We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful & Quiet, Awesome Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BreakFree The Point
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
242 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Quiet, Awesome Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

This has to be the quietest place we have ever stayed, maybe we got lucky that not many other apartments were occupied but it was really peaceful. No traffic noise or people banging doors no elevators its perfect. Yes it is a little out of town, took us 22 minutes to walk in along the lake front was a fantastic view all the way. The driveway is steep but easy to manage as there are turning bays. If you have a car its a quick drive to town centre. We stayed in Apartment 4 which was a 3 bedroom although we were only to use two (as we booked a 2 bed unit). The apartment was really spacious, well equipped only thing missing was pepper & salt so please take or buy your own if your cooking. The rooms had comfy beds and some had electric blankets. The heater in the living area took a long time to heat up but once it did the room was perfect. We enjoyed watching the boats going past & the lights in the evening. Would recommend staying here, especially if you can get a lake view.

Room Tip: Request a lake view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Kia Ora nzsmith
Thank you for your recent comments regardiiing your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
The views are awesome as you have stated. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The driveway is steep but very manageable
We we love to see you back at Breakfree the Point.
Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    85
    42
    20
    11
See reviews for
108
69
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

WOW, was our first impression, we had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom 2 storey apartment, the view was magnificent you could sit there all day and look out over the lake. Apartment very spacious, well equipped with everything you needed. Very clean & comfortable. Sorry we were not staying longer. Only negative would be steep driveway, but didnt worry us. Not far from town you could walk along lake take you about 20mins, or 1km by car. If we ever come back to Queenstown would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Robyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Kia Ora Robyn O

Thank you for your kind comments regardiiing your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
The views are magnificent as you have stated. I am pleased that your stay was a comfortable and enjoyable one.
We we love to welcome you back any time.
Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the hotel manager Craig is the best man in the world in this business. Very warm & hospitable people, all facilities provided as listed and yes you can expect clear and honest advise on attractions & things to do. The views from the room are breathtaking. In short just book this hotel if you're staying in Queenstown, you won't go wrong.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Taher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Kia Ora Taher D
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
I am pleased that you had a good stay with us.
We are very proud of the complex and also offer the best advice to guests as you have stated.
Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We were so stoked when we walked into our room with the most glorious views, I sat there for 3 straight nights watching the twilight! We did not eat out once as we decided that there would be nowhere that could offer the same views as we already had. The furniture was very comfortable and staff very pleasant. The only negative would be the steep driveway and it is about 1km into town, didnt worry us though!

Room Tip: Unit 15 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiandraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Kia Ora SiandraW

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.
I am pleased that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.
The views are amazing as you have stated. There is nothing better i feel to sit on the balcony and soak up the beautiful scenery of the lake and mountains.

I hope that we see you back at Breakfree the Point.

Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bed 2 storey unit for 4 nights in February, the views are magnificent due to being elevated first line to the Lake. The steeply sloping drive in is a little daunting and I was glad I had an Automatic. Apartment was fully equipped and oversized with more than twice the space of a typical unit in NZ. I would rate the complex as excellent but it is let down by not servicing the rooms during the stay. For the sake of a bi-daily towel change and replenish on tea/coffee etc, the complex will continue to founder in Trip advisor doldrums when it should be top ten.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BO55YMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Kia Ora BO55YMR
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point. I am delighted that your stay was a enjoyable one.

The views from the apartments are quite magnificent as you have stated.
It is true that we only service when staying 8 nights or more. Our servicing conditions are below. This is standard throughout all Breakfree resorts in New Zealand and Australia . By doing this we can offer spacious comfortable apartments with value.
If your booking is for a BreakFree Hotels, Resorts and Apartments property your booking does not include room servicing unless your stay is for eight (8) nights or more in which case your room will be services on the fourth (4th) day of your stay.
Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We had a family of 7 staying in a 2 story apartment looking over the lake. Beautiful view and only a stones throw from the waters edge. Initial thoughts when you walk through the door, WOW, but if I was to be picky, the furniture didn't compliment the house style (modern looking house, older style fixtures and fittings etc) The only criticism of the stay was the steep drive from the main road, but otherwise loved it. Thanks

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gaz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Kia Ora Gaz N

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Breakfree the Point.

The views from the apartments are quite Beautiful as you have stated.

We have undergone a refurbishment of the outside of the apartment 3 years ago. The interiors are currently being undertaken.

I hope that you return soon for a stay at Breakfree the Point.

Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed at this resort, which is very nice. We booked through ANZCRO and received a voucher which included partial service each day, including towel changes. We gave the voucher to Craig (Manager) on arrival and he accepted this voucher and showed us to our room. We stayed for three nights. On the second night we had been out touring all day and had a full night booked. We come back to have a shower and our towels were not changed. When I asked Craig why the service had not been done he referred us to their policy. I referred him to the voucher he accepted. he argued the point and told us to take it up with ANZCRO. I felt his attitude was inappropriate and left us with a tainted opinion of Queenstown and certainly Breakfree. Shame, Shame, Shame. Ask for the small print.

Room Tip: Make sure you read the fine print for this resort, even if you book through an agent and they give y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown5, General Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Kia Ora RayWatson

Thank you for your comments. You have been responded to directly in regards to your stay.

I am happy to remind you of our servicing policy as follows:
If your booking is for a BreakFree Hotels, Resorts and Apartments property your booking does not include room servicing unless your stay is for eight (8) nights or more in which case your room will be services on the fourth (4th) day of your stay.

This information regarding servicing is also printed clearly on the ANZCRO brochure.

The information regarding servicing is not printed on Anzcro vouchers. I understand that it was on your itinerary that was issued by your travel agent and was incorrect.

Kind Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#35 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#40 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
#22 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mantra Marina
Mantra Marina
#13 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree The Point

Property: BreakFree The Point
Address: 239 Frankton Road | PO Box 1775, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree The Point 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.5 Kilometres from the centre of Queenstown, BreakFree The Point offers a range of holiday apartment style accommodation ideal for families, couples and groups. Queenstown is a vibrant and picturesque city sitting on the shores of Lake Wakatipu and surrounded by The Remarkables mountain range. Renowned for adventure, during winter Queenstown is a haven for adrenalin snow sports lovers while summer sees visitors tramping through the mountain ranges. For the adrenalin junkies jet boating, bungy jumping, river surfing, whitewater rafting and heli-skiing are on offer while walking, sailing, hiking, climbing, fishing, cycling, golfing, skiing and mountain biking offers something for everyone. For a more relaxed holiday there is a great range of shopping and over 160 licensed bars, cafes and restaurants to try with a number of options positioned along the shores of Lake Wakatipu. The resort offers spacious studio, 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments. All feature ceiling fans, double glazed windows, laundry facilities including an iron and ironing board and Sky TV. Most accommodation includes views of Lake Wakatipu and 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments have under-floor heating for the cold winters. Onsite guest services include secure undercover parking, in-room internet access and express checkout. Recreational facilities include a tennis court with lake and mountain views and a lakeside private jetty is just a one minute walk from the resort. Maintenance Notice: There is road works going on at the moment on the BreakFree The Point driveway for next few days. There might be slight disruptions occasionally. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. Kindly contact the hotel reception or me on below contact details if you face any difficulties at any point of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree The Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Point Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing