We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hosts that provide the Most”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Hosts that provide the Most”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here, separated by an excursion to hike the Milford Track. While gone we knew our luggage and valuables were safely stored by Paul and Matt. They are the nicest hosts you can ever imagine. They are very professional and there to provide any service needed. Their breakfasts are really cuisine level, soooo good. If you wish to rest and read in one of the 3 lobby areas, you will be treated to a warm fire on a cool evening, or likewise in the patio. They know the best places to dine, and will arrange reservations, taxis, etc... for you. The rooms are so clean, you don't mind doing some floor stretches.
We visited this Hotel 2 years ago, and continue to highly recommend this cozy, well cared for place to stay while in Queenstown.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    67
    15
    1
    4
See reviews for
77
633
38
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

It was our fortune to stay in this delightful hotel/bed and breakfast. Superbly located close to all Queenstown has to offer the less adventurous Queenstown visitor as well as the thrill seekers. Matt and Paul need to be congratulated for their impeccable taste and hospitality, they are gracious, knowledgeable and superb hosts.
Breakfast delicious and afternoon teas sublime. We intend to return.
Great taste in music as well.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

After three weeks traveling in NZ, landing at The Dairy for the last few days was fabulous. Paul and Matt are artists in hospitality. Paul greeted us the moment we arrived, carted our bags to our room and thus began our lovely stay at The Dairy. It is not a farm - dairy is a Kiwi term for a small grocery/convenience store, which is how the hotel building started life in the 1920s. Breakfast and high tea are included in the price of the room and anything your hearts may desire is available by asking Matt or Paul to arrange it. Matt is a certified chef, which shows in the cooked breakfasts and the pastries at tea. Paul is the consummate host, arranging helicopter sightseeing trips, dinner reservations, bungee jumps or hang gliding.

The Dairy is very close to the center of town, has parking for several cars, and is quiet for sleeping. The rooms are a nice size, have electrical adapters in the room and the usual coffee making supplies as well as a lovely carafe of water.

We stayed at a lot lovely lodges and hotels but it is the personality of the hosts that won our hearts at The Dairy.

Room Tip: The premium rooms have the best views. Bathroom upgrades are underway throughout the rest of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBA575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Our stay at The Dairy was awesome. The only downside - we only stayed for 1 night!
As soon as we walked in and were greeted by Paul, we felt at home. The afternoon tea was delicious (the scones are soooo good!) Paul & Matt are the most gracious, humble and generous hosts you could ever hope for - nothing at all was too much for them!
We will definitely back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We went honeymooning in New Zealand and our definition of luxury is not always opulence. We have always preferred warmth and simplicity so if you're our sort of people, read on!

Location: The Dairy Private is up the Man St stairs and therefore, is exactly a 2 minute brisk walk to the lake and all the lovely world cuisine Queenstown has to offer. Its right at the foot of the hill which houses the zoo and the kyline gondola so you always have a head start in queues for paragliding, the luge or the gondola. The way the hotel is placed, it gives you a remarkable view of the Remarkables which always take your breath away

Services and amenities: Paul and Matt are extremely professional and oh so loving! They pamper you for breakfast and encourage you to try their boot at the Honesty Bar (the guests write down what they have consumed!). Our room was always impeccably done up when we returned and they thought of everything (there was even a hot water bottle in the cupboard lest you had a sprain with all ur activities!). They have a hot tub out back which I believe is operational till 10 (i suggest you use this if the weather permits. We couldn't because of the rains)

Rooms: Yes the rooms are a tad bit smaller than average but it goes with the whole old worldy, elegant and sophisticated theme. They only have 13 rooms so please make sure you book way in advance (booking sites did not show any free rooms and we chose our travel agent only because we REALLY wanted to stay here!) Believe me the whole feel of the place will NOT disappoint you

Food: I saw Matt and Paul in the kitchen cooking themselves at breakfast and you really can understand why you love this place so. It is because of the attention to detail and perfection that they have here. The omlette and the porridge was heavenly!

The Dairy Private is called so as it was the dairy for this part of Queenstown way back in 1920 and they have preserved a part of the old structure at the dining area (the windows and the door outwards)

Overall I had the best time here of all my stay in NZ and this can be an example for real Kiwi hospitality!

P.S. Ask Paul/Matt for suggestions on places to dine and tours and activities around. Their suggestions are excellent!

Room Tip: There are 2 types of rooms - one with the view of the Remarkables (priced higher) and the one withou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simplefern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

In our travels, we prefer smaller hotels and/or inns. The Dairy was one of the best anywhere ! Matt and Paul made us feel "at home". They are outstanding "innkeepers", operating their hotel efficiently with concern and care for their guests. Breakfasts and Tea were a joy ,highlighted by Matt's fine baking talent. The location and the hospitality of our hosts made this our best stay. C&D PDX

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CK W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Dairy is in a quiet location a few blocks away from the lake. It is an easy walk down to the hustle bustle of the lakefront, but a quiet getaway when you return.

Paul, one of the proprietors, provided superior service and advice on what to see in Queenstown.
the hot scones and tea in the afternoon war a great touch and the breakfast is fantastic.
We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Property: The Dairy Private Hotel
Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing