We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing view of Queenstown from room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Dimas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“amazing view of Queenstown from room”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We arrived after a long day traveling and were met at the door by Rob and Heather, who were very welcoming. The rooms were comfortable and we had a few issues with the bathroom that were taken care of right away! We enjoyed the wine and cheese hour. Rob gave us some great advice on where to eat, hike and places to see in town. He even gave us a ride when it was raining, which was much appreciated, it was above and beyond. The views from the place were just spectacular! It was 3 blocks from town and uphill on the way back but needed to walk after the great dinners and wine we had, we really enjoyed our time at this Inn and recommend it! We had eggs benedict one morning, pancakes the next, and eggs the rest of the time and meals excellent!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wineloversandimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    35
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
269
34
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Louise but unfortunately she then was absent for the remainder of the week. It then turned into a version of Fawlty Towers.
Our room wasn't serviced for two of the days we were there. We were left without soap and toilet rolls. Although there were only three rooms occupied, they ran out of yoghurt and bananas - we were there for a week and although the breakfast was good, the menu never changed which made it almost inexcusable to run out of the few basics required to make the daily breakfast. We also lost our connection to the Internet on two occasions.
On the positive side - very comfortable beds, great location close to the centre of town - albeit the walk back up the hill was a challenge - and the afternoon drinks and snacks were a great way to meet other guests and to share places to visit and eat.
Maybe the secret is to check whether Louise will be looking after you

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louiseqt, Owner at Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
It was lovely to meet you ,thank you for your feedback. I had a wonderful birthday week celebrating at the Gala Royal charity dinner with Prince Charles and The Duchess. Am now back at the helm and have given Basil and Pollay a serious retraining tune up! Kind regards LOUISE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Two days in this friendly homestyle lodge was enough to make one want to return. Good advice, yummy cooked breakfasts happy time with lovely wine and nibbles, an upgrade to a better room because it 'was just availabe' nothing was too much trouble for Louise.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conventdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louiseqt, Owner at Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.We are committed to offering a memorable visit to Queenstown. Look forward to your return. Kind regards, LOUISE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We arrived at Queenstown to be met by Rob who had been awaiting our arrival. We were welcomed with a lovely plate of local cheeses and other homemade yummies and made to feel very much at home. Rob was very good at giving advice as to where to go and what to see. He even accompanied us on a skiing day and took us to some amazing places we would never have gone to by ourselves. We had a lot of fun and verbal banter, and Rob won me over with his green lip mussels! The only regret is that we didn't get to meet Louise who was visiting family in Australia, but that gives us an excuse to return. Thanks again Rob, you did a great job solo!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Snuck in the back door to our room at 6am thanks to a delay by Jetstar to find a wonderfully warm room with snacks/wine awaiting our late arrival...it just got better from there on in. A big thankyou to Rob for "going the extra mile" with us! Can't wait to return and do some more "tramping" around the countryside. Great location, fantastic views ...didn't want to leave the breakfast room..great to sit around and chat at days end, really get a feel for the town and its locals. Hospitality at its best,we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaBB05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We were given a room with a view out to the lake and mountains which was ridiculously comfortable and included everything you want in a tiny hotel – great view, bathroom that included everything you need, a well stocked area around the kettle (good tea!) and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. That’s just the beginning though.

From 5:30-6:30 every evening, she invites you down for wine and nibbles and to meet the other guests. What came out was seemingly bottomless glasses of the local Otago pinot noir and beautifully fresh smoked salmon on rice crackers topped with beetroot chutney and aoili. During this hour we got to talk to a legendary former WW2 spitfire pilot and stare out at the gorgeous view.

This place seriously ticks all the boxes: friendly but not in your face owner, ridiculously comfortable beds, great views, outstanding food and a good location without being extortionate in price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjm107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just had three amazing days in Queenstown, New Zealand. While there I stayed at Queenstown House. What a fabulous spot to stay. Right in town with panoramic views of Lake Wakatipu and the mountain ranges. Each morning I was sipping coffee on the balcony and looking out at the breathtaking views. Queenstown House is just a few minutes walk down to the center of town. Amazing shops, cafes and nightlife just three blocks from the hotel. Coming back from town I took several different routes back to Queenstown House during the three days. My favorite was a leisurely wander through the beautiful garden park, but I also took the direct route which has a bit of a hill on the last block - but then of course, no hill, no panoramic view!!! One night after dinner it was decided by the gang to just grab a cab for the three block trip back to the hotel. It was an amazing three days. The hosts could not have been more helpful and charming. The boutique hotel is a jewel and the location couldn't be better. 10 out of 10!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments

Property: Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
Address: 69 Hallenstein Street | Central Queenstown, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200M to the centre of Queenstown. The elevated position offers outstanding views of l;ake Wakatipu and mountains.This well established boutique B&B is just 200m to the inner hub of downtown Queenstown . A discreet distance from the action offering stylish service with a relaxed atmosphere, New Zealand style. A range of accommodation from Luxury Suites/Apartments with private balconies and open fires to charming Bed and Breakfast rooms all with ensuite bathrooms. Renowned for its outstanding New Zealand hospitality, guests are treated to a delicious breakfast in the lakeview dining room each morning. In the evening a hosted pre-dinner get together to sample local wines and hors d'oeuvres, exchange experiences and organize dinner reservations.Knowledgable hosts are happy to help with excursion planning. Complimentary WIFI in all rooms,Off street parking & luggage storage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing