We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't. Change. Ever. Already perfect.”
Review of Matakauri Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matakauri Lodge
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I just retuned from 3 nights at the lodge. We've been lucky enough to stay in some amazing properties over the last few years. Matakauri lodge is pretty much top of the tree.

The view/location/ambiance are all amazing, as was the service every step of the way. We were thoroughly spoilt and heading back to the real world afterwards isn't easy!

Highlights for us, the WOW moment on arrival, all the food (even cookies and brownies in the room), private dinning in the library, curling up by the various log fires, fabulous service every single step of the way. Also, the bother that the whole team went to to make my wife have a wonderful birthday was much appreciated.

We had suite 8, which was perfect. One more blanket might have been ideal given the snowy weather but equally we knew we could ask for anything, just never got round to it. Possibly there could be a larger DVD collection and perhaps a pillow menu, but this is clutching at very small straws indeed!

If you are in any way considering staying here, I encourage you to go for it.

Room Tip: We only saw suite 8, but it was perfect. Amazing view. Close to the main lodge but far enough away t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeyo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear mikeyo76

Warm greetings from the magic of Queenstown.

We thank you for your time in posting a review about your recent stay with us and delighted that you had a very wonderful experience. It was indeed our pleasure to be your choice for your Queenstown adventure and the special celebration of your wife’s birthday. Certainly many wonderful memories for you to cherish lifelong.

In our continuous pursuit to delight our guests, we also appreciate your feedback on our DVD collection and your wonderful suggestion about a pillow menu, thank you.

Once again a pleasure to have had you and your wife stay as our guests and we look forward to seeing you on a return visit one day.

Warmest regards

Jay Roberson
Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I wanted a holiday where everything was done for me, in beautiful surroundings and a little out of Queenstown. Matakauri fit the bill in every way.
I can't think of anything negative to say, so will simply list many of the good points:
- emailed me before arrival to help with dietary preferences, activities, transport etc
- charming staff, so helpful and courteous, around the lodge and in dealing with activity bookings
- beautiful suite with fire and stupendous views
- isolation (from Queenstown)
- lovely walking track right in front of the property
- lovely canapés and drinks each evening. The staff were charming to our daughter, making new mocktails for her each day, and bringing her extra canapés when there were some she particularly liked
- amazing food, each night before dinner we said to ourselves 'now tonight we'll only have two courses', then of course had six and one night eight! On our last night there was the a la carte menu, but we were told to choose something else from the week if we felt like it, so I had the venison for the third time, it was so delicious. We loved dining in the library twice, just the 3 of us. Between courses, my husband and daughter sat in the armchairs in front of the fire and played chess, while I relaxed and read books.
- gym and spa both good
We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear vicnot

Warm greetings from a winter wonderland in Queenstown.

Thank you so very much for posting a review of your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate the time taken to put this together, and we have duly shared this with all our teams.

We were delighted that you chose Matakauri Lodge for your family’s Queenstown adventure and indeed we thoroughly enjoyed having you stay and experience the magical surroundings and the service delivered by our team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to Matakauri Lodge very soon.

Warmest regards,

Jay Robertson

Owner/Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Without doubt our trip to Matakauri Lodge has been one of our most memorable. The location, lodge, food, wine and facilities are all extraordinary but it's the Matakauri Team that makes the place so special. Nothing too much trouble and each and every person is genuinely interested in making sure your stay is as memorable as it could be. We have loved every minute and will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Pip A,

Warm greetings from Matakauri Lodge!

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted that your stay with us was special and memorable. Thank you for the kind words about our team, who truly approach the guest experience with sincerity and genuine care. Given more flight options than ever before between Sydney and Queenstown, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warmest regards,

Jay Robertson
Owner / Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I cannot fault Matakauri Lodge! 2nd time visit and as soon as we got to our suite we were already planning our return. The staff is very professional but friendly. The views are breathtaking and the facilities are world class. The bathrooms alone are to die for with nothing spared for the extra indulgence. The nice touch of complimentary minibar made me feel it's not all about making that extra dollar. The food is world class and all I can say with all the luxury lodges in NZ this place must be something else for Prince William and Kate to choose this lodge to stay in!

Room Tip: Try to get a villa suite rather than a lodge room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Gracie2010

Warm greetings from Queenstown!

We were delighted to welcome you back to Matakauri Lodge and thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay.

It was our pleasure to take care of you and indeed, we are spoilt with the most magnificent views enjoyed from a very special setting.

We look forward to seeing you soon again.

Jay Robertson
Managing Director / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This would have to be one of the most amazing holiday experiences. Firstly, to confirm Andrew G's comment, the Duke and Duchess did in fact stay here, and they would have been impressed. The service, accommodation and dining are world class and would exceed the 5 star rating.
Located away from the bustle of Queenstown, the views are to die for over Lake Wakatipu and Cecil Peak and each lodge offers better luxury than you'd expect. Have a spa and indulge yourself prior to dinner, it's amazing, then enjoy a cuisine that would rival anywhere in the world.
There is so much to do in Queenstown and its surrounds, or just relax in the lap of luxury at Matakauri. If you real want to indulge, visit Amisfield Winery one day for a lunch, then play golf at The Hills, one of the world's best courses, littered with impressive sculptures on practically every hole. this place is a MUST!

Room Tip: Have the Chef's tasting for dinner, it's like no other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear BandD_12

We thank you for your time in posting a review of your stay and a pleasure to have been your accommodation choice for your Queenstown getaway.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the lodge, surroundings and our service. The views are indeed magnificent, and we are pleased you were able to also enjoy some of the the many experiences on offer in the destination. We look forward to welcoming you back for more indulgence in the very near future.

Warmest regards,

Jay Robertson
Managing Director / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Well, this was the first of the three Julian Robertson owned properties we visited, and don't ask me to choose a "favorite" one...perhaps because this was the first we were so bowled over with what we saw, but the property combined with the view is to die for.
This is not just any luxury property-there is attention to detail down to the homemade cookies, the design with top of the line finishes, the management (Shawn, et al) is above 5 star for service.
Just the decor is perfect in every sense of the word. The tub looks out to the fjord like mountains on the lake, you don't feel the need to lock your door, your treated like you're a guest in their home.
We participated in the 2014 "Tiger Tour" and we were treated like royalty...speaking of which (they would neither confirm nor deny that the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge might be staying there when we departed...I'd say they would feel right at home)
We were wined and dined and the table settings, floral arrangements, service, and food was divine.
Anyone who comes to NZ and wants to experience the best should plan a visit.
The golf at Jacks Point is quite amazing, as well as other activities available nearby.
I can't finish without mentioning our amazing "Extreme Golf" experience with "Choppy" as our heli pilot.
This was a trip arranged by the property and we were shown the beautiful Milford Sound, which was enough in itself, but when she landed high (4500 ft elev) on a mountain and handed us drivers and irons and told us to walk down the mountain to the Tee box, who could imagine what a thrill it was...even more amazing when we re-boarded the helicopter and Choppy played Elton John's "Rocket Man"...I'm not sure if I was the only one with tears in my eyes.
Thank you Shawn and our wonderful host Sam St George of Eighth Wonder Tours-
Oh and Mr. Robertson and his late wife Josie-Stupendous-and I'm sitting on the deck of an over water villa in 5 star Bora Bora hotel that pales in comparison to the 3 Robertson owned properties.
Any golfer or adventurer who like the best of the best should put this property on their "bucket list"!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Andrew G,

Warm greetings from Matakauri Lodge!

We were delighted to read your recent review and so appreciative of the time taken to give us a personal account of your recent visit and our sincere pleasure to have hosted you. I have personally shared this with all my team and commended Shaun and his team for continuing to go above and beyond for our guests, which truly is our passion. The Tiger Tour is indeed a very special way to enjoy all our three lodges in their respective locations. It is for this reason too in Queenstown that Matakauri Lodge delivers the best of both worlds, close to the hustle & bustle of Queenstown, yet the feeling of remoteness with magnificent surroundings as you so wonderfully described.

Delighted you enjoyed our collection of activities and the personalities behind these operations, which is something that is truly important to us when we partner with experiential businesses.

Thank you for your kind words regarding my parents vision.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest regards,

Jay Robertson
Managing Director / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This delightful lodge on the shore of the lake is Just outside Queenstown. The public rooms and bedrooms are comfortable rather than imposing....it's not a large hotel. That said it is made special by a small international staff who are friendly without being familiar and who seem committed to ensuring you enjoy your stay. Excellent food and service delivered in a welcoming manner.....we couldn't ask for more.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertson J, Owner at Matakauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Ken G,

Warm greetings from Matakauri Lodge!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our location and surroundings, and the service of our team with whom we have shared your comments. Many reasons to return to this magnificent destination, and looking forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards,

Jay Robertson
Managing Director / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
7.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
4 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
917 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matakauri Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matakauri Lodge

Address: Glenorchy Road | PO Box 888, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £763 - £1,807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Matakauri Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Matakauri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matakauri Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing