We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still thinking about this place...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Our three-week adventure in New Zealand ended in July 2013, but I'm still thinking about the breakfasts at the Dairy! We started our trip in Queenstown and spent the rest of our time searching for scones as good as the ones that appeared every afternoon for the delightful tea. From the great selection of wine in the honor bar, to a perfect view from the hot tub, to the huge jar of jelly beans waiting for us at the front door, to Matt and Paul and their great recommendations for hiking, eating, touring--everything about this place was spot on.
My husband and I have travelled all over the world and have stayed in lots of amazing places, but this is the first time I have ever written a trip advisor review! A little bit of home, the right amount of luxury, and some seriously memorable eggs benedict! Love this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmagmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

You simply cannot offer better hospitality and service than Paul and Matt do at the Dairy Hotel. From the greeting and assistance at the door, to the thorough tour of the hotel and explanation of extensive amenities, to the complimentary WONDERFUL tea service. They suggested and reserved us a table at The Bunker (only one of the best meals we have ever had) and then made sure to tell us to go early so as to have cocktails at the upstairs bar. Breakfast is absolutely delicious - have the Eggs Benedict! Our room was large, comfortable, cozy with a wonderful view of the Remarkables. We wish we had had more nights to stay!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Edgecombek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

What a Wonderful find.
Matt and Paul make you feel so welcome.
Everything about The Dairy is pure luxury.
Beautiful rooms, very well appointed. The best breakfasts ever ( must try the omelette, yummy) you can walk to the town centre for shopping etc...
Matt and Paul are a font of information, everything from restaurants to adventure endeavors.
We highly recommend this lovely haven of a Hotel.
See you again soon.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

For us this hotel is close to perfection. We stayed for 5 nights at the end of a touring holiday of the south island and enjoyed every aspect of our stay. Others have said it all - great location, great accommodation, great food, and, with Paul and Matt, great hospitality - and they are all correct. We could find no fault and it was the perfect end to our stay in NZ. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

If I could give this B&B more stars I would happily do so. It is perfectly located, charming, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Its owners, Matt & Paul, are the consummate hosts: always nearby to assist, yet never intrusive. They were instrumental in helping us plan our daily activities, dinner reservations, scenic drives, massages, etc., From the delicious and hearty breakfasts each morning to the ample and delightful late afternoon tea, there is always the scent of something wonderful being baked in the kitchen. The bed was comfortable, the room intelligently and thoroughly appointed and furnished...everything one wants and expects in a B&B and rarely receives. I couldn't have asked for anything more or better, and as this is the end of our 2 week travels through beautiful New Zealand, I feel we are leaving on a spectacular high note. I couldn't recommend The Dairy any more emphatically.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesmartinNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

For me to give 5/5 somewhere really does have to be faultless - The Dairy was. We stayed here for four nights as part of our honeymoon in New Zealand and we simply did not want to leave as we knew nowhere else would be as good!

A warm and friendly welcome and first-class service throughout from Paul and Matt. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious and a great choice offered; the afternoon teas were divine. I need that scone recipe, I am still dreaming about them!

While it was top-notch and screamed great quality throughout - from the rooms, bed, toiletries, food, service, furnishings etc - it managed to avoid the pretentiousness you might fear would also come with that. We felt totally relaxed and at home, and made good use of the honesty bar (great idea) and hot tub, where we could sit out in the evenings with a glass of wine and watch the sun set over the mountains.

I read someone's criticism that there were not enough Sky channels in the room - well if you go to Queenstown to watch TV then there really is something wrong with you! I don't think we even turned the TV in our room on once in four days, but I don't go on holiday to watch TV. Also yes, it is expensive - but it is worth every single penny in my opinion.

Paul and Matt, you are doing a terrific job. We hope to come back one day!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the mountains, which was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skibunny_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Yes, the afternoon tea is very, very good (but after 2 days it looses its value). Yes the breakfast is very very good (but as good as our B&B in Wanaka, who charged 50% of the Dairy). Yes the service is very very good (but so was the B&B in Akaroa at 50% of the cost). The bed is good (the one in Lake Takapo was better but still very good at 75% of the cost). The point is this: when you charge $500 per night, everything has to be top class and perfect. And it never is…..The TV in the room does not have all SKy TV channels nor DVD (you have to go to the lounge for that). The bathroom is so small you can’t really leave your toilet bag in the bathroom. The windows don’t really keep out the noise from the street. There is no fridge in the room. The juice at breakfast does not seem to be home made, and the croissants are not warm/fresh. That is the kind of attention to detail I expect when paying twice as much for similar service and I did not get it. So…..sorry Matt and Paul: overpriced, even for Queenstown :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbrichau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £150 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing