We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view but shame about the food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our 2nd floor balcony room was comfy, well appointed, and had a lovely low view across the lake but did cop a lot of outside noise. We did find our room was too warm overnight and the heater controls gave us little option to change that so had to leave the door ajar to cool down. Layered bedding rather than one very heavy bed cover would have given us a more comfortable sleep.

Also not having a gym, pool, or spa is a minus also.

My one real gripe was our evening meal which was a major let down with food that was substandard quality and poorly cooked. I've detailed that on a dineout.co.nz review.

Over our 3 day stay the room was kept spotlessly clean and the staff were all very accommodating and friendly but not sure if I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear willin1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review if your stay.

I am pleased to hear that you found your room well appointed and enjoyed the view.
I am sorry to hear about the room temperature not being to your requirements, all our rooms have individual controls that will take a few minutes to adjust but should make a significant difference.

I am disappointed that your evening meal was not up to standard, we generally have very good reviews about our food and I will be discussing this with our Executive Chef. I will be looking at your restaurant review or alternatively if you wish to contact me on reinier.eulink@ihg.com to discuss further I would be most grateful.

It is great to hear you found your room very clean throughout your stay.


Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Great location. One minute to town centre. Room size mix up caused my third party booking service. Hotel added rollaway at no cost which helped. (Very comfortable rollaway) IHG reward member free wifi was a godsend.
King room 415 - very clean, furniture decor etc still fresh. Good guest laundry. Needs $3 coins to operate. Staff very friendly.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Tattlertoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Tattlertoni,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review if your stay.

Great to hear we catered to your needs and that you took full advantage of your IHG Rewards membership.


Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We wanted to see Milford Sound, which was the main reason we went to Queenstown. However, our tour company (Naked Bus) cancelled, which we just found out while waiting for the tour bus. We went to the CP front desk to ask where we could complain, and when we said that we were disappointed, they suggested that we go with a different tour company, found one that could still accommodate us (Jucy Cruise) and made the arrangements, then got us a cab to take us to the tour bus that was waiting for us in Frankton (since the Jucy bus had already picked up their passengers in Queenstown). It didn't occur to us to get another tour for that very day since we'd already seen tour buses on the move with their passengers, and we were leaving Queenstown the next day, so we were grateful that the Crowne Plaza staff thought of it and arranged it very quickly.

There were other positives. When we asked for things to be brought up to the room and needed help with the heater, someone quickly came up and was friendly and helpful. As others noted, the location is great, since the hotel is right in front of the lake and very near shops and restaurants.

However, the shower stall needs to be cleaned better since there were dark spots in the grout.

Overall, I recommend this hotel because of its location and staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaveGasWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Crowne Plaza is in a good location--close to the shops and restaurants. It is lovely to look out at the harbour and enjoy the view. It is across the street from the office for several sightseeing boats as well as across the street from a mini-casino. We enjoyed our stay here very much and would stay here again. The breakfast was delicious with good variety and good flavor. The staff is very friendly and want to be of help---offered us umbrellas when we ventured out during a rainstorm. The city is very sports oriented so no one minded us sloshing in and out of the shops!

Room Tip: Harborside gives a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedoll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear thedoll1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review if your stay.

Great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found our location convenient.
I am pleased to hear that the team were friendly and helpful.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Centrally located. Close to shops and restaurants. Great view from our balcony. Attentive and friendly staff. Breakfasts are lovely particularly the freshly made omelettes. Rooms serviced daily. Good to see the temperature each morning. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here as it was the venue for a conference and it was perfect for us. The location was great for exploring and the view from the restaurant was awe inspiring. The breakfast options were great and even on one day where the restaurant was busy the staff were amazing. Always friendly and helpful, and this was evidently a result of an expectation on all staff. Anytime we encountered someone from the room attendants to the reception they had a smile and were beyond welcoming. Small issues with the room were fixed before we even had a chance to bring them to the hotels attention.

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jobrushnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Jobrushnz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review if your stay.

I am pleased the conference you attended was a success and you enjoyed our location.
We are indeed heading into a busy time, so I am pleased that we delivered the level of service that we aim for.
I will be sharing your lovely comments with the team.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The lake side rooms are beautiful with a glorious view of Queenstown. The king size bed is the most comfortable nights sleep you could imagine and the bathroom is decadent. Its a place you go to spoil yourself. The spa treatment and restaurant are just the perfect end to the day

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geshan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,231 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £121 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing