We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, staff nice but a bit ....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good location, staff nice but a bit ....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We arrived after a long drive from Dunedin and were told that as Gold Ambassador members we had been upgraded to a Mountain view room. This room was on the small side but, if you leaned far enough out you could see the mountain around the bushes outside the balcony! The gym, in the room next door, was small but functional. We ate at the restaurant twice, breakfast and lunch. Both were OK but the staff were not the best we have encountered. One interesting idea not thought through was the juicer at breakfast. This became clogged with Kale etc each time it was used and generally took 15 minutes to be cleaned out!

Room Tip: Not really worth the extra for a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyBirdIBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear BillyBirdIBT,

Thank you for your recent stay, and for taking the time to leave us a feedback. It is nice to know that you found our location good and the staff nice. On the other hand, we regret certain aspects during breakfast did not make for an exemplary hotel experience. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused and would like to assure you that we will certainly work on improvements to ensure this type of situation does not reoccur.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    553
    113
    32
    17
See reviews for
267
732
76
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is not a luxury hotel. Rooms not too big. We were on a honeymoon; still we were given two queen beds; instead of one. Breakfast is nice, not too lavish though. The staff at concierge is, however very knowledgable; helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abhinav_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear abhinav_the_explorer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
I am sorry we were unable to allocate a King room during your stay, we do our utmost to allocate to room preference where possible. Great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and that the concierge team were knowledgeable and friendly.


Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had a fabulous time at the Crowne Plaza, excellent location, fantastic buffet breakfasts, and obliging friendly professional staff. Couldn't fault this hotel, our room was spacious, very clean, great view, good movie options.....loved it. Many thanks to Jasmine for her care and concern.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an exceptional view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misfortune2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
334 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was my 5th stay at crowne Plaza and I loved it yet again. It's location is second to none. The staff were better than ever. Attentive, polite, helpful. Can't say a word against it. Will no doubt be back again in the future......Oh and the hot chocolates are yum

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookster_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just returned from a three week visit to New Zealand and Australia. We began our trip with a stay at the Queenstown Crowne Plaza. The hotel was lovely with great views and very central to downtown within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and attractions. The staff were welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to accommodate our needs. Would highly recommend and would return if we are ever fortunate enough to visit Queenstown again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvtotravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear lvtotravel01,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, and chosen us to stay during your 3 week visit to New Zealand.
Thank you for your kind words, I am pleased to hear that our team were welcoming and friendly.

Hope to welcome you again to Queenstown one day.


Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in March. Location was awesome and within walking distance to restaurants shops and attractions. Room was nicely decorated and staff was pleasant. We would defintely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandamay52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Mandamay52,

Thank you for your comments and kind words.

Great to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lake view room with balcony on the front of this modern centrally located hotel, within walking distance of everything in Queenstown, and with easy access to bus, coach and taxi services for those more distant attractions.
Reasonable sized room, with comfortable beds and wide choice of pillows, provided a first class and quiet overnight sleep, whilst the buffet breakfast was first class and the staff attentive, friendly and helpful.
Would certainly stay there again on any future trip, although pity that they felt it necessary to charge for wifi connection..

Room Tip: Opt for a lake view room on one of the upper floors for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear John t,

Thank you for your taking the time to write a review of your stay.

Great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and was comfortable in your room.

We do offer free internet for all IHG Rewards members, our program is free to join at any time online or at reception.

Once again thank you for your kind words,

Regards,

Reinier H. Eulink
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Property: Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing