We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Paul and I think it was Matt (sorry if I got it wrong) made us feel extremely welcome and even though the advise and service was always readily available, we didn't feel intruded upon. The guys have a great way of making you feel comfortable in your (their) space without being over the top. Paul's skills in the kitchen with freshly baked afternoon tea and some of the best breakfast I've ever eaten are enough of a reason to stay at The Dairy. That and the cosy fireplace as well as the close proximity to all the 'action' yet far enough away to not hear a thing makes The Dairy my perfect escape destination. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Our room was fantastic and since it's the only room we stayed in, I can't comment on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jktaylor814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

Thank you Matt and Paul for such a warm welcome and one of our most enjoyable stays throughout New Zealand.

The Dairy is one of those places that provides an immediately homely and friendly atmosphere, where a lot of thought has gone into the detail that made our stay a memorable one. From the well appointed and welcoming public rooms, honesty bar, hot tub, outside fireplace and patio area to a great bedroom with a fantastic view of the Remarkables. This is a unique and special place to return to at any time of day.

In a great location just far enough away from the bars and yet only 2mins to the main restaurant /shopping areas and only 5 from the lakeside. How nice to go down into the town for dinner and then come back up to the Dairy, avail of the honesty bar and sit outside in the fading light by the open fireplace.

Nothing was too much trouble for Matt and Paul who provided thoughtful and pragmatic advice and guidance on a huge range of Queenstown activities, places and restaurants. Matt organised a Fly/Cruise to Milford Sound for us with a smaller more intimate flight specialist company who made the experience truly memorable (many thanks to Sean the pilot!).

Highly recommended, we'll be back and many thanks for posting an item of clothing that we had left behind. We wish you every success!

Mark and Ollie (Ireland)

Room Tip: One must have a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The Dairy was everything we expected and more. The rooms are furnished nicely, private and very comfortable. The library and lounge are wonderful. The breakfasts are incredible and the fruit in our room and in the lounge was a great touch for a quick snack. Paul and Matt were consistently helpful and friendly without being overbearing ~ the ultimate hosts. Location was extremely convenient. Absolutely the best place we've stayed in NZ.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Paul and Matt provide great service and are passionate in what they offer guests at The Dairy. From booking a great table at a local restaurant to a friendly chat without being invasive.

The room we had was not large but was beautifully appointed. We had a great view across to The Remarkables. Bathroom good though nowhere to put your toiletries bags. (we did find a drawer under the hand basin on the day we checked out)

The hotel is very convenient to town but this was a small downside at 3am when the backpackers in town were still partying in the streets.

We loved the communal lounge and library. On our arrival we happily curled up in the library with our books while enjoying the afternoon tea provided. A great way to stop after travelling and before hitting the town. The size of the hotel was perfect for meeting other guests and it felt like a family.

Alas, the wi-fi was unreliable and was off more than it was on. Slightly frustrating when I needed to quickly do a little work between holiday fun.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DominiqueMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is a tremendous Hotel, almost ideally situated in Queenstown.The standard of accommodation both the common areas and private bedrooms is extremely high. The cooked breakfasts and afternoon teas to die for. Paul and Matt's welcome service is top notch and the hosts cannot do enough for their guests: a great stay we wish it could have been longer. A superb find.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Paul and Matt run an exceptional place. Small and very personal hotel that does everything well.
Might appear expensive, but like all great hotels, you'll soon understand why.
If you go to Queenstown, it's a must do, if only to experience how hospitality should really be done.

Room Tip: Book early ~ it's very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon829368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This was my husband and my first trip to New Zealand with a magical four nights in the South Island at The Dairy. Our stay began with warm welcomes from both Matt and Paul, followed by great breakfasts, relaxing soaks in the hot tub, great dinners at nearby restaurants that they'd suggested, interesting visits with other guests, drinks in the lounge, time by the outside fireplace, and even a nap in the cozy library! The Dairy's location is a perfect spot from which to explore the area. Our room was luxuriously appointed with a comfy bed and terrific view of the Remarkables. We felt so well care for here! We will certainly recommend this lovely B and B to others. It was hard to say goodbye and we hope someday we can return! Sharon and Stan

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Remarkables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharOn1234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £151 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing