We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BreakFree The Point
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Handy location”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Basic, clean and comfortable.

good handy location to town and friendly host.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plumb209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Kia Ora and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at Breakfree the Point .

I am pleased that you your recent visit with us met you needs and you had a comfotable stay.
You are quite correct in regards to our location, the views are simply breathtaking and some may say the best in Queenstown.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Breakfree the Point when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind Regards
Craig Livingston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    86
    46
    20
    14
See reviews for
111
73
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here over Easter weekend in a 2 bedroom unit with teenage boys. Whilst unit showed some signs ageing and regular tenancy, it was comfortable with plenty of room and lovely lake front views towards Frankton Arm. Even though there was full occupancy in the complex, noise was minimal and beds were comfortable allowing a good night's sleep. There is a washing machine and dryer available in the unit and plenty of hot water for showers etc - no bath. Covered car parking is available under the units but driveway access is very steep and could be an issue in winter or for drivers not accustomed to steep hill starts with limited visibility onto the road at the top of the driveway.
Although comfortable, we felt the general condition of the unit let it down a bit for the price we paid but this could be easily remedied through improved cleaning and maintenance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

Very welcome to stay in a large well appointed apartment with great views of snow capped mountains. Yes in March. The management could take a little better care to ensure that all facilities are working correctly. A little inconvenient having to call the office for assistance. Apart from that the convenience of a short stroll to town is worth it. Will stay again if the opportunity occurs.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank densmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed with my wife in Feb 2012 for a week through a timeshare offer. For the amount we paid it represented good value, but felt the apartment was a little tired and it wouldn't have been worth the rack rate. There weren't many units occupied when we were there so access via the steep driveway wasn't too bad - it could get interesting in the height of winter.
The kitchen was well equipped and the views were magnificent (middle tier of units). The upstairs area got quite warm during the day, even when leaving the windows open.
Walking to town along Frankton Rd took 25 to 30 minutes, or a little longer by the lakeside track.

Room Tip: The 2br units in the middle tier appear to have the best views. The 3br units are closer to the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ochlophobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This motel is right next to the lake so you have a very nice view. Spacious room and bathroom. Everything seemed clean except for the big stain on the top blanket / comforter. The kitchenette is pretty much complete. Quite disappointed though that you have to wash up before you check out or you'll be charged NZD25. Didn't see that in other motels. It's a 30 minute walk to the town center via the Frankton Walkway (direct access from the hotel). It's a very nice walk when the weather's fine. But when it's raining and you had a little bit too much to drink, the distance becomes a hassle. They also had complete cable channels. This really helped when we stayed in because of the rain and nursed a hangover. If I go back to Queenstown, I'll look for a place nearer to town, but will still keep this motel in my list.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2012

One word... WOW!! This was the definite highligh of my trip. Absolutely stunning views, gorgeous self-contained apartment. Stayed here 3 nights, could have stayed forever. A bit of a steep driveway to get in, but overall, cannot complain. A beautiful home away from home, everything you could wish for and more. Loved it, would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Self contained apartment all the way :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank got_the_travel_bug82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom townhouse with family.
The house was huge with everything you need - fully stocked kitchen, two bathrooms, washer and dryer etc.
The location is beautiful - we had amazing lake views from our balcony.
It's a bit of a trek from town - 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteNHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#35 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#40 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
#20 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mantra Marina
Mantra Marina
#13 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree The Point

Property: BreakFree The Point
Address: 239 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree The Point 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.5 Kilometres from the centre of Queenstown, BreakFree The Point offers a range of holiday apartment style accommodation ideal for families, couples and groups. Queenstown is a vibrant and picturesque city sitting on the shores of Lake Wakatipu and surrounded by The Remarkables mountain range. Renowned for adventure, during winter Queenstown is a haven for adrenalin snow sports lovers while summer sees visitors tramping through the mountain ranges. For the adrenalin junkies jet boating, bungy jumping, river surfing, whitewater rafting and heli-skiing are on offer while walking, sailing, hiking, climbing, fishing, cycling, golfing, skiing and mountain biking offers something for everyone. For a more relaxed holiday there is a great range of shopping and over 160 licensed bars, cafes and restaurants to try with a number of options positioned along the shores of Lake Wakatipu. The resort offers spacious studio, 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments. All feature ceiling fans, double glazed windows, laundry facilities including an iron and ironing board and Sky TV. Most accommodation includes views of Lake Wakatipu and 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments have under-floor heating for the cold winters. Onsite guest services include secure undercover parking, in-room internet access and express checkout. Recreational facilities include a tennis court with lake and mountain views and a lakeside private jetty is just a one minute walk from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree The Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Point Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing