We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodge with lovely hosts!”
Review of Hidden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Lodge
Ranked #10 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful lodge with lovely hosts!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved every single second of our stay.

The lodge is located minutes away from the city centre. It's nice and peaceful and the view is simply breathtaking! I do recommend to get a rental car if you decide to stay here. It is just under a 5min drive to town.

The rooms are nicely furnished. We also used the sauna, which is perfect after spending a day on the mountain. There is also a DVD collection in the study that are free for guests to use.

Last but not least, the hosts are very welcoming and beautiful people! Cindy's cooking is so delicious. We had 3 course breakfast almost every single morning. Breakfast started with a morning glory muffin, followed by a fruit salad and then a cooked breakfast to finish. The hosts are also very accommodating. Cindy even baked us muffins for breakfast on the morning which we had to leave at 6:30am for a day tour to Milford sound. Lace is hilarious and very helpful. I had to print out some booking papers and he kindly offered us to use his printer and laptop.

We will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cici J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    3
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
89
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Lodge, reached down a pretty steep drive, has stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkable Mountains.

Hosts Lace and Cyndi from Michigan USA were very welcoming and helpful with suggestions of where to visit and they recommendations and booked restaurants for us.

Cyndi cooks a full very good breakfast with, if required, some interesting variations.

Our room was beautifully equipped with a superb bathroom including a bath and separate shower. We had our own balcony to look down on the lake.

Guests have access to all areas of the guest wing – a lounge, kitchen, outdoor deck areas, free laundry room. You can help yourself to beer, juices, wine etc; – very generous indeed

Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This lodge provided an amazing place to stay in Queenstown and the views from our room were spectacular. The hosts were perfect- they were accommodating and attentive while giving you space and just lovely people. They made the stay extra special. The rooms were lovely though you do probably need a car if staying here. Highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunnyrabbit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

the place is nice with wonderful views. however it is a taxi ride into Queenstown or no wine with your meal, it has limited parking, and the "gourmet" breakfast was not even a good breakfast. Lace and Cindi are pleasant people and quite friendly but the free bar does not go anywhere near the exorbitant room charge. For this price I would expect a proper plug in the sink, tissues in the room, at least 2 hand towels, etc but can do without 2 hairdryers. We felt that all it had going for it was the view, which was tremendous, but otherwise vastly overpriced compared to the other stays we had in our travels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alecver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Evergreen Lodge while travelling round NZ with friends.
The Lodge sits a bit out of Queenstown overlooking the lake. Suited us as we did not want to be in a touristy town. We had a very large room with sitting area and comfortable bed from which we could admire the views plus an outside terrace. The bathroom was large although perhaps a bit dated.
As everyone has said the included items were excellent and very welcome, we used the wifi, laundry, beers and wine but not the sauna and exercise room.
Cindy and Luce are American which was a bit of a surprise but made them slightly different from our other hosts in NZ. They were welcoming and helpful. Cindy is an excellent cook, we too really enjoyed her muffins, cookies and especially her fruit scones. As with all our NZ accommodations I would have liked more fresh fruit for breakfast, those who had the cooked were very happy.
We certainly would recommend this lodge to anyone looking for accommodation in Queenstown.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HasHout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Cindy and Lace made us feel at home. She keeps all sorts of fresh muffins, snacks, and tea in her kitchen which is open to guests. The fridge is stocked with beer, juices, and wine for guests. Lace heard me praising Monteith's Black Ale, and six pack was in the fridge that evening.

Lake Wakatipu couldn't have a more stunning showcase than their panoramic living room.

These hosts are well-connected with the local restaurant owners and got us into two nice places on short notice.

But, most importantly, they greeted us and wanted to hear about our day and made us feel at home.

Yes, the facilities are great, there's lots of great places in Queenstown, but Evergreen Lodge us home. We'll be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CrusherRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a wonderful find.Lace and Cindi are really very good hosts, they make you feel incredibly welcome, without being over-the-top. Lovely room with superb views over the lake and mountains. They have a small gym and sauna, as well as free to use laundry - very useful when you are doing a lot of travelling. Breakfast was excellent, free wifi - really could not fault this place at all. Lace's recommendations for dinner were very good, and they were happy to organise any taxis or trips. On top of all this, they are both really good company. Finally, having left my washing in the washer during the day, I returned back to find it all dried and folded in my room. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Seems all the rooms have fabulous views. I think some have patios, we didn't but easy access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprogg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
5.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Azur
Azur
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
300 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Lodge

Property: Hidden Lodge
Address: 28 Evergreen Place | Sunshine Bay, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Evergreen Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hidden Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queenstown's Hidden Lodge is a haven for guests looking to relax and enjoy the serenity on offer at this secluded location. On arrival guests are mesmerised by commanding views of The Remarkables and Cecil Peak mountains, Hidden Island and Lake Wakatipu. There are four spacious guest suites featuring super-king size beds. Each suite has its own bathroom. All guests can enjoy the wood-fired hot pool, gymnasium and sauna. The lounge area offers panoramic views while the sun-drenched outdoor courtyard is ideal for relaxation. The on-site Lodge Manager provides customised, fully-cooked breakfasts for guests. Guests enjoy canapes and drinks on arrival. The breakfast, canapes and drinks are complimentary, as are tea, coffee and soft drinks throughout the day. At this boutique, high quality accommodation Wi-Fi is free and there is ample off- street parking. Assistance is available for transfer information, restaurant suggestions, activity options and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hidden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing