We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 April 2014

As everyone has stated, this Hotel is in a great location. We ate at 4 different restaurants and walked no further than 150 metres.
This Hotel offers great service and all requests were handled in a friendly manner. The room sizes were excellent and while not the most luxurious, they were very clean and still of a very high standard. The beds were one the nicest beds I've ever slept in (What brand are they, I want one?) and the pillows, fantastic. We enjoyed the bar downstairs and the modern style added to the ambience. We did eat at the restaurant and my meal was cooked really well. My favourite was the breads, served hot with herbed butter and dips. There is a convenience store, next door to the hotel for essentials, such as water, fruit and snacks.
Going to Queenstown in autumn is a must, the colour of the trees backed by the mountainous scenery is breathtaking. While there are cheaper hotels around, the location and service is hard to beat.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room on level 3, lake side. We were on level 2 and had a partial view of, 'L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Stylie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great location but rooms are very outdated for price. I was expecting a little it more luxury. Bar downstairs great, breakfast was nice. Staff helpful and friendly. Great spot to be in the heart of the action, perfect if you plan to be out of the hotel most of your stay. We booked this room to get a nice break from the Campervan. So a little disappointed, would have spent a little more to get the nicer bathrooms etc. bed was very comfy though.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank bandeeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear bandeeka,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I am delighted to hear that you found our location great, staff helpful and friendly, breakfast nice and beds comfortable. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel could not be in a better spot....the views are fantastic. It's such a great location, walking distance to the pubs/shops etc. The staff are friendly & helpful. The room size was excellent & the lovely king size bed very comfy. Loved the bath robe & slippers :) great selection of toiletries.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kiwisok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Kiwisok,

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nice comfortable room. What I expect from a Crowne as an Elite member. The fire alarm and subsequent evacuation was an added bonus. Except it was a bit chilly when it occurred--fortunately in the afternoon and not at night. Worth the price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank An0nym0us1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

You can't beat this location for beautiful views and easy access to the heart of Queenstown shopping, and the staff are just a lovely as the lake. The rooms themselves, however, are a bit oddly designed and just a touch outdated for the price. The bathrooms in particular have very slick floors (especially when wet), the tubs do not have an overflow drain, the loo paper holders are off kilter, etc. The room temperature was difficult to control. Bottles of wine fall out of the minibar upon opening it. The outlets are difficult to access. Nothing is a major bother, but there are enough small things that are "off" to add up to annoyance. Fine for a night, but a bit of a pain for longer stays at this expense.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Hexpat,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us. I appreciate the kind remarks on our hotel location and staff. We assure you that we are committed to delivering quality in all aspects of the guest experience and appreciate your feedback. We truly apologize for any inconvenience caused by the room design and amenities. Your comments will also be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Thank you for again foryour feedback as it informs us of ways in which we may better serve our guest satisfaction. We sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Crown Plaza Queenstown is the best hotel to stay, perfect location, all rooms are very well appointed overlooking beautiful lake. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Coffee shop offers very nice breakfast buffet.

Front Desk team is very helpful all the times, Housekeeping is very professional they make your room just as new after every service.

Hotel is ideally located in small Queenstown, near to the main market street, all the places are at walking distance and the best part is there location.

I will always recommend this hotel in Queenstown and we will surely come back. Thanks to the team!!!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank shargo312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just stayed at the Crowne Plaza Queenstown for 4 nights recently. It was an absolute pleasure. The hotel is located in front of the lake, close to everything you need. The view from my room was the highlight. Sunrise from the balcony was just gorgeous. The restaurant was fantastic and I can recommend the steaks, and all the entrees, as I had the chance to try most of them. Having a drink at the bar before dinner was fantastic. Caipirinhas, mojitos, martinis, etc... I miss my stay in Queenstown already. I will come back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £180 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing