We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Perfect escape”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A perfect escape for a weekend sans enfant. Matt and Paul were great hosts. A gifted bottle of Otago pinot noir when they discovered this was a birthday treat exemplified the outstanding service. Afternoon tea - the lightest scones - and breakfast were both better than many cafes or restaurants. Contrary to the last review, the room size was more than fine for the two of us. The view from the spa was magic, even with light rain. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamAntly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    67
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
79
644
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Sparkling clean. Comfortable bed. Great location; 2 minutes from everything but quiet. Outstanding breakfast, with a perfect omelette. Very good coffee, and highly anticipated afternoon scones. The room size was perfect for one, but might be a tad small for two.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Timetogetserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Dairy is one of my favorite places to stay in the world. Matt & Paul have impeccable attention to detail. The inn is spotless! I was totally impressed that they do everything themselves. The included/made-to-order breakfasts were not only delicious, but looked like something out of a magazine. Afternoon tea was delightful as well. My husband and I also made use of the bikes one afternoon. From the toiletries to the coffee - this place will be memorable!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Thinking of Queenstown? You will definitely enjoy your stay at The Dairy. Paul and Matt are the perfect hosts, making everyone welcome. The Dairy is the perfect accommodation on so many levels. The location ... a few minutes walk from the Gondola, the Kiwi Park, and the town, restaurants and lake ... it is just so central to this wonderful town.

I loved the breakfasts. Your choice of continental breakfasts, (you have to try the plumbs). After that you are offered a choice of cooked breakfasts. Mmmm the porridge was so yummy, I indulged each morning of our stay!!

While you are staying at The Dairy, you need to spoil yourself at least once to the afternoon tea ... high tea served from 3.30 - 5 pm which you can enjoy in the lounge or outside on the porch.

Our room was perfect.

Thank you so much Paul and Matt ... we loved our 3 nights with you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We decided to have a short get-away to Queenstown and wanting a small boutique hotel. The Dairy was everything we wanted and more. Thank you to the lovely owners for their hospitality and attention to detail...we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Dairy is a beautifully run boutique hotel. I would call it a bed and breakfast because of how at-home we felt with Matt and Paul, but that would deter from the professionalism and immaculate attention to detail that the entire place embodies.

We too stayed here before and after our five day hike on the Milford Track and we could not have been more excited to come back when the trek was finished. Aside from basking in the hot tub, we couldn't wait to get back to the amazing shower pressure, the comfy beds the breakfasts which were among the best meals we had in all of New Zealand (get the omelette!)

As hosts, Matt and Paul gave us great advice for activities and restaurants and took care of our every need during our time in their town.

We were truly sad to leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We really enjoyed spending part of our honeymoon at the Dairy. Matt and Paul took very good care of us! They helped us make some dinner reservations and scheduled some activities for us. We stayed at the Dairy before and after hiking the Routeburn Track, and were very grateful that we could leave our luggage while we were out on the track. They even put the continental breakfast buffet out early on the morning we departed for the hike! The common living room and library are lovely and we enjoyed chatting with other guests. The breakfast room is lovely and the food superb!

We made use of the bikes & helmets they had available (complimentary) and had a fun ride to Gibbston Winery.

The hotel location is excellent, just a few flights of stairs to get into the main part of town. It was perfect for us!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellieferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,454 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Property: The Dairy Private Hotel
Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing