We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st timers - Wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Remarkables Mountain Lodge
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Short 3 night holiday arriving into Queenstown, NZ for the first time this Lodge was a fantastic pick and NOT one to pass up.

We were greeted by Fantastic Hospitality & Warm welcomes from Amanda, Allen, Tim and little Izzy, a Beautiful property and lots to do.

Amanda and Allen are fantastic hostess and make a mean Coffee in the morning.

After the tour of the property we were lucky enough to have the whole property to ourselves as we were the only guests on our first night.
We settled in, went out and ordered take out from the centre (10 min away from lodge) brought it back to a warm cosy place eating in front of an open fire.
Playing the piano, having a game of pool and watching a movie provided by our lovely hostess we didn't want to be anywhere else.

Lollies, fruit & biscuits scattered around the place was a nice touch and i couldn't go past a bowl without my hand going in.

As our 2 goals were relaxing and snowboarding - this lodge had it all.
-We woke up with a view of the mountains - spectacular !!
-Breakfast in the morning (first morning it was in Bed - suggested and provided by our hostess) - yummy croissants, toast, muffins, fruits, cereals, coffee, tea, milk and juices.
Second and third morning it was down starts in the kitchen dining area set up with a full spread.
-A great comfy room BIG Bed (could of slept in it all day), big ensuite with a spa/shower
-Location was impeccable it was 2ks from the Remarkables ski lodge by car. Great access to a friendly ski field mountain. Great snow and great slopes.
-10 minutes from centre town. Easy to get there.

This lodge wasn't far from anything enough to be away from it all but easy to get to the action.

It was sad to have to say good bye this morning as we loved it completely.
Thank you for everything.

Room Tip: Big spacious rooms - King bed Central heating in all rooms - with a dial you can turn up and down...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marls21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Remarkables Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Firstly- in case you're skim reading these reviews- stop thinking about it and just book this lodge!

The location is so beautiful, right at the foot of the mountains; none of the photos do it justice! We worried about it being out of town, but needn't have. The food there is so good that you don't really need to go to town, and most of the nice hotels in queenstown are not walking distance to the centre.

This place reminds me of American alpine lodges- big open fire, maaaasiivve couches, endless bookcases full of beautiful books. Really comfortable and relaxing, and makes it very easy to meet the handful of other guests if you're so inclined.

The gardens have all sorts of fruit trees, some very friendly goats and chickens which provide your breakfast eggs totally fresh!

We were in the Garden cottage suite, which is a glorious hideaway. It has a separate room with couch and another bookcase- ideal for lying up reading while eating the seemingly endless supply of treats that are dotted round the place.

Leaving the best for last.... The hosts, Alan and Amanda are some of the nicest people I've ever met, and truly gifted at hospitality. I thought about packing them up in my luggage, but have decided instead to claim squatters rights and just refuse to leave the lodge! The are sweet, funny and warm, always present with a bottle of wine, but never intrusive. Really did go the extra mile at every opportunity. They're the biggest asset this lodge has, and if I was the owner, I would be giving them shares in the business to make sure they don't get snapped up by someone else!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kjskathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

There are certain things that need to be enjoyed at least once in your life and one of those is a visit to a luxury NZ lodge.
We had the opportunity to enjoy the fabulous service at The Remarkables Lodge provided by Alan and Amanda at the end of our South Island road trip which had us criss-crossing the Island from lakes, to mountains, to the wild west coast glaciers to deep south fiords and there and back again, hobbit style but with a serious touch of luxury!
Our arrival was late on a Sunday afternoon after cruising the Sounds. We were met by Alan and Amanda and their junior helper, and shown to our luxurious suite, with soft but firm bed, stunning views across the Remarkables and a very welcome hot shower. A wonderful range of canapes were joined by conversation and a glass of excellent pinot gris in front of the fire - summer did indeed warrant the fire as the temperatures on clear nights dropped to single figures!
Dinner had been organised at Gantleys and Alan thought nothing about driving us to the restaurant and organising one of the staff to return us later that night (which will be reviewed separately and it was an excellent meal).
After checking into and clearing social media (not much coverage in the wild Sounds), we drifted off to sleep in a large king bed and soft fluffy pillows, heaven!
Monday dawned cold, clear and sunny. A fresh light breakfast of cereals, fresh fruit from the garden and tea and coffee was just what we needed as the sun rose over the peaks of the Remarkables, in the footsteps of the Fellowship.
We had to leave early to catch a flight home but will undoubtedly return.
A wonderful Lodge and fabulous hosts who could not do enough to make you welcome!

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views and noise is non-existent, just the sounds of silence
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Alan and Amanda together with Tim and Thomas made our stay a truly memorable event. We were a 20 odd tired group coming from a long wet drive from Christchurch. We were greeted warmly (actually with a roaring fireplace) into a cozy nest that felt more than home. Our needs for comfort were attended to without asking. Under the new management of Alan and Amanda, the Lodge boasts clean, hygienic living. To relax in a hot Spa or a steaming Sauna after a tiring sightseeing trip is what you get at the Remarkables Lodge. Alan or Amanda are always present to inquire into your needs. The Lodge is also equipped with a full screen Projection system that allows you to view movies if you wish to or your photos / videos taken at the Gondola or Skydive or your Jet boat ride. Alan provides you with information on things to do (or not to do) in Queenstown. You are also provided with FREE Wi-Fi high speed internet. Alan graciously provided us the use of his hi-tech printer when we had to urgently send a document to a waiting client. No questions were asked when he permitted us to do this which was most surprising. The view of the Remarkables from the Lodge is simply wonderful. We had BBQ on two evenings together with Alan and Amanda. We had ample car parking space during our stay of 4 days and 3 nights which sadly had to end. We've committed ourselves to staying at the Remarkables Lodge once again during Winter, next year.

Room Tip: The Rooms facing the Remarkables are cooler during summer. Maybe all the other rooms are cooler as w...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiboy146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

It's a home away from home, credit goes to Bryan & Colin,awesome host they are..... amazing rooms, wonderful view.

Just be careful with the rates, since our travel agent quoted a very high price, it's not worth that.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rashmi1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The lodge was under new management and they are wonderful people. Amanda and Alan were remarkable! They go out of their way to make you feel like you are at home instead of a hotel. They were generous and polite at all times. It seemed like you were visiting family not strangers. The place was beautiful and the room we stayed in was excellent. It's right outside of the hustle and bustle of Queenstown. The meal we had was exquisite and well prepared including the wine!! We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelsei n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We spent 4 days and 3 nights here in November and I can honestly say I have not had a better or more relaxing break away anywhere .

The room I was in faced The Remarkables with a picturesque vista overlooking the entertaining areas and farmland to the mountains , with patches of snow still clinging to the steep sides in the more shaded spots . Just beautiful !

Though the night time temperatures were still a bit chilly , the rooms were comfortably warm and the large open fires inside and out were well up to the task of providing the kind of warmth and ambience that only open flames can , sitting around the outdoor fire toasting marshmallows , especially with a drink or two was a great place to sit till the early hours getting acquainted with our fellow guests .

The tennis court ( which had just been brought back into service ) was private enough for me to play without embarrassment over how bad I really am at tennis and the Spa / Hydrotherapy Pool soaked out the muscle strain afterwards from not playing tennis for far too many years .

We had all our meals at the lodge and have only complements to all involved in the catering , from the fancy breads with breakfast to the snack platters and wonderful chef prepared feast on the night of our arrival , all was very tasty and lovingly prepared .

I had thought that arriving by car would give me the opportunity to get out and see some of the many local attractions but the Lodge was such an easy place to either relax at or be thoroughly entertained in that I never bothered going into the town proper . I do hope to return again soon .

Thank you Al and Amanda for making us feel so welcome and making our holiday experience truly memorable .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27757Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
5.2 mi away
Hurley's of Queenstown
Hurley's of Queenstown
#31 of 58 in Queenstown
416 reviews
7.2 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#29 of 58 in Queenstown
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Mantra Marina
Mantra Marina
#16 of 92 in Queenstown
552 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 43 in Queenstown
191 reviews
5.9 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#14 of 92 in Queenstown
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remarkables Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remarkables Mountain Lodge

Address: 595 Kingston Road | PO Box 2144, Queenstown 9349, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £52 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Remarkables Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a discreet and exclusive retreat, a sanctuary far removed from the bustle of this busy world. You've discovered one of New Zealand's exclusive lodges; Queenstown luxury accommodation in a spectacular setting with stunning mountain views. The Remarkables Mountain Lodge has all the facilities of a small luxury hotel but with the intimacy and hospitable ambiance of a country estate, epitomizing the New Zealand luxury lodge experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Remarkables Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing