We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff, but needs a facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff, but needs a facelift”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

You can't beat the location; walking distance to the town center, various dining locations, and tour pickups. The staff is especially helpful and want to make sure you have the best time possible. Be aware the rooms are old and very worn. Our room had bird droppings all over the balcony and glass windows. The carpets are old and appear to have lots of wear from winter activities. If you get an offer that includes daily breakfast, it was wonderful! The hotel also offers great adventure/tour planning and coordination.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Liz T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, breakfast option and convenient location of the hotel. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your expectations in particular the quality of your room accommodation. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    563
    115
    33
    18
See reviews for
275
749
77
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very lovely hotel. The best thing about it is the location. You can walk to everything! We had a lovely room with a lake view. Fridge, kettle, safe, hair dryer - everything we needed as I certainly didn't want to cook with so many great places to eat so nearby. The hotel is right across from the lake and as well as a variety of restaurants, there is always something going on, people sunbathing, people singing, performing martial arts - we even had Scottish bagpipers! The staff at the Crown Plaza are extremely friendly and very helpful. I only had a couple of complaints. They charge $15 a day for parking but I can actually understand that as parking in Queenstown is at a premium but the amount seems excessive. What I don't understand is why they allow 45 minutes of free wi-fi which I originally thought was quite enough until I found out you have to use your 45 minutes all at once! Makes absolutely no sense. As we like to check in 2 or 3 times a day it was quite annoying. Additional wi-fi time would have been NZ$10! We accessed SKYPE Wifi for $.19/minute and saved a bundle. Only other problem is at night it's quite noisy - not inside the hotel - but outside. The town is filled with young adventure seekers and they were out partying and whooping it up until 4 am. Oh to be that young! Aside from those small complaints, the Crown Plaza is a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twigaduma2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear twigaduma,

Thank you for your for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am sorry that our 45 min free wifi offering was not sufficient for you, if you stay in our hotels on a regular basis it would be beneficial to join our loyalty program IHG Rewards, as a member you receive free internet across all our hotels during your stay.
We receive very few noise complaints and I am sorry you experienced this whilst staying with us.

It is great to hear that you found our staff helpful and friendly.


Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Held my special birthday function here with my family. Every member of the team, from booking through to check out, was exceptional. Such a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is located in the heart of Central Queenstown with easy access to everything. Great food. Highly recommended.
Thanks a million!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsfromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had booked for two nights but one night was enough. Other guests entering or leaving their rooms let the self closer shut the door which it did with a very loud bang. Sound proofing is non existent so sleep was hard to come by. When we stayed there in 2001 there was not this problem.

Would not recommend this hotel now.

Room Tip: All rooms had the door problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear PeterChristchurch,

Thank you for your for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

I am sorry to hear you did not have a good sleep during your stay. We get very little complaints about noise in the hotel and I am surprised to read your comments. I will be investigating this and ensure our door-closers are adjusted accordingly to ensure a smooth quiet closing of the doors.
Thank you for bringing this to my attention.


Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the Crown Plaza for two nights and had very nice service from both the front desk and the concierge. The rooms were well appointed and beds comfortable and you could walk about town and have a great view over looking the water. The town is a walking town with loads of adventure activities and they all can either pick you up at your hotel or you take their shuttle from town. The staff really are great here with recommendation and any request you have.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travels4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear travels4849,

Thank you for your for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and Queenstown itself.

Wonderful to hear you you found our staff helpful and friendly, I will be sharing your comments with the team.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

What a great introduction to New Zealand. We spent our first two nights at the Crowne Plaza and it was simply wonderful. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and very well appointed with an extremely comfortable bed, and the bathroom was well lit with a great selection of toiletries. The views from the balcony were awesome in every direction. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The self-service breakfast was excellent. We couldn't fault a thing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belvedere007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Lots of good things to say about this hotel. We stayed 5 nights in all with a group of friends. Everything you would expect of a hotel of this standard. Overall, however, the quality of staff was greater than that of the hotel itself. Concierge, reception, car parking, room service - all friendly, helpful and eager to please. Facilities were good, but not 'wow' and given the location this was a little disappointing e.g. our room had no view, the breakfast was haphazard and, unbelievably, we all returned at 11 p.m. to find the bar closing and no way of getting a drink. So 14 people had to make their own amusement with duty free! This was somewhat unbelievable - a hotel where residents couldn't obtain a drink at 11 p.m. Come of Crowne Plaza - what's happening here?? Breakfast in one of the many bars nearby overlooking the lake turned out to be a far better option.

Overall, the quality of staff saved the day and all core facilities good. But one or two minor gripes which could/should be rectified.

Room Tip: Request a lake view room well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPB-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing