We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot in Central Queenstown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Spot in Central Queenstown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just spent week in Queenstown with wife and 2 teenage daughters, Hotel was central to everything, room was good size for all of us in 2x double room, best feature was hotel staff who were extremely helpful and friendly , there was slight error with our booking and this was quickly corrected, couldn't have been happier with the experience, would have rated it excellent if there had have been a spa for the end of long day on the slopes

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Queenstown and leaving your feedback for the trip advisor community. We are thrilled that our twin guest room provided plenty of space for a comfortable stay for you and your wife as well as your 2 daughters. I am even more pleased that our staff have exceeded your expectations and also managed to clear up the booking issue with ease.

I will share your feedback with the team and I am sure they will appreciate your kind words.
Your feedback regarding the spa is duly noted and we do discuss all feedback internally as we look for new ways to make our hotel a better experience for our guests.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    556
    114
    32
    17
See reviews for
269
738
76
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed at both this hotel and the Rees on our most recent stay in Queenstown.

This hotel whilst a little bit aged is well maintained, very clean and comfortable. Although the hotel was occupied with a team of rugby players at the time of our stay, the room was still quiet and we got a good nights sleep.

We were impressed with the value for money we received with a lake view room for a substantially lower cost than at the Rees.

The hotel is in a great spot for visiting the attractions and restaurants in Queenstown making it possible to leave the car here and walk to everything in the central Queenstown area. As parking is quite hard to come by in Queenstown this is significant benefit to staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atsmith8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for leaving your feedback on trip advisor. We are pleased that you found the hotel to be great value for money and that you enjoyed our fantastic location, which is ideal for visiting Queenstown’s attractions, restaurant and entertainment. It’s also great to read that you found the hotel to be well maintained, clean and comfortable and we are lucky to have such a hard working team that go out of their way to keep the hotel to high standards.

Thanks again for your great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Queenstown.

Best regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

This hotel is right in Town. It was great value for money, and we got a good nights sleep. This is the Hotel we will come to next time in Queenstown. We took a bus to Franklin then walked back along the lake (10? km) worth doing.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Researcher24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of an Air NZ Holiday agent. We were not disappointed.

Our first pleasant surprise was when the taxi driver pulled in to the hotel and we knew the location was perfect for us. Right in town and only a short, and I mean short, walk to everything the town centre has to offer.

The lobby staff were friendly and very helpful. Top marks to them. Due to our flight arriving early morning (9.45am) we knew we couldn't book in, but the staff got our lakeside room ready by mid-day which was lovely. Thanks team. The call to say our room was ready was much appreciated.

The room itself was spacious enough, the king-size bed was loaded with pillows and made up with quality linen, and the view from the wee balcony was simply mind-blowing.

The breakfast buffet choices were all we need to load up for the day, though the holiday weight will take a few gym visits to shift. Like the lobby staff , the service staff were friendly and helpful.

No problems at all with room service. The meals were tasty, and good value. Better than the chewy steak at The Pub the night before (avoid The Pub's $20.00 Flintstone steak - it's gristly and not very nice at all).

On our last day the 'leisure concierge' did his job admirably and got us a car rental deal that suited us perfectly, while the front-desk staff were again ever so helpful in looking after our bags.

We had a fantastic 3 days in Queenstown, and this was helped by having no niggles at all with the hotel and it's team. A big thanks to you all.

My only feedback would be that if (and it could have been our room only) you have a large screen TV on the wall, please make sure the aspect ratio is set correctly as it's a bit disconcerting watching people with squashed heads and large bodies, and that the on-demand movies should be high-def. But that's more feedback than a grumble. I've had a lot worse AV provided in 5-star Singaporean hotels.

So big pats on the back to the CP-Q. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you choose a lakeside view (and the views are simply stunning) choose a floor above 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The Crowne Plaza has wonderful views of the lake and is easy walking distance to everything in Queenstown. The food in the restaurant was great. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom has a bath and a shower. My husband was here to speak at a conference and we decided to bring the children as well. The only negative thing I would say, is if you are travelling with children, there is no crockery or cutlery besides glasses, mugs and spoons, and to have a knife, fork, cereal bowl and side plate would be even better.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for leaving your feedback for the trip advisor community. We are pleased that you had such a great stay with us and enjoyed the spectacular views and great location. I will share your feedback with the restaurant team who will be thrilled with your feedback. Your feedback regarding the crockery and cutlery is duly noted and we will discuss this further in-house.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Queenstown on your next trip.

Best regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and it was mostly good, the rooms are getting a little old though. The restaurant is nice and the buffet breakfast had a great variety but often the bacon and scrambled eggs were stone cold. Great location too but for the price you could probably get something a little nicer. We had an issue with the staff not getting our dry cleaning done, even after we stressed the importance of it for a function. That was really disappointing. Overall it was fine but as I said, you could probably get something a bit nicer but maybe a bit further out of town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meeg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for leaving your feedback on trip advisor. We are pleased that overall you had a good stay at Crowne Plaza Queenstown and that you enjoyed our central location.

Please accept our apologies for the issues with the dry cleaning and our buffet breakfast should always be fresh and warm for our guests and this is definitely not up to our usual standard. Your comments are duly noted and we will look into your concerns further.

Thanks again for staying with us and sharing your feedback and I would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Queenstown.

Best regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night only but was very impressed. Service by Bell Boy, Reception Staff and Restsurant staff was amazing, some of the best service I've received in years. The food in the restaurant was great (have the beef!!). Only one small niggle; the loo seat in my room didn't seem to attached properly or something, and made crazy creaky noises every time.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ReenieSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thank you for leaving your feedback for the trip advisor community. We are pleased that our staff provided exceptional service and exceeded your expectations. I will share your comments with the team who will really appreciate your kind words.

We would like to have the opportunity to fix the issue with the toilet seat so could you please email me on reinier.eulink@ihg.com and let me know what room you stayed in – that would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks again for the great feedback and we would love to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Queenstown.

Best regards,

Reinier Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing