We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavy heart to be so frank”
Review of Hidden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hidden Lodge
Ranked #11 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Heavy heart to be so frank”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

I write this as honest criticism.

This place is in process of new ownership.

It shows and does not justify its lauds from previous owners at its current costs ($800-1000?????????? Per night?????)

I do not care who you are or what celebrity/royalty frequents here.

For $300 to $1000 per night, I want 5-star.

This is just to point out the flaws as beauty cannot conceal the smaller measures necessary for a flawless experience.

We had such high hopes going to Queenstown and this place.

The pros include view, temporary chef Kate (amazing and awesome, salvaged a few points for this place), washer/dryer and...thats it. Location is in Bay of Sunshine (locally and formerly Bay of Sandflies the locals joked).

My experience included the following:

Upon arrival, my wife was asked to take her bags to her own room (sarcastically or not, bad joke). I took 2 of 3 bags to room myself. On way out, my wife was asked to take one of those bags down. Really?!?

There is no staff aside from the owner on a full time basis. If needed, he is in his "slave quarters" awaiting to help. There is a cleaning lady who does her job and the owner and his wife will shortly be the main chefs.

Wifi went down for one of our two nights, we needed "internet guy" next morning to fix it. Beyond inconvenient when wanting to communicate or look up things.

Our room had bugs on bed upon arrival.

Owner has no transportation to city and no established contract with local taxi companies at our time of visit. This place is far from close to Queenstown. It was $20 each way in cab.

On Easter holiday, no temporary chef. Owner burnt our toast. Breakfast was gross. "5-star experience" was a joke.

All the wine and beer you can drink was a joke. The owner notes who drank what and told us that previous guest had drank some champagne and therefore "yours" is not available. Endless drinks was a joke. Drank to kill time.

Informality and sarcasm were understood, but this did not validate a majestic, 5-star experience. I want service, not nonsense. We were repeatedly told by owner of the lodge's 5-star status. This was earned by the previous owners, not him.

The new owners will need to establish their reputation, and I hope that this review is utilized constructively.

For those visiting Queenstown, at this time, I could not let you feel the disappoint as my wife and I experienced. In this amazing place, I felt cheated by where I was. Everything short of perfection or even adequacy.

I wanted the Ritz/Hilton, I got a backpacker lodge.

Nice owner, needs his wife to quickly move from home and get this ship right.

Will never justify the amount of money wasted here. Wish I would have just gone to Matakauri as I had planned.

Sorry for blasting review, but experience tainted Queenstown and by far was the worst part of amazing trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pras499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lace W, General Manager at Hidden Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
It has always been our desire at Evergreen Lodge to give each and every guest the best experience possible. We are disappointed that this guest believes he did not receive the service he expected of Evergreen Lodge. Although we disagree with much of his negative comments, we will strive to improve our service and make sure reviews such as this do not occur in the future. Be assured we will make every effort to meet and surpass our guest’s expectations.

Each suite is thoroughly checked and a final preparation completed prior to guests arrival. There were no insects noted on the bed or in the room immediately prior to this guest’s arrival. When our guest and his wife arrived, I told them that I would carry their bags their room, and started to do so. They began to follow me, carrying bags as well, so I stopped and told them I would come back to get those bags and bring them to the room for them. They refused the offer and continued following me with their bags in hand. Upon their departure from the lodge, I arrived to their room to carry their bags out for them. Once again they decided to carry some of the bags themselves, despite my offer to take care of all of the bags for them. The statement that I asked this guest and his wife to carry their own bags is completely untrue and I cannot understand why he would make such a misleading and false statement in his review. The Wi-Fi did have issues on the first night the guests were staying. This issue was remedied while the guest was out to dinner that evening and he was notified of its repair first thing in the morning. While the Wi-Fi was unavailable, access to the internet was still available from the complementary guest computer and use of this computer was immediately offered to the guest. Each morning our guests receive a gourmet cooked breakfast. If possible, we ask guests what they would like to eat and create a meal especially for them rather than cooking from a set menu. A simple request of ham and cheese omelets was received from our guest and his wife. In addition to the requested omelets, I presented them with a beautiful coconut cake with boysenberry and yogurt sauce as a special treat. Both our guest and his wife ate everything on their plates and no negative comments were made at any time. Any indication that the guest was not happy with what they were given and I would have offered anything else to them without question. It is very important to me that guests enjoy every part of their stay with us. If something is not sufficient it will be replaced immediately.

As part of your stay at the Evergreen Lodge, we offer an open bar to our guests. We want you to feel welcome to help yourself to a drink from our well stocked bar at any time while taking in the amazing views that surround the Evergreen Lodge. Guest intake is not monitored; however the aim of the open bar is not intended for binge drinking. I find it very unfortunate that this guest “drank to kill time”, in a town such as Queenstown with its many activities and sights.

As hosts for this beautiful property, my wife and I are on-site 24 hours a day to assist our guests with any request they have. There is no need for additional staff to be on site at all times. The previous owners of Evergreen Lodge have continued to be closely involved with the operations of the Lodge to ensure a smooth transition into new ownership and there has been no change to the facilities or level of service offered at this great property. We are also happy to supply complementary transport, with our lodge vehicle, to and from the airport as well as selected restaurants or activities if we are available to leave the lodge.

It is important to note that we have brought the false statements in this guest review to the attention of Trip Advisor. However, something to keep in mind when you read guest reviews for the various properties that are listed on this website is that Trip Advisors guidelines for travelers reviews does not state that a review must actually be true. There is no policy preventing reviews that are untrue from being published.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    3
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
88
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Tish and Murray have a lovely home with stunning views of the mountains and the lake. Murray was a great source is information about the area, anything from activities to best places for dinner.
Tish made the best breakfasts of our vacation. The home is fabulous, the room we were in was very large and outfitted with anything you might need from a mini fridge to a coffee maker. The bathroom had both a tub and a shower. There were areas for relaxing downstairs. The living room with that amazing view of the lake and the grounds or the back patio with the outdoor fireplace.

All in all, this was one of the best run and friendliest B&B's we have ever been to. Next time we are in Queenstown we will be staying at Evergreen lodge.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mjack1409_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lettitia A, Manager at Hidden Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Evergreen Lodge. We are pleased you enjoyed our piece of paradise and kiwi hospitality at that Lodge. We really appreciate the kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Big thanks to Tish and Murray for making us feel so welcome the moment we arrived. Though we only spent a few days, we absolutely loved our time at the lodge! The breakfasts were to die for - thanks Tish! The views from our room and from the breakfast table were incredible. Rarely do we go back home (NZ) and actually feel like we've had a holiday, but these two days were a bit of a "get away" for us, and it was well worth the two days of complete relaxation!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lettitia A, Owner at Hidden Lodge, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for choosing to stay with us here at Evergreen.
Maybe next time you visit us will be able to stay awhile longer and enjoy the our kiwi hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

In a nutshell, fabulous. Tish is a third generation hospitality expert and Murray is the ultimate travel guide. On top of that, everything about Evergreen is wonderful. Our room was huge, incredibly comfortable and with million dollar views. Simply breathtaking. The living room and dining rooms have the same view and there is a beautiful outdoor patio with a fireplace. There is a small exercise room with excellent equipment plus two full sets of golf clubs available to the guests. There is also a sauna which, dumb me, we did not use. We were the only guests (just between peak periods) so we were really treated like family. Tish's breakfasts were delicious and as the only guests we had a ton of fun chatting with her for the first hour every morning of our four night stay. Our room had a small refrigerator with a nice selection of beverages and in the living room there is wine available...at your pleasure.

Evergreen is a few minutes outside of town and getting down the steep driveway is a bit of a challenge but once you get through the front door and the views explode in your face you will be very happy you found Evergreen.

Our stay was at the end of a two week NZ trip hopping from place to place for no more than two nights so ending it this way was perfect.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TimeTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lettitia A, Owner at Hidden Lodge, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Evergreen. Guests arrive as strangers but leave as friends. We are very pleased your enjoyed your stay with us and we just loved hosting you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Superb in every way from the stunning views to the sumptious rooms and the amazing hosts, Murray and Tish, for whom nothing was too much trouble. We did not want to leave and will definitely return. A real gem and somewhere we will never forget. Thank you Murray and Tish for allowing us to stay in your beautiful creation.

Room Tip: Room 1 is huge with a stunning room of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp_66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lettitia A, Owner at Hidden Lodge, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Evergreen Lodge and for you kind comments. We really appreciate the reviews from everyone.
We are lucky here at Evergreen to have Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkable mountains in full view. Take care and safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2013

What more can one say. We had a 6.20am start on Christmas Day and Tish got up to cook breakfast and make sandwiches (in case we got hungry!). Murray and Tish are Hosts of the first order. Great restaurant recommendations, nothing is too much effort. Beautiful rooms. If you have never tried New Zealand Lodges do. If you can start at Evergreen Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDoriB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lettitia A, Owner at Hidden Lodge, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Evergreen Lodge. Early morning breakfasts are no problems when there are hikes or trips to the Sounds to be enjoyed. Take care and all the best for 2013...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This was our first trip to New Zealand and we had already experienced several other lodges when we arrived at Evergreen. We had been thoroughly impressed at all the previous lodges as they had their own individual characters. But Evergreen raised the bar even higher from the moment Tish and Murray welcomed us into their magnificent home. The views from our bedroom and the lounge were simply spectacular. Nothing was too much trouble for them and their hospitality exuded a genuine warmth, which was unforgettable. Their restaurant recommendations "hit the spot" and the combination of Tish's wonderful breakfasts, coupled with Murray's advice for the adventures ahead was a great start to the day. If you are anywhere near Queenstown and looking for some unashamed luxury, Evergreen Lodge is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjamesesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenstownPercy, Owner at Hidden Lodge, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Evergreen Lodge and for your kind comments


We would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best for a safe and happy 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
5.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Azur
Azur
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Lodge

Property: Hidden Lodge
Address: 28 Evergreen Place | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Evergreen Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hidden Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queenstown's Hidden Lodge is a haven for guests looking to relax and enjoy the serenity on offer at this secluded location. On arrival guests are mesmerised by commanding views of The Remarkables and Cecil Peak mountains, Hidden Island and Lake Wakatipu. There are four spacious guest suites featuring super-king size beds. Each suite has its own bathroom. All guests can enjoy the wood-fired hot pool, gymnasium and sauna. The lounge area offers panoramic views while the sun-drenched outdoor courtyard is ideal for relaxation. The on-site Lodge Manager provides customised, fully-cooked breakfasts for guests. Guests enjoy canapes and drinks on arrival. The breakfast, canapes and drinks are complimentary, as are tea, coffee and soft drinks throughout the day. At this boutique, high quality accommodation Wi-Fi is free and there is ample off- street parking. Assistance is available for transfer information, restaurant suggestions, activity options and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hidden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing