We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time in Queenstown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dairy Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Spent 3 nights at the Dairy followed by a night at the Hilton Queenstown. The hotel is a short walk to downtown, and a short walk uphill to the Gondola. It is very quiet despite being very close to downtown and the rooms were immaculate with small travel size molton brown toiletries. Breakfasts were wonderful, with a continental spread, and a cooked to order hot breakfast. On the whole, nothing was too much trouble for the hosts, and although you are paying a premium to stay here, it is probably worth the splurge for a few nights but at almost twice the cost of the Hilton some may find it overpriced.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Remarkables
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amit1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
There are newer reviews for The Dairy Private Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We recently spent 10 days on the South Island with another couple. We started out in Queenstown and spent 3 nights at The Dairy. It was the perfect place for us. Ten rooms, wonderfully appointed, a short walk to downtown, and fabulous hosts. Matt and Paul spoiled us with their hospitality and their incredible breakfasts. All four of us loved the place and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Queenstown.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. There is no pool but there is a hot tub. They do not have a restaurant but...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wittefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

It worth the price! The Dairy was the most expensive hotel we stayed in our 20 days trip around New Zeland, in March 2014, but without any regret. The facilities, the room, breakfast, Matt and Paul ... everything perfect. Confortable, spotless, delicious food, location more than perfect ... nothing can beat! We were "more than delighted".

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaraSouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

The Dairy was a fantastic experience. We stayed there for 4 nights and were completely spoiled by Matt and Paul. They were very attentive to our needs and helpful with recommendations on food and activities. The hotel was gorgeous and we spent every evening in the outdoor hot tub. The location was great too- 1 minute walk to town, but raised up on a hill, away from some of the city noise... We were intimidated at first by the price tag; we had never stayed in a "luxury" accommodation before. But I must day that it was soooo worth it! I highly recommend staying here!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Dairy is simply an outstanding experience. Matt and Paul (the hosts/owners) have created a luxurious, and friendly holiday destination.
Comfortable furnishings, quality food and wine and excellent made it a holiday to savour. Highlights include the afternoon tea, drinks from the honesty bar sitting in front of the open fire and chatting with guests from all parts of the world. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Trevor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was the best hotel stay I had during the entire trip to Australia and New Zealand. Matt and Paul are phenomenal. They are the consummate hosts. From the moment I entered and was greeted by Paul- we hit it off right away- to the time I left, they were both exceptional. The hotel, once a dairy store offers sensational views of the Remarkables and is located about a block away from the hustle and bustle of the vibrant city center. It makes for seclusion and a peaceful stay in a blissful retreat offering calm, serenity and easy access to most of what Queenstown offers. Matt made excellent restaurant and tour recommendations. They were engaging, yet respected guests privacy. Each morning Matt skillfully prepared for breakfast, a variety of delicious meals, cooked to order. Paul remembered my preferred choice for tea and confirmed it every morning just before serving me. Matt and Paul also offer daily afternoon tea with scrumptious baked assortments such as scones, cookies, fruit, and pastries. There is an honesty bar stocked with great wines and spirits. The hotel is spacious, yet feels cozy and intimate. It was fully booked when I was there but I rarely saw more than 2 or 3 guests at any one time. The charming Dairy Hotel is simply divine. I will be back and I will definitely recommend it to others seeking this level of style, comfort and relaxation.

Room Tip: Any room is fine, but if you're looking for a view of the Remarkables, then request one on the s...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrottingdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying 5 nights at The Dairy the first week of March. I can't say enough good things about the accommodations, the location, and our hosts, Paul and Matt. They have thoughtfully designed everything to cater to the needs of their guests. They and the accommodations are quite welcoming. The lobby area with its comfortable furniture, fireplace, and honor bar were a special touch. It was cool during our stay, and it was nice to come back in the evening to be greeted by a fire. Tea and scones were an added touch during the afternoon. Being a breakfast eater, I was delighted by their offerings. Almost every morning I enjoyed Matt's Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon. Although our hosts had much to do caring for the needs of all the guests, they never seemed rushed and always gave their full attention to each of us. They know the area well and can not only tell you about all the things to do but they will actually book them for you should you desire. We were in New Zealand three weeks and stayed in 7 different B&Bs, lodges, or hotels. I would give The Dairy the highest rating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dairy Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dairy Private Hotel

Address: 10 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#2 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Business Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £169 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dairy Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dairy Private Hotel, Queenstown is your perfect escape. Our boutique hotel is in the centre of Queenstown and yet private and quiet. The property is renowned for its excellent service from the minute that you walk through the door. We are able to assist with everything during your stay. We are happy to arrange forward travel, look after your luggage as you venture to Milford Sound or walk The Routeburn. Let us assist you with dinner reservations and some of the many activities that Queenstown has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dairy Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dairy Private Luxury Hotel
Dairy Private Luxury Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing