We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Killer location and very contemporary with all the amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Before we rave about this place, parking is not free and wasn't cheap. That aside, this was one of our favorite places we stayed at. The center of Queenstown and the lake is right outside the hotel's main entrance. The hotel itself was very modern, with well trained staff and a swanky little (expensive) restaurant in-house. There wasn't much to not like about this place. We'd definitely go again!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,466)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,242 - 1,248 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2009

We stayed just 1 night here and were impressed with staff as they were very helpful.
The location is very central and most things are in easy walking distance.
The room was clean and tidy but we thought it would be bigger for the amount that you would otherwise pay for it. We got a special of $119 but the normal cost is $210. The Hotel only had a sauna and we will stay here again but only if it is at a special rate.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzietripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

A 4-star luxurious hotel along Beach Street, near Shotover Street where shops & eateries are found (about 3 mins walk).

The room was clean & spacious with comfortable bedding & a patio with an awesome view of snow capped mountains.

Had buffet breakfast and dinner at the hotel's threesixty restaurant with award winning cuisine. Tried its beef steak and lamb chop, which we found just average.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icequeenvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Enjoyed our time at Crown. The location is close enough to walk around the township, do some shopping @ head out to restaurants in the cool evenings without a second thought. Arrived to a friendly greeting at reception, all paperwork was ready and accurate in relation to the booking. Room was ready before normal checkin time & clean & tidy. All amenities and equipment such as tea / coffee making, electronics were operational & there's plenty of wardrobe space. There was a small in room safe for valuables. Good sized bathrooms too. Had a partial lake view room on the corner with nice outlook from private balcony. The room had good glazing against the cooler winter temperatures. We had a rental car and guests get complimentary parking on site in an outdoor carpark. This is an advantage in Queenstown where parking is at a premium. The hotel concierge provides a valet service & will deliver your car to & from the main entrance on demand, but as we were out and about a lot, I was nmore convenient to park ourselves.

There is a bar / restaurant but didn't eat in so can't comment. It looks good. Lobby area is smart decor & there's an inviting fireplace by the bar.

The hotel rooms have been refurbished to a good standard & deserves it's 4* in my opinion. Some corridors on the upper accommodation levels have dated decor & carpet which is the only area that shows signs of aging. Didn't bother me!

I have visited Quenstown frequently on business & stayed in several other hotels. There are conference facilities & meeting facilities here too. For a short holiday, this hotel met our expectations and delivered a "no problems" experience with some nice touches.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

My husband and I spent four nights at the Crowne Plaza Queenstown. Our room overlooked the lake on the fifth floor and could not have provided better views. The outside balcony with chairs and table was great for relaxing in the dwindling lit hours.

On the whole, this is a good hotel. The location is just a few meters/yards shy of the city centre. The hotel is one of a few on the way out of town going to Glenorchy. Previous comments have said that it is not right on the lake. Whilst this is true the short walk across the street is hardly anything to sniff at. A small an unobtrusive two-story building is on the left as you face the lake. This is filled with various restaurants, which makes this hotel a good location for eating.

The hotel restaurant served extremely good food, some of the best we tasted during our three weeks in New Zealand. The service was prompt, efficient and helpful with pairings for food and wine.

What does let this hotel down, however, is the attention to detail. The mechanism for flushing our toilet in the bathroom was very loose as well as the cover for the electrical switch. The refrigerator used for the mini-bar is very dated. It looked like it was for the 1970s and at times could get rather loud. It is odd that there are no club rooms or a club lounge. Otherwise, it is a clean well appointed hotel with a magnificent restaurant downstairs.

If you are looking for a comfortable nights sleep in this city known for its outdoor activities you could do no worse than the Crowne Plaza Queenstown.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HochEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We went on a bus tour to Milford Sound, and when we came back the door to our room was left open by the cleaning staff all day and they were long gone. Luckily nothing was stolen, but this is unacceptable in any hotel.

For 3 nights in a row, we were woken up around 3am by people yelling out "concierge" and pounding on the doors. We actually thought about leaving for the 4th night and just finding another hotel, but the manager finally moved us to another floor.

The coffeepot in the first room had water in it and rust, so we had to ask for a replacement. The coffeepot in the second room also had rust in it, so we had to bring the other one up.

The location is decent, but we saw lots of other hotels in the area so it doesn't make up for the problems with the staff. Also, it's not directly on the lake as others have mentioned, so you still have the street in front, plus a whole complex of buildings and restaurants in front of you before you get to the lake.

I read that it was recently renovated, so I thought that it might look better, but the construction work was shoddy because there's very little sound insulation. The rooms are also dirty and not well maintained.

After all our trouble, the manager made some insignificant offers, starting with a drink, then breakfast, and finally agreed to 50% off dinner in the hotel restaurant. The food was decent, and we got room service from the restaurant that was also good. The wait staff in the restaurant were far nicer and better trained than the rest of the hotel staff.

One thing the manager said is that they have different people come into your room for cleaning and others who check the minibar in the morning and afternoon. So if you stay here, make sure you lock your suitcase since there could be lots of people coming in and out of your room while you're out.

Out of the five hotels we stayed in during our trip, this was by far the worst. I should have paid more attention to the specific things people wrote in their TripAdvisor reviews, in general I found that they're pretty accurate. I thought Crowne Plaza would be a good bet as a brand name, but on this trip I found that boutique hotels often had better service than the corporate hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blueaudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Great hotel very close to city could walk to all in city tourist attractions. Loved the convenience. Booked a room with lakeviews which where out of this world. The staff at the conceirge were great as well. Extremely helpful at all times. Would highly recommend this hotel. One of the best hotels during out trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leticia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Queenstown

Address: 93 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#5 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £110 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables mountain range, Crowne Plaza Queenstown is conveniently located just minutes from the town centre. Across the road is the popular Steamer Wharf – home to great dining, bars and entertainment. Whether you are here for business, leisure, or even a bit of both, your comfort and enjoyment are our priority. From luxurious bedding, spacious rooms to your own balcony or courtyard, we have everything to make your stay a magical one. We also have a dedicated Queenstown activity concierge to assist with recommendations and bookings to help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Queenstown Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing