We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, good facilities, good rooms ... but the bar closed at 11 p.m.!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good staff, good facilities, good rooms ... but the bar closed at 11 p.m.!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Lots of good things to say about this hotel. We stayed 5 nights in all with a group of friends. Everything you would expect of a hotel of this standard. Overall, however, the quality of staff was greater than that of the hotel itself. Concierge, reception, car parking, room service - all friendly, helpful and eager to please. Facilities were good, but not 'wow' and given the location this was a little disappointing e.g. our room had no view, the breakfast was haphazard and, unbelievably, we all returned at 11 p.m. to find the bar closing and no way of getting a drink. So 14 people had to make their own amusement with duty free! This was somewhat unbelievable - a hotel where residents couldn't obtain a drink at 11 p.m. Come of Crowne Plaza - what's happening here?? Breakfast in one of the many bars nearby overlooking the lake turned out to be a far better option.

Overall, the quality of staff saved the day and all core facilities good. But one or two minor gripes which could/should be rectified.

Room Tip: Request a lake view room well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPB-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    575
    118
    34
    18
See reviews for
280
760
80
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel centrally located right across the road from the lake. Friendly, welcoming and obliging staff. When we booked we asked for a room on one of the higher floors. The hotel duly obliged. We had a lakeview room on the 4th floor with a large balcony. The room was very comfortable, spacious and had a well equipped bathroom. The breakfast menu was quite extensive. Guest laundry room was very handy especially if like us, you have been travelling around the country.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ThomondFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Bog standard hotel. Good location across from the lake. Our "upgraded" room supposedly had lake/mountain views but you had to stand outside in a corner of the balcony on tiptoes to see anything but vegetation. Skip the breakfast buffet - it's not worth the money. The turndown service was nice - bed was made, towels replaced, water bottles provided. Concierge people were helpful. A good solid choice but nothing special or luxurious.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CPGetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear KiwiRoadrunner,

Thank you for your for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast, we believe we offer a wide variety of choice which suits most of our guests, it is disappointing to read you did not find this the case.
I would be interested in your feedback with regards to our breakfast and if you would be so kind please email me direct at reinier.eulink@ihg.com this will help us improve our offering.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our turndown service.


Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my family for 3 night, the service is great and staff is very friendly and happy to assist you all the time. The room is basic but clean, I can't fault the hotel, close to all the main Restaurants an attractions at Queenstown. Happy to return to hotel

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The hotel was exactly as described, the room, the location everything. It's a gorgeous building across the street from some great waterfront restaurants and of course the water itself. The staff were friendly and stored my luggage for me as I arrived quite early, and then were able to get me into my room earlier than expected. My room was great, very clean.
In the beginning when I first booked the hotel they communicated really well, and were able to recommend Super Shuttle for getting from the airport to the hotel.
The only criticism I have was the price, but you get what you pay for, and it's worth it. I only stayed for one night on my first night in New Zealand so it was perfect for that.
The added bonus I took advantage of is their gym. It opens at 6am, and has treadmills, exercise bikes, a rowing machine and free weights although the room is quite small. I was there in the morning and nobody was there, so definitely take advantage of that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Brandy S,

Thank you for your review.

Great to read we deliver on our promises and that you had an enjoyable stay.
Also wonderful to hear your kind comments about our staff, and that you were able to enjoy our Gym.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel is beautifully located right at the end of all the shops and restaurants. The hotel is modern and the staff is very good. The rooms are large and for the most part clean. The bath towels are huge and fluffy, loved the towels. The toilet roll holder was broken in my room but still functional with two hands, there are few electrical outlets around the room which is a problem if you need to keep your cell phone by the bed while charging. The air-conditioning system is like a lot of Marriotts, it's a central cooling system so no matter what temperature you choose, the room temperature will be what the hotel wants. The beds are firmish, pillows are the type that seem to compress to nothing. The breakfast was very good with an omelet maker, cereals, anything you would want. The common areas, third floor hall, had carpet that looked like it was stained in many places.

Room Tip: If you think you will be in the room a lot, pay extra to get a 3rd floor or higher balcony room at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bthaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed here for a week in late January 2014 in a lakeview king room on level 4 after reading the many positive reviews on Trip Advisor. I was delighted with my choice. My room and bathroom were very clean and spacious and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The linen and towels were excellent quality. The views across the lake to the Remarkable Mountains and the botanic gardens were just spectacular. The hotel staff were consistently polite, efficient and helpful. The concierge at the tour booking desk is very helpful but if you book at one of the many booking offices in town you won't incurr the 1.5% credit card fee for the same tours..
The buffet breakfast is very good with a wide variety of food choices although the "hot" food in the baine marie can be a bit luke warm.
Wi-fi internet is free if you take up IHG membership (also free to join).
I loved the convenient location of the hotel. It is on a quiet edge of town just across from the Queenstown wharf precinct with many good restaurants, cafes and a small casino. The TSS Earnslaw coal ship and the Real Journeys tour office are also located at the wharf making it easy to meet up for day tours It only takes 5 minutes to walk into the centre of town for other eateries, shops and boat tours.
You can get from the airport to the hotel by taxi or coach transport but it is also cheap ($NZ8) and easy to travel on the local bus service to the hotel, You can buy a ticket inside the airport terminal near the exit door or on the bus itself. It is only a 30 metre walk to the bus stop from the terminal. The bus travels via Frankton and O'Connells Mall (central Queenstown) then drops off at various hotels along the lake esplanade. For the Crowne Plaza you get off just across the road outside the Real Journeys office. When travelling back to the airport you can catch a bus from the stop at the front door. Read the bus times at on the sign. Too easy and only takes about 15-20 minutes.

Room Tip: Get a front room on Level 4 or 5 for amazing views of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear lmmtk,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

Great to read you enjoyed your stay with us and indeed your visit to Queenstown.
I will be sharing your wonderful review with the team.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing