We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Close to EVERYTHING” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So Close to EVERYTHING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Myself and a few friends stayed at the C.P on our most recent trip to Queenstown. The first and best thing about it is how close it is to everything and the view from the front is amazing. Anything in Queenstown is in walking distance and the convenience of that is almost worth the price right away. The Staff are extremely friendly and I couldn't honestly fault them. I communicated with them via email while booking and even though I'd made some mistakes they were very accomidating and seemed to honestly want to help. Really well done on the service end of things.
We didn't actually eat there or even buy drinks there because we were so close to everything else it just seemed unnecessary. The rooms are nice and neat but a bit dated. I have a feeling they may be renovating soon, the foyer is much more modern compared to the rest of the hotel, so I'm hoping they make the most of their great location and make the rooms a real drawcard. I'd be staying there next time I go to Queenstown just on the location and service.

For ski and snow trips they have a dry room BTW I don't think that was well advertised on their website.

Room Tip: If you can't get a view of the lake the courtyard rooms have a nice view too, plus you can just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    553
    113
    32
    17
See reviews for
267
732
76
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Good location, right on the edge of the middle of town, close to everything. The absolute lake front room on the 5th floor had an amazing view, which made up for the fact that the room itself was fairly small and inadequate for 2 people. The room is set up for a sole traveller on business. One big desk, one lounge chair. King bed (quite soft) and pillows that I couldn't quite get used to. Breakfast buffet is very good. Sets you up for the day. We ate dinner in the restaurant the first night, but decided not to go back as there are many other options nearby. We found the staff to be a bit young and quirky - especially in the restaurant/bar. I ordered a Manhattan drink and it came in a glass full of ice. Our waitress complained to us that in addition to serving, she was also doing room service and vacuuming. The best service from anyone in the hotel came from Maria, who seemed to be doing a bit of everything in the concierge area. She is a total asset to this hotel because she is very attentive without being bothersome and comes across as a very relaxed, friendly professional. As opposed to the "I only refill the bar and drinks" girl (no smile) who, when asked if someone could make up our room, gave that answer and disappeared in to the elevator. She (bar/drinks girl) and everyone else (except for Maria) seemed a bit 'on edge' working here. So yes, great location, but there's plenty of other places close to everything too.

Room Tip: Absolute lake front rooms on 5th floor are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Michael T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. We would like to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This is exactly what you expect from a hotel such as crown plaza. Big comfy bed. Good service and the location was great. We are happy with our stay at crown plaza. I have given 4 star only because we weren't absolutely amazed by the hotel room but it met our expectations.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samanthamarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in July for 5 nights. As this was our first visit to Queenstown we were pleased with the location and staff service. Everything was easily a few minutes walking distance and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are also quite clean. Unfortunately that's where the good points end. The rooms are out dated and lacked basic maintenance. The paint was pealing from the roof, doors were old and had cracks, poor tv reception, outdoor chairs and tables are horrible and tacky. For the price you pay per night l you would expect internet to be free and available for your entire stay and not for 45 minutes, breakfast is over priced and simply not worth paying for. There are so many little things that could greatly improve the rooms and add the extra class and value. We will probably seek other accommodation options for future trips.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Sam P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

It is disappointing to hear that your stay was not as expected and the room was in need of repairs.
I would appreciate it if you could please contact me direct on reinier.eulink@ihg.com to further discuss this and so I can identify this room for immediate work to be carried out.

We do offer complimentary internet if you are an IHG Rewards Club member or you can join for free and enjoy this great benefit immediately.
I would appreciate your feedback with regards to your room experience as we are currently looking at what is required in the near future.

Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel is in a great location across from the lake and close to all restaurants and bars. If skiing the shuttle for the slopes is only a short 5 minute walk. Staff are friendly. Only negative is that it feels a bit dated in decor especially the corridors.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a lake view room if you are here for anything apart from skiing. If you are here for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyThoughtsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great experience at this hotel. Probably its greatest asset is its location. You can easily and quickly walk anywhere in downtown Queenstown from here, making it a great place from which to explore the city. The customer service was also great throughout. The activity desk guy was super friendly and they gave us a nice gift for our anniversary. The bar had great hot chocolates. While the lobby looks brand new the actual floors and rooms are starting to show some aging. This is purely aesthetic though and doesn't take away from any of the amenities. Free internet for reward members, great! Charge for non-optional valet parking, not so great. We didn't get the lake view room we requested but we still had a great view of mountains and some lake. The view from an actual lake view is probably incredible.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Chad2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I am pleased you had and great experience while staying with us in Queenstown.
Great to hear that you enjoyed our customer service and was able to book some of the great activities that are on offer.
I will take your comments on board and discuss with our interior decorator during our next property walk.

Great to hear you enjoyed our free internet.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you are looking for a place located close to the Queenstown "action" this is the place to be. It is adjacent to the Earnslaw Wharf and very handy to everything. We had a lake view room but were on the first floor, so had to walk out onto the balcony to catch a glimpse of the lake. Not a problem for us, but if you want to look out at the lake - ask for higher floor in the first building.
The room was an average size, with comfortable king size bed and we were happy with pillows and bedding. There was a nice comfy chair and ottoman in the room as well as a good sized desk for working on. The bathroom was adequate - not luxurious, but clean with plentiful, fluffy towels.
We ate at the restaurant for an evening meal and breakfast and have no complaints.
We had a drink in the bar and it was cosy on a bitterly cold night.
The concierge arranged a rental car for us at short notice and he was very obliging and got us a great deal. In fact all the staff from check in to porter and wait staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.
All things considered - we'd return and next time ask for a room on a higher floor looking out at the lake.

Room Tip: Higher floor, in the first building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing