We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree The Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BreakFree The Point
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment for two nights. Although the apartment was in need of refreshing (note however that we had a discounted room), it was very large and well fitted out, extremely warm and cosy, had a nice little balcony with stunning views over the lake, and the duty manager was extremely friendly and helpful. Good quiet location overlooking the lake but also not far from town (after negotiating the somewhat exciting driveway).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Kia Ora PeteDude

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The views are fantastic as you have stated and the location is quiet and relaxing.
We would look to have you back here at Breakfree the Point.
Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    78
    39
    18
    11
See reviews for
103
61
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Staff helpful
The road to our room pretty steep and not much of a view but get what you pay for.
Seemed to be a lot of perminate residents there also so a bit noisy early in the morning when they left for work.
20 minute work from town and taxi was around 15 dollars to come back great value in that respect.
Decor and cleaning could do with some attention in bathrooms but part from that a relaxing stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fraynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Kia Ora Fraynz

Thank you for your review.
You are correct that there is a small number of permanent resident. I am sorry this has impacted on you relaxation. I can assume that you were in the studio and this is why you have been affected. I would love to see you back and would offer you a apartment so as you can experience the difference.
I have discussed the bathroom with our housekeeping team.
Kind regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Vic
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed for 6 nights.
On arrival we were about 7pm so reception had closed but contacted number and key was left in outside safe with all details that we needed.
It is on a very steep slope, but so are most things in Queenstown.
The jetty was handy for the water taxi and it is a lovely walk along the Frankton track. The walk into town is approx. 15 minutes, but we had a car so it was no trouble at all.
Great sized apartment, but only problem was that there was 2 bathrooms/toliets downstairs, but none upstairs.
We stayed in Room 14 which had no access from where the car was parked so had to transfer all suitcases etc. up the hill then the stairs. At the top of the stairs the outside light wasn't working, so needed to be careful in the dark.
Very quiet, even though it is close to a road - bedrooms were located downstairs.
All in all a good spot - no swimming pool which could of been handy for the kids as the lake is pretty cold for swimming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Kia Ora Gerry175
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you stay was enjoyable enough despite a few minor hiccups with parking and a broken light.
The rooms are quiet as you have stated and you are correct about the lake being cold. I take on board your comments about a swimming pool and we could certainly look at this in our long term plans for the complex.
We would love to welcome you back. Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I left a message after booking asking if it ok for someone to drop something off for me before my arrival. I got no reply.
We arrived at almost exactly the time expected (evening), but no one in reception and only an answer phone response from the wall phone. AFter standing in the rain for 10 minutes we tried again and someone pick up... advised key in the safe.
The TV does not work and no instructions on how to work it.
The furniture needs a serious clean.
The place feels like no one cares about the customer.
Will not stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Kia Ora GRPB
Thank you for your comments. We do take on board what you have stated and it is unfortunate that this has soured your stay.
As a small resort we have limited hours of reception. A after hours service is provided whereby your key and instructions are in a safe box outside reception and next to the after hours telephone. When you pick up the phone, it is diverted to a mobile. unfortunately, the phone was busy with another call.
The Television's are set on the AV channel required to view television. It would appear that you have used the television remote and not the Sky TV remote to change channels. This has defaulted the television of the AV channel.
I have discussed the cleaning with our housekeeping team.
Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Just wanted to highlight some little things about this place. Modern furnishings. Decent size kitchen and great views of The Remarkable and the lake. Has a jetty nearby for water taxi. Not close to bus stop. 20 mins walk to downtown queenstown. Some appartments on very steep slope. No good for people with walking difficulties. Balconies too small for number of guests. Wife cost extra. Comes with soap for washing machine. busy road nearby causing noise early in morning for some appartments. Good reception help.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Kia Ora Martin W
Thank you for your review. We value all feedback that helps us improve our guest expectations and experience.
Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curlewis, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

After travelling for two weeks it was so nice to stop for 4 nights in a row...and this location was a great place to unwind and enjoy Queenstown. As they couldn't accommodate 4 single beds in a two room apartment we were upgraded to a three room - wow wow what luxury. Fantastic views from every window. Huge living area upstairs and two bathrooms - with 4 women that was important! Only downside - parking was really difficult and the wifi a bit disappointing. However a quiet location and able to walk along the lake as the track was at the doorstep.

Room Tip: Weekly wi fi rates better value than daily. If you want to walk to dine/drink this is not a good loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeM2381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Kia Ora AngeM2381

Thank you for you positive review. I am pleased that you and your friends enjoyed the premesis and Queenstown. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights here in the 2 bedroom apartment in a party of 4. Views were just amazing! The lady at the reception was very welcoming and immediately pointed us out to the brochures for everything available in Queenstown.

The apartment was very functional and beautifully prepared. Washing machine and dryer were both located in the bathroom so it was very convenient. Location of the property was about 5mins drive from the town centre so it was quiet, yet you know you aren't far from everything.

We were allowed to leave our car with the property on our checkout day while we went on a morning tour and would only be back after noon time. Really appreciated the nice hospitality! Keep it up!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kento1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenstown5, Manager at BreakFree The Point, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Kia Ora Kento1985
Thank you for your great feedback on the property and staff. I really appreciate that you have taken the time to comment. It does make us happy that we are doing a good job and that you enjoyed your time at Breakfree the Point and Queenstown.
Would love to see you back.
Regards Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#36 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#41 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
#22 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.6 mi away
Highview Apartments
Highview Apartments
#11 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree The Point

Property: BreakFree The Point
Address: 239 Frankton Road | PO Box 1775, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree The Point 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.5 Kilometres from the centre of Queenstown, BreakFree The Point offers a range of holiday apartment style accommodation ideal for families, couples and groups. Queenstown is a vibrant and picturesque city sitting on the shores of Lake Wakatipu and surrounded by The Remarkables mountain range. Renowned for adventure, during winter Queenstown is a haven for adrenalin snow sports lovers while summer sees visitors tramping through the mountain ranges. For the adrenalin junkies jet boating, bungy jumping, river surfing, whitewater rafting and heli-skiing are on offer while walking, sailing, hiking, climbing, fishing, cycling, golfing, skiing and mountain biking offers something for everyone. For a more relaxed holiday there is a great range of shopping and over 160 licensed bars, cafes and restaurants to try with a number of options positioned along the shores of Lake Wakatipu. The resort offers spacious studio, 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments. All feature ceiling fans, double glazed windows, laundry facilities including an iron and ironing board and Sky TV. Most accommodation includes views of Lake Wakatipu and 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments have under-floor heating for the cold winters. Onsite guest services include secure undercover parking, in-room internet access and express checkout. Recreational facilities include a tennis court with lake and mountain views and a lakeside private jetty is just a one minute walk from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your BreakFree The Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree The Point Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing