We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Lodging Experience we have ever had, ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Remarkables Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Remarkables Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Edwards, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Best Lodging Experience we have ever had, ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We recently stayed at Remarkables Lodge in September, 2013 and our Host's were incredible.
The Lodge is beautiful, rustic and pristine. The setting is directly in front of Remarkables Mountains, and the property is landscaped beautifully.
But the best part were the evenings with the hosts, the gourmet meals prepared twice daily, the wine and canapés in front of the fireplace. It was truly magical.
Will be returning and would highly recommend this Lodge to everyone. A true cultural must.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but we stayed in a large suite with two patio's and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    7
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
79
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Lodge in November... WOW what a fantastic place to relax. Stunning views from your room and the dining area. Alan and Amanda (the hosts) were so friendly and helpful, they treated us like long lost friends. The food was fabulous and every need was taken care of. We can't speak highly enough of the Lodge and the hosts. If you want to get out of the hustle bustle of Queenstown, but still want all the luxury and a beautiful rural backdrop then this is the place to stay. We loved our stay and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have fantastic views, you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I have recently visited the Remarkables Lodge and was very impressed. The Lodge itself it set among the backdrop of the Remarkables Mountain which is beautiful and just a 20 minute drive out of Queenstown (recommended as extremely busy in Queenstown)
The new managers Alan and his wife Amanda have really put their heart and soul into the property and are fantastic hosts.
Please do not hesitate to book this lodge I will be recommending highly!

Room Tip: The Premium Rooms have beautiful bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozza2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our family made reservations for the lodge in May and as we were reviewing our travel itinerary for our trip to NZ, we realized that the room rates on the website had decreased (from $945 to $595/night). I enquired about this and was told that there has been a change in management and dinner is no longer included in the new rates. They indicated that I can take the reduced rate if I did not want to have dinner, but that they would charge me an extra $150 for my 5 year old son. On the website, prior to my enquiry, children under 15 were free. I went back to them again to clarify and was told they made a mistake, but the price is actually $100 per night for my son. This seemed odd to us, so we decided to cancel our reservations and stay in Queenstown. My confirmation statement clearly indicated that I can cancel without charge more than 30 days in advance and our reservation is for the end of December. Instead of letting us know that their cancellation policy had changed, they charged my credit card for 50% of our 3 night reservation. According to their new policy, you need to cancel 300 plus days out to not be charged!!! The new management is dishonest and the website information keeps evolving with each inquiry. They reminded me that I booked in May and that they have been holding my room, but yet they do not honor the cancellation policy that I agreed to when I booked my reservation. In addition, their comment is unwarranted given they are completely vacant during the period that we planned to stay. They just want your money no matter what. There are so many great options in Queenstown, so why deal with this?!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remarkables, Manager at Remarkables Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Reader,

Firstly this individual – Katie Peng – did not stay with us at all!!
And now we are quite pleased about that. We have actually reported her to various authorities for the fraudulent submissions she has made as well as her rude and abrupt delivery to us.
Please note that Trip Advisor will not remove false, incorrect or slanderous reviews. Amazing as that is… The whole all care no responsibility process is how they conduct themselves.
Hence why when you type “legal cases against Trip Advisor” into Google you receive a very long list. We are actually joining a huge collection of hoteliers about this conduct.
Reviews must share customers experiences of the venue and facility and believe it or not should be true…

Katie Peng’s emails were rude, evasive and simply lacked courtesy, despite how pleasant we were in our correspondence with her.

Our response to this falsified review is as follows:

Katie stated that –
Our rates have changed since she made her booking in May
We state that –
This is true. There are so many wonderful restaurants in Queenstown that we have decided to give our guests the option of booking their accommodation without dinner. As always, our prices include gourmet full cooked breakfast each morning, pre-dinner drinks and canapés each evening as well as use of the tennis courts, swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, games room and more. Of course, dinner at the Lodge, cooked by your own private chef, is always available to our guests at their request for an additional charge.

Katie stated that –
Children under 15 were free.
We state that –
In May, when Katie made her reservation (no deposit taken) with the previous management, children under the age of 15 years stayed free. We offered Katie to keep her booking as it was and we were more than happy to honour any arrangement that her and the previous management had agreed upon. However, if she wanted to change the details of her booking to the new pricing structure that we are offering, she must understand that there would now be an additional charge for her child. Or prices for additional adults (14 years and over) is $150 per night, children (2-13 years) $100 per night, and infants (<2 years) stay free. She just didn’t comprehend that for some bizarre reason.

Katie stated that –
They charged my credit card for 50% of our 3 night reservation
We state that –
Absolutely untrue and Katie should be absolutely ashamed of herself for making such a false and defamatory statement. In May, when Katie made her reservation with the previous management, the cancellation policy that she agreed to stated that she could cancel her booking, without penalty, any time outside of 30 days before her check-in date. As already stated, we honour any arrangement that has been made between our guests and the previous management and therefore Katie Peng was NEVER charged any money by us as a result of her last minute cancellation, even though we held the suite exclusively for her for 5 months.

Trip Advisor stated that –
Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
We state that –
Much to our delight, Katie Peng never stayed at the Remarkables Lodge in Queenstown. So the above statement by Trip Advisor is false.

Conclusion –
We pride ourselves in providing wonderful customer service right through from the enquiry stage to the book and stay stage. We have no doubt that you will love the privacy and facilities of Remarkables Lodge as well as our dedication to first class hospitality.
We invite you to contact us today for a special deal. Just mention this review for a free gift package on arrival. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here for our elopement and honeymoon. We experienced first class service from the initial inquiry phone call! Brian and Colleen helped to organise absolutely everything for our intimate wedding, including a wonderful celebrant and amazing photograher. Additionally, we had some extra dietary requirements (we asked for gluten free meals) and they were more than happy to accommodate. Every meal was incredible! I loved that although we gave guidelines we didn't have to detail every request - the hosts leave a note on your pillow detailing the beautiful menu for the evening (part of the turn down service). I would not hesitate to recommend this lodge. We will certainly always remember the fantastic time we had at the Remarkables Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebW817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

On our honeymoon we were looking for an authentic New Zealand lodge experience with excellent food and service that would be close to the daytime fun of Queenstown but far away from the noisy backpackers. We are happy to say that Brian and Colleen (British expats) delivered during our two-night stay. We were treated to pre-dinner drinks (and warm company), fantastic dinners (attentive to our dietary requirements), and great breakfasts with an array of cold and hot options. Our room was spacious, with windows on three sides and great views of the Remarkables. The hot tub was a perfect way to relax after an active day around Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phandi316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We spent three days at the Lodge. Breakfasts were excellent, however as Vegeterians we were not catered for at evening time. The hosts were helpful, and offered us anything we wanted. The location with the Remarkable Mountains behind you is wonderful. You need a car to get here, and to get into Town, and the nearby Remarkables Shopping centre. The lodge is also well situated for tours to Doubtful and Milford sound, as both tours pick up here LAST and drop you off FIRST, which saves over two hours on the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remarkables, Owner at Remarkables Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed the lodge. I do however think that you must have misremembered that, although you had not booked for dinner on your first night nor had we been advised of any dietary preferences, that you were offered a vegetarian option for each of the courses for dinner that night. For example, you were offered grilled haloumi with courgette fritters and tzaziki in place of the seafood appetizer. And as you say in your review, you were also offered any dish of your choice for subsequent evenings. You chose instead to have cornflakes and milk as you did at breakfast and we were pleased to serve these in your room as requested.
From your other reviews I am pleased to see that you enjoyed some, if not all, of the rest of the activities in Queenstown and thank you again for your feedback."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
5.2 mi away
Hurley's of Queenstown
Hurley's of Queenstown
#35 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#39 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
6.3 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Shan's Luxury Lodge
The Shan's Luxury Lodge
#40 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
6.0 mi away
Highview Apartments
Highview Apartments
#13 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mantra Marina
Mantra Marina
#12 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remarkables Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remarkables Mountain Lodge

Property: Remarkables Mountain Lodge
Address: 595 Kingston Road | PO Box 2144, Queenstown 9349, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Remarkables Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a discreet and exclusive retreat, a sanctuary far removed from the bustle of this busy world. You've discovered one of New Zealand's exclusive lodges; Queenstown luxury accommodation in a spectacular setting with stunning mountain views. The Remarkables Mountain Lodge has all the facilities of a small luxury hotel but with the intimacy and hospitable ambiance of a country estate, epitomizing the New Zealand luxury lodge experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Remarkables Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing