We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matakauri Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$126
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Coronet View Accommodation(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$167
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$424
US$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scenic Suites Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$405
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$180
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
247
14
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
14
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskauri cliffscape kidnapperssister propertiesdeluxe suitelake wakatipunew zealandthe private dining roomcourse degustationblanket baygreat food and winespa treatmentsbreakfast and dinnerhelicopter tripbreathtaking viewsour honeymoonhuge bathroomshort drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Absolutely loved this place. We stayed for 3 nights in November. The rooms, the view, the food, the service - its all terrific. We agree with the previous reviews that Matakauri exceeded our expectations. The multi national staff are very professional and friendly. Callum, the manager, was a delight. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foolonthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Dear foolonthehill
Thank you very much for posting your feedback following your recent stay at Matakauri Lodge. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and thank you for your kind words about our team and Duty Manager, Callum.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Matakauri Lodge in the future.
Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed at Matakauri Lodge for 5 nights for our honeymoon and every minute of it was amazing!

The team there couldn't do enough for us even before we arrived. We received welcome emails days before, Shaun, the manager, had organised transport for us on arrival at the airport and Callum, the assistant manager met us on arrival at Matakauri. Our suite was immaculately set up by interior designer Virginia Fisher who did the interiors for the whole property - all beautifully decorated with warm, light tones...every room was so spacious and luxurious with small touches like freshly baked cookies every day and a water carafe by the bed after every turn down ( twice a day). The linen and blankets were just gorgeous - all of these textures and colours were actually why I chose to stay at Matakauri in the first place as I was trying the find a lodge that wasn't dark and stuffy - I was not disappointed, it was heaven.

The staff were incredible, Shaun, Callum, Steve, Stephan, Isaac, Claudia, and Laura we got to know very well and they were all fabulous at what they do. They are all very professional, but, with personalities, we felt very welcome!

Steve, is a genius with his knowledge of wine from the Otago region was incredibly helpful and chose wine every evening for
us wisely. We used his advice and visited the wineries that he recommended and are now heading home with our suitcases a lot heavier with our purchases from the local wineries.

We have just spent the last 5 nights getting massages, going in the sauna and jacuzzi, relaxing by the fireplaces and having romantic dinners all over the lodge ( they will set up your dinner for you wherever you wish, we ate in the library, the main restaurant and they set up in our room for us one evening as well).

The staff go above and beyond here at Matakauri, there was a wedding on the last evening we were at the property and the staff had informed us of that weeks beforehand and gave us the option if we wished to eat at one of Queenstowns finest restaurants with transfers, wine etc. They didn't need to do this, we took them up on the offer and dined at Botswana Butchery as they organised this and we enjoyed our beautiful dinner in a private room booked by Laura and organised by Shaun. Theis is an example of the service they offer you here.

We will of course be back again one day, and we can't say enough about Matakauri Lodge, thank you for our amazing experience.

Mr and Mrs Overeem.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Britt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Britt O (Mr and Mrs Overeem)

Thank you for posting your wonderful feedback. We are thrilled you chose to spend your honeymoon with us at Matakauri and our team are just delighted with your feedback. Your comments are very much appreciated and highlight many of the features that make Matakauri so special.

Congratulations again, thank you for choosing to spend such a special time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Amazing hôtel at 10 minutes from Queenstown. The service by Shaun and his team was amazing. The food is excellent and the view fantastic.
All rooms are fading the lake. The big problem is the price that does not reflect the reality, certainly when you see all the offers in Queenstown at 1/10 of the price. Try to rent apartment such as lake side.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnaudvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kauricliffscollect, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear Arnaudvdm
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor and also for your wonderful email you sent me. We very much appreciate your comments and the entire team immensely enjoyed having you and your family stay with us.
Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Our expectations were high (considering the price) and the Matakauri experience exceeded all of them. The beautiful alpine and lake scenery is a given for most of Queenstown. The Lodge is simply superb. Our 1 bedroom suite within the main lodge was spacious even with 2 young children. The living area had luxuriously comfortable sofa-daybeds, panoramic views of the lake and snowcapped peaks, and also a TV large enough to distract you from mother nature. The beds were fantastic, bed-linen fresh and luxurious to touch. Our 1 year old got a real wooden cot and seemingly brand new designer wooden toys to play with. Being in the main lodge was more convenient at mealtimes, we avoided the outdoor Antartic dash with young children in tow, and it also felt like we were guests at a large mansion.

By far the most impressive aspect of our stay was the people and the service. From the moment we arrived and till we were farewelled, the Matakauri family were attentive, warm and friendly. They gave us plenty of privacy yet were seemingly always there when we needed something. Our young family had our private dinners up in the library, which had enough space and entertainment to occupy our little boys, while their parents took on a 5 course degustation menu. A remarkable feat indeed.

Room Tip: would recommend suite inside the lodge for young families particularly if travelling in winter.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuckInEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kauricliffscollect, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear StuckInEire
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Matakauri Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all aspects of the Matakauri experience. It was especially great to hear your feedback regarding your dining experience and staying at Matakauri Lodge as a family. Your insider tip regarding the suite option that works well for families was spot on! Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Warm Regards,
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We can't find anything bad to say, the view was nice with wonderful service. We loved every minute and didn't want to leave, the massage there was also great my parents have it for two nights. I will go back if there is the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pricillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Pricillia.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at Matakauri Lodge. I am pleased to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your stay. We aim to exceed guest expectations and are delighted with this wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Matakauri in the future.
Warm Regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews