We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Remarkable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Remarkable stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

From the moment we arrived Paul and Matt made us feel very welcomed and comfortable to enjoy The Dairy and all the nice touches on offer including a well stocked honesty bar, comfortable lounge area and library with a great view of the snow capped mountain outside.

Our room had a breath taking view of the mountains which you could see first thing in the morning from bed - well worth booking a room with a view. The room was small but very tastefully decorated (as was the entire hotel) and the bed was soft as a cloud. The nice touches were the lovely afternoon teas and cooked breakfast but the best part was the faultless customer service, nothing was too much trouble and Matt and Paul were more than happy to share their local knowledge and help you enjoy your stay. They are exceptional hosts and clearly passionate about what they do and an enthusiasm for everything Queenstown has to offer. After four busy days on the go and driving around Milford and Queenstown surrounds, it was a wonderful and relaxed ending to our holiday and would love to return one day!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    67
    15
    1
    4
See reviews for
77
633
38
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here on our wedding night and wished we had booked in for longer! Everything was perfect; from the luxurious room (loved the Molton Brown products), delicious breakfast and exceptional service. One of the best, if not THE BEST, places to stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

This is a very special place owned and run by two very special people, Matt and Paul. Entering the property one is struck by the understated yet elegant design. Sitting in one of the comfortable sofas, Paul describes the hotel's facilities. These include a computer hidden away under the stairs for those unfortunate not to have all the world's cares behind. An generously stacked honesty bar is available.

The rooms are very comfortable. Linens are crisp, fresh and the beds are so luxurious that sleep quality is assured. Plenty of storage space and good coffee/tea making facilities. Our room had a shower only and great Molton Brown amenities.

Breakfast has juice, fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurt before the joys of Matt's cooking. His omelette is so light and fluffy that I felt it might float away. Plenty of good coffee. Afternoon tea again exhibits Matt's lightness of touch if nowhere but in the scones.

It is, however, in their personal touches that this place is a standout. From restaurant recommendations through to activities etc they cannot be beaten. Everything they do is designed to please. I was desperate to get some possum cushion covers and they organised a friend to leave some samples for me to examine. Their sense of humour is refreshing and they are consummate hosts. I will return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We told Matt, because it was true, that we could not think of any way in which he and Paul could have been better hosts. Paul welcomed us with a tour of the hotel and a briefing about Queenstown. They booked a restaurant for us based on our preference and gave us a tea we loved (a meal my wife would usually skip, but she praised Matt for the lightness of his scones). The rooms are beautifully decorated and every detail has been addressed (Molton Brown products, excellent showers, an adaptor, lots of sockets). There is a well-stocked library and honesty bar with a good selection of fairly-priced drinks. Breakfast is excellent. Paul and Matt clearly enjoy what they are doing and they are exemplary hoteliers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamosa, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at The Dairy for two nights before heading off on the Milford and Routeburn tracks. On the return trip through Queenstown we where going to stay at a less expensive property but changed our plans to return to The Dairy. Matt and Paul are consummate hosts who do everything possible to make you feel at home. Toward the end of our eight days of tramping afternoon tea provided the motivation to get up the last hill. Both the cooked and continental breakfasts where lovely and delicious. The opportunity to have drinks on the patio with complimentary nibbles was an added treat. They also provided excellent restaurant recommendations and procured reservations for our group of five at Rata on short notice.
The rooms are not huge and not all have views of the mountains, but they are well appointed with comfortable beds, nice linens, etc. If you are going to Queenstown to spend time in your hotel room you should pick another destination.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank medgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Dairy for 3 nights. We had booked the hotel based on recommendations here on TripAdvisor. It turned out to be a fantastic choice! Matt and Paul provided excellent service. Anything you needed help with, they were there to assist.

The breakfasts were delicious. There was always fresh fruit, yogurt, and cereals offered as well as a hot breakfast option (you actually get to order from a menu). The breakfast time started at 7:30 am each morning and one morning we had a very early tour - Matt/Paul were up bright and early and we had breakfast at 6:30am.

We had room 7 which had a beautiful view of the Remarkables mountain range. The bedding was very high quality and comfortable. FYI - there is no bathtub in the bathroom, but this wasn't an issue for us. Toiletries provided were also very high quality.

Location was perfect - near the city center and within walking distance of pretty much everything. Skyline gondola is just a block or so away.

Queenstown was our last stop on our New Zealand trip. So glad that we stayed at the Dairy for our last few nights. I would highly recommend staying here!!

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LT0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My son and I stayed here for 3 nights in late January during a 10 day trip of New Zealand and it proved the best accommodation of the trip. It IS expensive but worth the extra. We had booked shared accommodation but were actually given separate rooms without extra cost so it worked out very well. Rooms are a perfect size, ours had magnificent views of the Remarkable Mountains - in name and appearance. The bathroom was perfect with Molten Brown accessories, my personal favourite. Spotless and well maintained rooms with beautiful furniture and gorgeous linen.
On arrival we were tired and dirty after a long drive and I headed for the hot tub, outdoor with the same magnificent views as our rooms. Paul arrived with a much appreciated glass of chilled white. A lovely touch. Breakfasts were to die for, plain wholesome food at a shared table. As much coffee as you could wish for, good coffee!! And the boys served us very early on Sunday as we were heading off early to the majestic Milford Sound.
I would highly recommend this hotel its warmth, welcome and wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: Ours had a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Property: The Dairy Private Hotel
Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing