We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Heritage Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coronet View Accommodation(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matakauri Lodge(Queenstown)
US$1,465
US$1,421
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scenic Suites Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$424
US$381
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,568)
Filter reviews
1,568 results
Traveller rating
760
620
126
37
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
760
620
126
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationa lake view roomtss earnslawin townper dayexcellent hotelbreakfast buffethotel is locatedrestaurants and shopstwo double bedsnew zealandfree wifisteamerslake wakatipustayed here for nightsmilford soundgreat room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
686 - 691 of 1,568 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Chose this hotel on location as it is handy to the shops, restaurants and not too far to walk to the bus for the ski fields. Found staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a lake view room which didn't disappoint. One of the ski bus lines even pick up from the door. Easy process to drop off and collect skiing equipment. Would have no problems with staying here again.

Room Tip: Pick a lake view room. Free wifi only if a member
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Myself and a few friends stayed at the C.P on our most recent trip to Queenstown. The first and best thing about it is how close it is to everything and the view from the front is amazing. Anything in Queenstown is in walking distance and the convenience of that is almost worth the price right away. The Staff are extremely friendly and I couldn't honestly fault them. I communicated with them via email while booking and even though I'd made some mistakes they were very accomidating and seemed to honestly want to help. Really well done on the service end of things.
We didn't actually eat there or even buy drinks there because we were so close to everything else it just seemed unnecessary. The rooms are nice and neat but a bit dated. I have a feeling they may be renovating soon, the foyer is much more modern compared to the rest of the hotel, so I'm hoping they make the most of their great location and make the rooms a real drawcard. I'd be staying there next time I go to Queenstown just on the location and service.

For ski and snow trips they have a dry room BTW I don't think that was well advertised on their website.

Room Tip: If you can't get a view of the lake the courtyard rooms have a nice view too, plus you can just walk outside to see the view anyway!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tristan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Good location, right on the edge of the middle of town, close to everything. The absolute lake front room on the 5th floor had an amazing view, which made up for the fact that the room itself was fairly small and inadequate for 2 people. The room is set up for a sole traveller on business. One big desk, one lounge chair. King bed (quite soft) and pillows that I couldn't quite get used to. Breakfast buffet is very good. Sets you up for the day. We ate dinner in the restaurant the first night, but decided not to go back as there are many other options nearby. We found the staff to be a bit young and quirky - especially in the restaurant/bar. I ordered a Manhattan drink and it came in a glass full of ice. Our waitress complained to us that in addition to serving, she was also doing room service and vacuuming. The best service from anyone in the hotel came from Maria, who seemed to be doing a bit of everything in the concierge area. She is a total asset to this hotel because she is very attentive without being bothersome and comes across as a very relaxed, friendly professional. As opposed to the "I only refill the bar and drinks" girl (no smile) who, when asked if someone could make up our room, gave that answer and disappeared in to the elevator. She (bar/drinks girl) and everyone else (except for Maria) seemed a bit 'on edge' working here. So yes, great location, but there's plenty of other places close to everything too.

Room Tip: Absolute lake front rooms on 5th floor are best.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Michael T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. We would like to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This is exactly what you expect from a hotel such as crown plaza. Big comfy bed. Good service and the location was great. We are happy with our stay at crown plaza. I have given 4 star only because we weren't absolutely amazed by the hotel room but it met our expectations.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Samanthamarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in July for 5 nights. As this was our first visit to Queenstown we were pleased with the location and staff service. Everything was easily a few minutes walking distance and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are also quite clean. Unfortunately that's where the good points end. The rooms are out dated and lacked basic maintenance. The paint was pealing from the roof, doors were old and had cracks, poor tv reception, outdoor chairs and tables are horrible and tacky. For the price you pay per night l you would expect internet to be free and available for your entire stay and not for 45 minutes, breakfast is over priced and simply not worth paying for. There are so many little things that could greatly improve the rooms and add the extra class and value. We will probably seek other accommodation options for future trips.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Sam P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

It is disappointing to hear that your stay was not as expected and the room was in need of repairs.
I would appreciate it if you could please contact me direct on reinier.eulink@ihg.com to further discuss this and so I can identify this room for immediate work to be carried out.

We do offer complimentary internet if you are an IHG Rewards Club member or you can join for free and enjoy this great benefit immediately.
I would appreciate your feedback with regards to your room experience as we are currently looking at what is required in the near future.

Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews