We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great conference venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Tired of conferences in dark rooms with no natural light? 3rd floor conference rooms here overlook lake with windows and balcony. In middle of town so partners happy. Rooms comfortable and most have small balconies. Large hotel so room outlooks vary considerably; if view important ask (and pay) for lake view rooms on levels 3-5 at front. Annoying that wi fi is limited unless you join (free) loyalty program, no pool, and that parking may be charged for. As conference attendee here though, would happily return.

Room Tip: Levels 3 to 5 at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbournepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Melbournepk,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and that your conference was a success.


Kind regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great Hotel which is very convenient to main centre of Queenstown. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Meals served as part of a conference were also very good. Rooms are very quiet, clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the lake have lovely aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Adrian W,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and that your conference was a success.


Kind regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our second visit to this hotel was not quite as memorable as the first mainly due to some poor housekeeping. On our arrival the fridge was empty - no milk or booze [they tried to charge us for a full mini bar on our departure!!], the bathroom sink was obviously blocked and had been left - so we had our first day with a blocked sink, we left the empty box of tissues in a very obvious place and it was not replaced. Apart from these issues the hotel was as good as ever and the breakfast was very acceptable. The views from the hotel are unbeatable. Try to get a room with a balcony overlooking The Remarkables - amazing. So apart from my winge about housekeeping - very good.

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking the Remarkables
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is the best hotel to select in Queenstown (possibly along with the Novotel) if you want to be in the heart of town, and the centre of all the restaurants and cafes. It is an older property, but is maintained well. We experienced none of the unfortunate flaws that other reviewers seem to have noted - our room was excellent, as was the service of the hotel staff.
One of the attractions for us was the ability to eat out regularly (the port buildings are directly opposite, and filled with lakeside eateries, the excellent Vudu cafe is three minutes' walk and excellent for breakfast) - and this location cannot be beaten for that.
Equally, it is an easy walk from this property to the gondola, the lovely little beach and park, and pretty much every attraction in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside view room. The extra cost is marginal, and the view is frankly one of the central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashtalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here before and after doing the Milford Track in March 2014, and found the hotel to be up to the standard we expect from the Crowne Plaza name, as well as cheaper than the Sofitel. It is centrally located to all amenities and restaurants, the rooms are spacious and clean, the bed comfortable and the staff very friendly. They very kindly allowed us to store excess baggage whilst we were hiking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Been to Queenstown a few times , but first time we stayed at the Crowne
best location, walk to everything , views are the best , also if you go in winter try the Mulled Wine (red) . would stay there again .

Room Tip: view to lake worth the money, try get as high up as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

To get the most from this hotel you need a room overlooking the lake. More expensive but the lake is a key feature of Queenstown. The hotel is also close to all the restaurants and piers for lake excursions. This is a standard Crowne Plaza, but in a fabulous setting. Reception staff and concierge well friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake. The ones at the back of the hotel may have a slightly inferior view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,233 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £129 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing