We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - an oasis of calm in the adrenalin town of Queenstown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stylish, great service, decor and location, all delivered with a light, personal touch. Great hosts - Paul and Matt - whose welcome was as warm as the open log fire which greets you as you enter. Boutique in style with an old fashioned, homely touch - from the honesty bar and jelly bean jar to the library and home cooked breakfasts. Top notch, great value, highly recommended. Hidden gem - the spa pool out the back, overlooking the snow capped mountains!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbuDhabiLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

Having seen it mentioned in Lonely Planet, we stopped into The Dairy. They had a room available that night....It was Perfect! From the warm fire in the communal living room, to the warm tea that Paul brought us, to the warm oh-so-comfy bed with views of the snow-capped mountains we could see from under the covers, our stay could not have been nicer. It's not just the Place--which is awesome--it was the sense of caring we got from the people there. A great recommendation for dinner, a terrific breakfast in the morning. We felt really welcome at The Dairy. Too bad we didn't have more time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelAck99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Spent one night here at the end of our south Island trip for our honeymoon and it was excellent. Thank you Matt for your exceptional hospitality on our last night in New Zealand and I will always love being called ' Young lady'.... Excellent food, great location, cosy, homely, welcoming...i could go on... Wishing you the best of luck and the Dairy will be on my to do list for anyone lucky enough to travel to Queenstown.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friendlytips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

After hiring a car from Queenstown airport and driving the short distance to the city centre we arrived at The Dairy Private Luxury Hotel with no trouble at all. The Dairy offered free outside parking and we never had a problem getting a spot. We walked through the front door to the aroma of freshly baking brownies from the kitchen. The Dairy is a wonderful place to stay because it doesnt feel or look like a hotel. There is no reception area or desk, you literally walk into a beautiful warm and cosy lounge room (that in the afternoons and evenings has a wonderful fire crackling). Then through the lounge room are a couple of stairs passed the kitchen and up to the communal dining room. The dining room is actually the original corner shop building that has been converted and renovated into a warm and welcoming dining area. There is a small library area with plenty of reading material and you can close the doors, close the curtains and turn off the lights and watch tv or play a dvd from the small range they have available. There is also an outdoor spa (which we didnt use) and a small room for all skiing/snowboarding equipment to be stored and dried out that is easily accessible from the inside and outside.

We met the managers Matt and Paul who were absolutely delighted to meet us and show us around their beautiful hotel. The gave us extensive advice on dining options in town and tours to go on and throughout our entire trip they were more than accommodating to any needs that we had or questions we asked - absolutely nothing was ever too much trouble for either of them and Matt and Paul always gave us a friendly good morning chat and then would have a chat with us when we arrived back for the day to ask how our day was and to see if there was anything they could do for us.

The rooms themselves (there are only 13 in the whole property) were a great size with a king split bed, a small desk which holds the flatscreen tv, 2 comfy chairs, a suitcase rack and a large wardrobe that has both hanging space and shelves + ironing board, iron, torch, adaptor, 2 towel robes and tea/coffee making facilities with a great range of teas, coffees and hot chocolate to choose from (refilled daily). Rooms are serviced daily and a refillable glass bottle of water is placed in your room every day. There was a good sized ensuite with heated towel rack and combined shower/bath - the bath was quite deep and very long which was fantastic after a long day skiing!! There is room on the sink and a small shelf in the room to hold your toiletries and there is a huge drawer underneath the sink for any bigger stuff you may have. They also provide toiletries - shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and shower gel. The room light also had a dimmer dial and there was a heater which worked perfectly. Our room looked over Queenstown and onto The Remarkables which was breathtaking. There is also free wifi within the hotel and in the rooms and we didnt have any troubles with speed or dropouts.

Breakfast is served in the dining area and is a combination of continental (cereals, croissants, fruit, fresh juice) and freshly cooked, made to order breakfasts made with local produce (which were absolutely delicious and we ate every single morning). I will a special mention to the wonderful afternoon tea that is also provided at The Dairy (a selection of fresh juices, teas, homemade biscuits, brownies, cakes and muffins).

The hotel itself itself is in an excellent location. It is on a slight hill and about 100m walk down the hill towards town (on Brecon St) gets you to the top of the Brecon St stairs that lead you right into town. The Station (which is where you book ski passes and catch the various ski buses from) is located a short walk (about 2 minutes) from the bottom of the stairs and the infamous Fergberger is also about 100m in front of the stairs. There are plenty of great dining options in Queenstown and most of them are about a 10 minute walk or less from the hotel. If you walk up Brecon St, away from town you will quickly reach the Kiwi Bird Park and the gondola ride for the Skyline and luge rides (which are very fun for all young and old) - there is also bungy jumping done from up there.

The Dairy was absolutely the most incredible place I have ever stayed in in the world. It was warm and welcoming and at no stage did it feel like we were staying in a hotel. We felt like guests in a beautiful house with gracious hosts who would do anything for us. I would absolutely recommend The Dairy and the wonderful managers Matt and Paul.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Thanks guys! What a beautiful, serene place you have created. To be greeted at the door by name makes one feel so special. I definitely have to bring my husband down here just to experience this.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mands_22NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

A wonderful small luxury hotel......close enough to the main centre of Queenstown but very quiet and personal.

Matt and Paul are two brilliant hosts and will guarantee an attentive and classy stay!

We will not hesitate to return one day!

Room Tip: All rooms of the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatalieDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had 4 superb days with fantastic hospitality and breakfast to die for.
Rooms were immaculate and beautiful bed linen.
Location is spot on 2 minutes from town but away from noise.
Gourmet afternoon tea The Dairy is boutique at its best!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £151 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing