We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Great location but rooms are very outdated for price. I was expecting a little it more luxury. Bar downstairs great, breakfast was nice. Staff helpful and friendly. Great spot to be in the heart of the action, perfect if you plan to be out of the hotel most of your stay. We booked this room to get a nice break from the Campervan. So a little disappointed, would have spent a little more to get the nicer bathrooms etc. bed was very comfy though.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bandeeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear bandeeka,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I am delighted to hear that you found our location great, staff helpful and friendly, breakfast nice and beds comfortable. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    561
    114
    33
    18
See reviews for
273
741
77
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel could not be in a better spot....the views are fantastic. It's such a great location, walking distance to the pubs/shops etc. The staff are friendly & helpful. The room size was excellent & the lovely king size bed very comfy. Loved the bath robe & slippers :) great selection of toiletries.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwisok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Kiwisok,

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nice comfortable room. What I expect from a Crowne as an Elite member. The fire alarm and subsequent evacuation was an added bonus. Except it was a bit chilly when it occurred--fortunately in the afternoon and not at night. Worth the price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank An0nym0us1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

You can't beat this location for beautiful views and easy access to the heart of Queenstown shopping, and the staff are just a lovely as the lake. The rooms themselves, however, are a bit oddly designed and just a touch outdated for the price. The bathrooms in particular have very slick floors (especially when wet), the tubs do not have an overflow drain, the loo paper holders are off kilter, etc. The room temperature was difficult to control. Bottles of wine fall out of the minibar upon opening it. The outlets are difficult to access. Nothing is a major bother, but there are enough small things that are "off" to add up to annoyance. Fine for a night, but a bit of a pain for longer stays at this expense.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Hexpat,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us. I appreciate the kind remarks on our hotel location and staff. We assure you that we are committed to delivering quality in all aspects of the guest experience and appreciate your feedback. We truly apologize for any inconvenience caused by the room design and amenities. Your comments will also be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Thank you for again foryour feedback as it informs us of ways in which we may better serve our guest satisfaction. We sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Crown Plaza Queenstown is the best hotel to stay, perfect location, all rooms are very well appointed overlooking beautiful lake. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Coffee shop offers very nice breakfast buffet.

Front Desk team is very helpful all the times, Housekeeping is very professional they make your room just as new after every service.

Hotel is ideally located in small Queenstown, near to the main market street, all the places are at walking distance and the best part is there location.

I will always recommend this hotel in Queenstown and we will surely come back. Thanks to the team!!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank shargo312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just stayed at the Crowne Plaza Queenstown for 4 nights recently. It was an absolute pleasure. The hotel is located in front of the lake, close to everything you need. The view from my room was the highlight. Sunrise from the balcony was just gorgeous. The restaurant was fantastic and I can recommend the steaks, and all the entrees, as I had the chance to try most of them. Having a drink at the bar before dinner was fantastic. Caipirinhas, mojitos, martinis, etc... I miss my stay in Queenstown already. I will come back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our second visit to Queenstown staying at the Crowne Plaza both times. A great hotel, always made most welcome by the staff. Fantastic views from our 5th floor room. Our room was extremely comfortable and clean. Was made up very quickly each day of our 7 day stay. Breakfast was a great way to start the day & dinner was also excellent. Will always stay here on our return visits. This hotel just gets things right. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room on 4th or 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear wallaga,

Great to hear we had the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel!!
And more importantly fantastic to hear we again met your expectations.

Thank you for your compliments on both dinner and breakfast I will be sharing your comments with the Food & Beverage team.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing