We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Queenstown house is located on a hill offering superb views of the lake. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, advising on where to eat and things to do nearby (we were advised to go to Fishbone and this didn't disappoint - as the name suggests - excellent choice for seafood). Free nibbles and drinks are offered of an evening. This provided a great opportunity to converse with other travellers and the owner on local tips, travel stories and everything else, whilst sampling some tasty morsels and local wines. As we were leaving early the following day to trek the milford track a packed breakfast and lunch was packed for us which we stupidly left in our fridge however nonetheless was greatly appreciated (we were kicking ourselves as we are our crackers and tuna instead). The rooms are pleasant and bathroom spacious (we were provided a free upgrade as it was our honeymoon, which was a lovely surprise :) Short 2 min walk into the town (those hills are good after a big meal). We would definitely stay here should we travel to Queenstown again and would recommend for others to stay here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RhiannonJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    35
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
270
34
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a wonderful weekend stay recently at Queenstown House.

The lodge is walking distance from the centre of town which was perfect for us. Our host Louise really took care of us and we felt very comfortable & looked after. Louise helped us book our activities and gave us advice on what to do & where to eat. She even lent us a stroller for our toddler so that we did not need to bring our own. We really enjoyed the evening canapes, mingling and having a yarn with other guests. The breakfast was yummy and the apartments tastefully decorated with really comfy beds. Our apartment had a cosy fireplace, balcony with stunning views, living area and kitchen. It had plenty of room for everyone to feel at home and our kids did not want to leave.

Thanks Louise, for making our stay so memorable and for your personal touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monsieurganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent 3 great nights at Queenstown House Boutique b&b. Louise as host is very welcoming & always offering advice on what to do, where to go & even what road is best to get up & down the short hill to town.

The breakfasts are fantastic, rooms very comfortable & the views of the picture perfect lake from patio/bedrooms is stunning. Cocktail hour & accompanying canapés to get to meet other guests is a welcome touch & allows opportunity to pick up hints & tips from other guests. After I left my spectacles behind, Louise even went to the trouble of posting them at no cost to myself so that they caught up with me in Auckland!

The perfect place to stay in a beautiful location. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TartanArmyOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sawbridgeworth
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The steep hill is a bit of a pull when coming back from the town, but the accommodation is very well appointed. A nice touch is when we were invited to join other guests for a drink on the house. It was a quick way to find out what others had enjoyed and what attractions were a must to visit. The room was spacious and the fittings carefully chosen. It is a restful place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louiseqt, Owner at Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review, Queenstown is an apline resort with a beautiful lake and in order to have the best views elevation is required, I try to remind all guests of the longer walk option enjoying the Queenstown Gardens on the way, longer but a gentler return sorry if I did not tell you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I’m from Hong Kong and my friends and I stayed at the Queenstown House for 3 nights recently. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. We were greeted by the warm and bubbly Louise Kiely, owner and manager of the hotel who made us felt quite welcomed. We stayed in one of the spacious suites for 3 with a lovely living room and kitchenette and other amenities. The rooms are very clean and the linens crisp and we had fresh flowers in our room. The staff are cheerful and efficient and every day at dusk, there is Happy Hour, for the guests to mingle. We were served generous dishes of delicious canapes or fresh steamed mussels paired with beautiful wine. Sitting on the balcony, we could look out to the beautiful view of the bay and also the gondolas going up the mountain. It is within walking distance down the slope to town and there is also parking space for those who have rented a car like us. It is the ideal place to stay if you plan to visit Queenstown. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: The ground floor suite was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaYTWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louiseqt, Owner at Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
It was great having you and your fun girlfriends staying, you enjoyed everything and were great company at drinks, we did miss you at Breakfast but appreciate sleep ins on holiday are a luxury. Come back soon.Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights over New Years--a difficult and busy time in Queenstown--we are a family of 4 with college age sons. Alright critics--Queenstown House is not for everyone. The luxury suites are far superior to the old school b&b rooms--which are a bit tired. You have to walk uphill from town. Louise may not be the most delicate flower in the vase--but she is the most interesting. She made dinner and transportation reservations that were flawless and engaged my sons in stories from far off lands. If you enjoy wit, intelligence and experience--you will appreciate her. The guests were international, breakfasts solid, happy hour fun and the humor dry. Rebecca was darling. This place is old school rather than modern luxury--book a room with a view and open a bottle of champagne--you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahlbergsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louiseqt, Owner at Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We enjoyed your family visiting us, thanks for appreciating the touches that make us unique !! We are not an ordinary place to stay indeed, I like to think we exceed guest expectations and offer a memorable experience. Queenstown is in the mountains, everything that is not in the flat of the small chatrming downtown is up a hill which allows the sensational views. A real test of fitness which everyone has to deal with and perhaps go home with intentions of revising their own programs !! Best wishes to you all, Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I spent four nights at Queenstown House and have already recommended it to friends in Auckland. Louise was a delightful hostess (owner) and was very much present from breakfast to evening cocktails to answer questions or just to chat. The cocktail hour was a highlight of the day when one could meet fellow guests and exchange ideas and experiences - the breakfasts were also wonderful, by the way. The rest of the staff was also friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean.

Room Tip: We saw three rooms: the Garden Room, not quite as it sounds as there was no garden but other advanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Browns Boutique Hotel
Browns Boutique Hotel
#6 of 58 in Queenstown
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments

Property: Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
Address: 69 Hallenstein Street | Central Queenstown, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200M to the centre of Queenstown. The elevated position offers outstanding views of l;ake Wakatipu and mountains.This well established boutique B&B is just 200m to the inner hub of downtown Queenstown . A discreet distance from the action offering stylish service with a relaxed atmosphere, New Zealand style. A range of accommodation from Luxury Suites/Apartments with private balconies and open fires to charming Bed and Breakfast rooms all with ensuite bathrooms. Renowned for its outstanding New Zealand hospitality, guests are treated to a delicious breakfast in the lakeview dining room each morning. In the evening a hosted pre-dinner get together to sample local wines and hors d'oeuvres, exchange experiences and organize dinner reservations.Knowledgable hosts are happy to help with excursion planning. Complimentary WIFI in all rooms,Off street parking & luggage storage ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing