bags to get to our car in a back parking lot. Really tainted our stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimMiller925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettInksterQT, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel, we value commenst from our guests as it helps us make improvements where needed.

I have read all your comments about the room allocated during your stay and have taken action on the items we can correct before the next guest stays.

Once again thank you for your comments

Kind regards
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.0 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#6 of 58 in Queenstown
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Queenstown

Property: Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Address: 27 Stanley St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Queenstown 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Heartland Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Circle a Line Hotel
Scenic Circle a Line Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing