We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't get much more central than this.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You can't get much more central than this.”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Crowne Plaza Queenstown is situated opposite the Steamer Wharf, home of the famous TSS Earnslaw, so you're within easy walking distance to basically everything within the town centre. As an IHG Rewards Club platinum member, I was upgraded from a courtyard view room to a lake view, but if you're a first time visitor & don't expect an upgrade, I strongly recommend booking the lake view room, and ask for the highest floor possible - you won't regret it!

My room key was ready for me on arrival, along with a written welcome as a repeat guest. The staff are uniformly friendly and helpful, especially those at the front desk and the house bar.

There was only one minor problem during my stay - at breakfast, my room account showed that I had already checked out, and housekeeping thought so too. Obviously, I hadn't! This may have been because I settled my account the night before, but certainly didn't ask to be checked out. Not to worry, these things happen.

I'm sure I'll be back in due course!

Room Tip: Lake view, of course :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear ddnz,

First of all thank you for being an IHG rewards platinum member and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
I am pleased we were able to upgrade you to a lake view room.

Sorry to hear about the little mix up we will look into this and ensure it doesn't happen again.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    568
    117
    34
    18
See reviews for
279
754
78
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

For sure the best location to stay in Queenstown. The rooms are comfortable and nice.
Excellent breakfast (but not free).
They have a very attentive concierge that can book you everything to do in Queenstown without any hotel fee apply. Just watch out for de 1.5% surcharge for credit card payments (in a few shops they don't have this).
But Bad news for me was:
No free Internet.
No free parking.
No free breakfast.
Watch out of the "rooms with a view" some of them its only partial view. So you can't almost not see the lake.

Room Tip: Watch out of the "rooms with a view" some of them its only partial view. So you can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielMellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our New Zealand trip.

The hotel is centrally located and has a very nice reception area. Check in was pain free and staff extremely helpful. We were shown to our room which was a beautiful lake facing room with a balcony. We dined in the 360 restaurant and that was ok, maybe a little pricey.

The beds were comfortable, and nothing was too much for the staff. The only negative thing i would say is we had an issue with our hot water on the first night but it was immediately fixed and no other issues.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Its a modern hotel but you can go wrong with a room that has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I realize that most hotels are central in Queenstown and there are a lot to choose from. We literally drove into this one hoping to not pay through the nose. I'm not sure how we managed it but we got a lake view room with king sized bed for $150 per night but could only get a garden view room with two double beds for $230 on the third night?! Go figure (my husband organized the third night).
The lake view was spectacular and a two second walk across the road brought us right on to the board walk amongst quali cages and restaurants. This is where Queenstwon excels I think. The shops are too touristy but the food is great. Buskers make for a great atmosphere too.
Back to the hotel... The rooms were nicely appointed and clean, with all the amenities you need. Room service wasn't too overpriced and as usual you can pay for Internet, access the laundry and eat in the restaurant (although we didn't). We did need to pay an outrageous $15 per day for parking although it was valet. The garden view rooms are a bit of a hike and there really should be a lift to them.
If you can get a good deal the lake view room is worth it for the view and the convenience of the location was ideal. However with some research you may be able to get very similar for a more personnel touch? It depends what you're into.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMull2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Location is ideal literally next door to the shops, restaurants, bars. There is a fridge & kettle in the room but no crockery (in case you're on a budget like us). However, there are lots of places you can get food, bring back and eat on your balcony.
Only a few Cons:
- only 45min of wifi free per day per device. Otherwise $10 per day. (You should not have to pay in this day and age!)
- you have to pay to park $15 per day for valet
- the TV sound is restricted so can be hard to hear sometimes. Good though if you're the one sleeping!

Other pros:
Good shower, comfy bed, modern decor if a little worn round the edges (not bad enough to put you off)

Other tips of what to do in Queenstown:
- take a drive to Arrowtown. So cute and some lovely places to hang out/eat
- you must try a Ferg burger and a Ferg pie (steak & stout) - so tasty and worth the queues!
- go white water rafting on the Shotover River with Queenstown rafting. It's not too scary but just enough to get the adrenalin going. It's worth the money!
- play Frisbie golf in Queenstown Park. You can rent a Frisbie for $4 from shops in town and then it's free to play- just take a pen and paper to keep score!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aled_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Aled_Vic,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.
It is great to hear you enjoyed our location and bedroom.
We do offer complimentary internet to all our IHG Rewards members, joining is free at any time online or at reception, for many guests the 45 mins option works very well.

I am pleased to read that you made the most of your stay in Queenstown, there are so many great and fun things to do, our concierge is always available for any recommendations.

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel is located in a perfect location. Restaurants, attractions and the river front are all located around the hotel. The hotel concierge has good people who helped me plan with the attractions on my leisure day. Room service was good and the morning breakfast was excellent. I would go back to this hotel if I visit Queenstown in future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights in December 2013. The hotel is very centrally located. Our room was large, light and airy, and looked to have been renovated fairly recently (except the bathroom - I personally dislike showers over bathtubs and would prefer a walk-in power shower). Our room had a balcony. Staff were courteous and helpful. We did not use the restaurant. Like most chain hotels, it does not exude personality, but it is clean and modern (except the bathtub) and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotthumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,117 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing