We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Byron Bay Aust
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, Excellent staff”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My Son and I stayed here for one week in Autumn (fall). The hotel is located right in the centre of Queenstown but still has beautiful lake views. The staff were always very friendly and courteous and always happy to help. The concierge had a very extensive knowledge of the area and great advice. Clean rooms. The gym was small but had a very good multifunction machine that did almost everything, far better than a lot of other gyms in the IHG group. The only complaints I have is that there was no cutlery in the room for when we got take away and the heating in the room was just a little cooler than I would have liked. But they are very tiny complaints and the overall stay was great.

Room Tip: some lake 'view' rooms have a view from the balcony if you go and stand out side. If you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlelaney27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear littlelaney27,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and was able to use our gym.
Unfortunately we don't have cutlery in our rooms as standard but Room service is always able to deliver this within a few minutes.
I have passed your comments with regards to the inroom temperature to our Chief Engineer for him to monitor.
I am pleased you had a great stay.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    568
    117
    34
    18
See reviews for
279
754
78
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza over Easter and were thoroughly pleased with the hotel.
The view from our lake side room was excellent and one could just sit and look at all that was happening on the lake.
The rooms were adequate and very clean and well presented.
The hotel is on the edge of the town and all restaurants and pubs are in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed two nights in a lake front room on the fourth floor. View from the room was great and just across the road from steamer wharf and restaurants. Room was very comfy with usual Crowne standard of amenities. Room has a balcony but a little chilly to sit outside. We ate in hotel restaurant one night and enjoyed the lamb rump. Buffet breakfast was good priced at $28 per head. Staff very friendly and valet parking service was very efficient. Only complaint was that kettle would not fit under sink tap and had to be filled one glass at a time.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear David S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
I am pleased you enjoyed our location and our facilities.
Great to hear you found our staff friendly and efficient.

I will be sharing your comments with the team.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What a super location! Opposite the Earnslaw ship, close to craft beer bars and great restaurants, on the flat. We booked a lakeview room and the view was fab. Nice balcony, spacious room, albeit a little tired, but nothing a lick of paint wouldn't fix.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
We had a BB rate as part of our package and breakfast was a great selection with an egg station. Nice touch!
Valet parking is $15 a day and once you see the limited parking in Queenstown, you feel a bit better paying the charges.
Walking distance to everything. 3 mins and you are in the heart of the town. 6 mins and you are at some of the best restaurants (The Bunker, Madam Woos and Rata).
Would stay here next time in Queenstown. Hopefully they lower their prices a bit?

Room Tip: We had room 508, was the best views. Worth the extra money for the lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustMarriedWtgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We paid extra for the Lake view as suggested by others in this site, but was really disappointed when we got into the room. We were allocated a room at the side of the block where as advertised in the IHG rewards site we will get the lake view by paying the extra.

When I complained the reception said apologised. She said the price I paid only entitled us to the side view, not the full front view from the balcony. For that we have to pay even more. But I said I was not given the option for these premium rooms on the IHG Rewards site on the internet. She said the site is not easy to use and does not give this option.

Really disappointed, especially at this price we paid for the room

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm you have got the room in the front of the hotel, fully facing the lake to enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

As everyone has stated, this Hotel is in a great location. We ate at 4 different restaurants and walked no further than 150 metres.
This Hotel offers great service and all requests were handled in a friendly manner. The room sizes were excellent and while not the most luxurious, they were very clean and still of a very high standard. The beds were one the nicest beds I've ever slept in (What brand are they, I want one?) and the pillows, fantastic. We enjoyed the bar downstairs and the modern style added to the ambience. We did eat at the restaurant and my meal was cooked really well. My favourite was the breads, served hot with herbed butter and dips. There is a convenience store, next door to the hotel for essentials, such as water, fruit and snacks.
Going to Queenstown in autumn is a must, the colour of the trees backed by the mountainous scenery is breathtaking. While there are cheaper hotels around, the location and service is hard to beat.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room on level 3, lake side. We were on level 2 and had a partial view of, 'L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Stylie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Great location but rooms are very outdated for price. I was expecting a little it more luxury. Bar downstairs great, breakfast was nice. Staff helpful and friendly. Great spot to be in the heart of the action, perfect if you plan to be out of the hotel most of your stay. We booked this room to get a nice break from the Campervan. So a little disappointed, would have spent a little more to get the nicer bathrooms etc. bed was very comfy though.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bandeeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear bandeeka,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I am delighted to hear that you found our location great, staff helpful and friendly, breakfast nice and beds comfortable. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,117 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing