We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with awesome views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 March 2014

What a great introduction to New Zealand. We spent our first two nights at the Crowne Plaza and it was simply wonderful. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and very well appointed with an extremely comfortable bed, and the bathroom was well lit with a great selection of toiletries. The views from the balcony were awesome in every direction. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The self-service breakfast was excellent. We couldn't fault a thing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belvedere007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Lots of good things to say about this hotel. We stayed 5 nights in all with a group of friends. Everything you would expect of a hotel of this standard. Overall, however, the quality of staff was greater than that of the hotel itself. Concierge, reception, car parking, room service - all friendly, helpful and eager to please. Facilities were good, but not 'wow' and given the location this was a little disappointing e.g. our room had no view, the breakfast was haphazard and, unbelievably, we all returned at 11 p.m. to find the bar closing and no way of getting a drink. So 14 people had to make their own amusement with duty free! This was somewhat unbelievable - a hotel where residents couldn't obtain a drink at 11 p.m. Come of Crowne Plaza - what's happening here?? Breakfast in one of the many bars nearby overlooking the lake turned out to be a far better option.

Overall, the quality of staff saved the day and all core facilities good. But one or two minor gripes which could/should be rectified.

Room Tip: Request a lake view room well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPB-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great hotel centrally located right across the road from the lake. Friendly, welcoming and obliging staff. When we booked we asked for a room on one of the higher floors. The hotel duly obliged. We had a lakeview room on the 4th floor with a large balcony. The room was very comfortable, spacious and had a well equipped bathroom. The breakfast menu was quite extensive. Guest laundry room was very handy especially if like us, you have been travelling around the country.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ThomondFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Bog standard hotel. Good location across from the lake. Our "upgraded" room supposedly had lake/mountain views but you had to stand outside in a corner of the balcony on tiptoes to see anything but vegetation. Skip the breakfast buffet - it's not worth the money. The turndown service was nice - bed was made, towels replaced, water bottles provided. Concierge people were helpful. A good solid choice but nothing special or luxurious.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CPGetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear KiwiRoadrunner,

Thank you for your for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast, we believe we offer a wide variety of choice which suits most of our guests, it is disappointing to read you did not find this the case.
I would be interested in your feedback with regards to our breakfast and if you would be so kind please email me direct at reinier.eulink@ihg.com this will help us improve our offering.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our turndown service.


Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed with my family for 3 night, the service is great and staff is very friendly and happy to assist you all the time. The room is basic but clean, I can't fault the hotel, close to all the main Restaurants an attractions at Queenstown. Happy to return to hotel

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The hotel was exactly as described, the room, the location everything. It's a gorgeous building across the street from some great waterfront restaurants and of course the water itself. The staff were friendly and stored my luggage for me as I arrived quite early, and then were able to get me into my room earlier than expected. My room was great, very clean.
In the beginning when I first booked the hotel they communicated really well, and were able to recommend Super Shuttle for getting from the airport to the hotel.
The only criticism I have was the price, but you get what you pay for, and it's worth it. I only stayed for one night on my first night in New Zealand so it was perfect for that.
The added bonus I took advantage of is their gym. It opens at 6am, and has treadmills, exercise bikes, a rowing machine and free weights although the room is quite small. I was there in the morning and nobody was there, so definitely take advantage of that.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Brandy S,

Thank you for your review.

Great to read we deliver on our promises and that you had an enjoyable stay.
Also wonderful to hear your kind comments about our staff, and that you were able to enjoy our Gym.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel is beautifully located right at the end of all the shops and restaurants. The hotel is modern and the staff is very good. The rooms are large and for the most part clean. The bath towels are huge and fluffy, loved the towels. The toilet roll holder was broken in my room but still functional with two hands, there are few electrical outlets around the room which is a problem if you need to keep your cell phone by the bed while charging. The air-conditioning system is like a lot of Marriotts, it's a central cooling system so no matter what temperature you choose, the room temperature will be what the hotel wants. The beds are firmish, pillows are the type that seem to compress to nothing. The breakfast was very good with an omelet maker, cereals, anything you would want. The common areas, third floor hall, had carpet that looked like it was stained in many places.

Room Tip: If you think you will be in the room a lot, pay extra to get a 3rd floor or higher balcony room at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bthaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,232 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £130 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing