We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in NZ.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best in NZ.”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My partner and I stayed here at the Dairy Private Luxury Hotel for 2 nights and wish we had booked for longer. From the first minute, I arrived, both Paul and Matt were extremely warm and helpful. Our room, as promised, felt intimate, cozy and inviting and had a beautiful view of the Remarkables. What makes this place stand out over any other place we visited was the exceptional service and just the complete charm and friendliness of our hosts. Breakfast is a treat in the mornings and Matt can whip up something of high restaurant quality in mere minutes (how he does it, I have no idea - magic or talent, I guess). And even though there may be other guests staying, they have a way of making you feel very special and not overlooked. We also were able to store our luggage even after checking out for five days while hiking the Milford Trek. They offer recommendations on everything - dinner, what to do during the day, where to get quick bites to eat, types of wine, etc. I've seen some gripes about the prices, but when you realize all you get for what you pay, it's absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacetait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    67
    15
    1
    4
See reviews for
77
633
38
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wangaratta, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Do yourselves a favour and stay at The Dairy! You wake up to a supurb view, from your exceptionally comfy bed to have Matt cook THE most delicious breakfast of your choice. Afternoon tea is also such a treat. As well as the honesty bar, with a fabulous selection of local wines. The establishment is charming, warm and luxurious in every sense. It is truely a pleasure to have stayed at The Dairy with Paul and Matt, absolutely loved it. - Alicia and Stu.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms would be equally as comfotable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This place is expensive in Summer however Matt and Paul really look after all their guests!! The attention to detail in the decor and the room amenities is superb.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 804 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We spent four comfortable and cozy nights at The Dairy during a weeklong trip to South Island. I am SO GLAD that we chose The Dairy...it was just what we wanted it to be. See, that's the magic of the place: Matt and Paul are excellent at anticipating guests' needs and in responding quickly to make each person's stay as perfect as possible. They really ARE in the hospitality industry and inderstand the importance of guest services.

One of the hosts has an extrensive background in hotel management; one is a trained chef: what a great combination! Even though we had to leave obscenely early two mornings to catch the Milford and Doubtful Sound tours, they cheerfully provided us with hot breakfasts on those mornings, as well as the "normal" ones. (Frankly, I'd have been grateful for coffee and a bun those days--having the full continental ready for us, followed by a hot dish, before 6:30 am was a great luxury that typifies the level of service at The Dairy.) My one regret is we missed the afternoon tea most days...the one day we were there, it was to die for. Great scones!

The host made excellent dining recommendations and ask for feedback so they can follow up with the restaurants if any seem to be slipping in food or service. One night, after a long Sound tour, we told them we were just going ot pick up some Fergburgers...they said "Bring them back here and eat in the dining room," so we did, along with some drinks from the honor bar. Much better than eating curbside! :)

There is really nothing not to like: the wifi works well, the spa is a welcome relief after a long day, the location is SO CONVENIENT to town, yet relatively quiet (a few minutes uphill from the lakeside). The hotel is stylishly decorated but comfortable and inviting. The beds are very conducive to a good night's sleep.

Although there are differences in decor and style, the level of professionalism, care, attention, and comfort at The Dairy really reminded us of The Inn at Little Washington in Virginia USA. Perhaps in a few years Matt and Paul will buy another building and start a restaurant :) ! In any case, if we get back to South Island, The Dairy is a MUST-STAY for us. Take a look...you will not be sorry. We give it our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honu_Ohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Nothing was too much trouble for Paul and Matt. From the moment we arrived, the freshly baked scones and coffee. To dinner reservations and the comfy setting. One of the best yet

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brilea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Wonderful time in Queenstown a great place to stay and explore, and the only place to feel like a VIP in a good way, is by residing at The Dairy Luxury Hotel. Everything just perfect, breakfasts amazing, furnishings and ambience lovely, good stocked honesty bar, bedroom very comfortable, really the only place to stay in Queestown. Run by two great guys, who work so hard with smiles on there faces all day long. Nothing is too much trouble
I want to go BACK.... NOW!!!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Remarkables. There is a hot tub outside which faces them too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigglesister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Our stay at The Dairy was wonderful, in spite of the weather. The room was spacious with great amenities. Of course, afternoon tea was so good you want to be there to enjoy Paul's creations. The location is great with views of the Remarkables and the lake. Matt and Paul took pains to make sure we were informed of places to see and places to eat, then made sure we told them of our experience. If we ever return to Queenstown, there would be no hesitation about where to stay; it would be at The Dairy. Evan & Jennifer Wilson

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Property: The Dairy Private Hotel
Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing