We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Hard to beat this property's location right in the village across the street from the gorgeous lake.
Our room was nicely decorated and spacious. The bathroom was also nice and modern although it wasn't really clean the night we checked in. Perhaps, the maid forgot to check the bathroom as there was hair all over the tub and shower area.
The next day the housekeeper came in and did a great job cleaning the room.
All members of the staff, particularly the folks at the front desk were very courteous and helpful!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    560
    114
    33
    18
See reviews for
272
740
77
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed one night. Comfortable beds, nice linens, pillows. We ate the breakfast buffet in the morning which was excellent.
The only problem is that the noise caused by the room next door woke us.
Wifi is not free, parking is not free.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great place to stay when in Queenstown, walking distance to everything with in the city, Restaurants, Bars, with easy access to transport to the Adventure spots around the region, Had a view of the lake which was outstanding over winter. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Will be staying there again on our return trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_fitzgerald67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear peter_fitzgerald67,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and made the most of your stay in Queenstown.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benowa, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Chose this hotel on location as it is handy to the shops, restaurants and not too far to walk to the bus for the ski fields. Found staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a lake view room which didn't disappoint. One of the ski bus lines even pick up from the door. Easy process to drop off and collect skiing equipment. Would have no problems with staying here again.

Room Tip: Pick a lake view room. Free wifi only if a member
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Myself and a few friends stayed at the C.P on our most recent trip to Queenstown. The first and best thing about it is how close it is to everything and the view from the front is amazing. Anything in Queenstown is in walking distance and the convenience of that is almost worth the price right away. The Staff are extremely friendly and I couldn't honestly fault them. I communicated with them via email while booking and even though I'd made some mistakes they were very accomidating and seemed to honestly want to help. Really well done on the service end of things.
We didn't actually eat there or even buy drinks there because we were so close to everything else it just seemed unnecessary. The rooms are nice and neat but a bit dated. I have a feeling they may be renovating soon, the foyer is much more modern compared to the rest of the hotel, so I'm hoping they make the most of their great location and make the rooms a real drawcard. I'd be staying there next time I go to Queenstown just on the location and service.

For ski and snow trips they have a dry room BTW I don't think that was well advertised on their website.

Room Tip: If you can't get a view of the lake the courtyard rooms have a nice view too, plus you can just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Good location, right on the edge of the middle of town, close to everything. The absolute lake front room on the 5th floor had an amazing view, which made up for the fact that the room itself was fairly small and inadequate for 2 people. The room is set up for a sole traveller on business. One big desk, one lounge chair. King bed (quite soft) and pillows that I couldn't quite get used to. Breakfast buffet is very good. Sets you up for the day. We ate dinner in the restaurant the first night, but decided not to go back as there are many other options nearby. We found the staff to be a bit young and quirky - especially in the restaurant/bar. I ordered a Manhattan drink and it came in a glass full of ice. Our waitress complained to us that in addition to serving, she was also doing room service and vacuuming. The best service from anyone in the hotel came from Maria, who seemed to be doing a bit of everything in the concierge area. She is a total asset to this hotel because she is very attentive without being bothersome and comes across as a very relaxed, friendly professional. As opposed to the "I only refill the bar and drinks" girl (no smile) who, when asked if someone could make up our room, gave that answer and disappeared in to the elevator. She (bar/drinks girl) and everyone else (except for Maria) seemed a bit 'on edge' working here. So yes, great location, but there's plenty of other places close to everything too.

Room Tip: Absolute lake front rooms on 5th floor are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Michael T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. We would like to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This is exactly what you expect from a hotel such as crown plaza. Big comfy bed. Good service and the location was great. We are happy with our stay at crown plaza. I have given 4 star only because we weren't absolutely amazed by the hotel room but it met our expectations.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samanthamarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing