We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view, and grounds.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
Ranked #44 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel has a lovely location and beautiful surrounding gardens. But, they have NO sign what so ever that indicates where reception is. When you go up the hill following the signs to the hotel there are many ways to go. We saw one building that looked like a restaurant but nothing for reception. Went into what we thought was the restaurant and sure enough there was a desk. I said was this reception and the girl behind the counter said, "Well I am at this desk aren't I ?" I thought that was a rather rude way of greeting potential customers.
Got checked in and inquired after the wifi, you get half an hour of free use which has to be used all at once. If you purchase more it is only $6 an hour but you also have to use that all in one go.
We had the breakfast the next morning, but I would not bother there are places in town with great looking breakfast you can buy for only $10. When we checked out the original person was not there and I mentioned how much easier it would be for people to see a reception sign, At least he agreed but I doubt anything will come of it. there are certainly many spots to put one . on the door for instance or on one of the post entering the parking area.
The room itself was ok, but the shower was a cheap plastic joke, unless you held on to it and showered with one hand.
I am glad we were only there for the one night. It is quite a ways into the centre of town, at least for walking when it is freezing cold and windy out, but there are buses.
they also say they have a free shuttle but when I inquired about a ride to the airport the next morning the girl behind the desk said they did not offer a shuttle. Which meant we had to keep the rental car until the next morning and get a ride to the airport from the car rental place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

We just left queenstown after staying here for 2 nights. The location is about 8 minutes from city centre and good for those who have their own vehicles. We had a great deal for our room. It had a fantastic view of the lake and mountain. The german lady receptionist was really really hospitable and gave us advice on things to do in queenstown. Thank you Miss.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YusriSafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed in a superior lake view room and it was lovely. The view was beautiful. We had a treat me voucher which is why we choose this place, but even the standard rates are great value, I defintiely recommend this place. It's a 5 minute drive to the heart of Queenstown. The buffet breakfast that was put on each morning was fantastic. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The only downside is that there is a shower curtain but we found that after shower the floor was soaking!

Room Tip: Superior Lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livwat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I think the view from our room is perhaps the best we have ever had. From our bed we could look straight over the lake and the mountains - it was just fabulous. A cooked breakfast was included in the reasonable price, and the staff were very good when we couldn't use our third booked night but another family member could.

My one reservation about Goldridge (apart from the traffic on the road which makes it a little difficult to whip across the road into it) was that the bathroom was a little lacking. Shower water was hot and it was easy to use, but I stepped over the bath to get in and there was no rail to hold onto and no anti-slip mat in the bath. I found it a bit discomfiting. There was also no holder for the soap.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Have stayed at other hotels in Q-town but saw the great deal at Goldridge ($110 for lake view room and breakfast daily) and decided on Goldridge this year. All the reviews for this hotel are positive and now I see why. Great service out front with an awesome hot buffet breakfast overlooking the lake. Gluten free bread available on request and plenty of vegetarian options in the buffet. Good quality bacon, yoghurt etc. Hot tub and sauna with option of private pool for $10 for 30 mins. Room was clean and comfortable with good shower (over bath). Housekeeping done without fail every day. Electric blankets, good heater, extra blankets. Free shuttle service that runs on the hour into town and back until about 9pm - great if you want to have a few drinks. About 5 min drive to town. Absolutely FANTASTIC value .. will be staying here every time from now on.

Room Tip: Ask for queen bed when booking (if a couple) otherwise there are a few rooms that looked to have 2 x...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

this very reasonably priced accomodation including breakfast was a great place to spend a few days. The staff were relaxed and friendly, the rooms tidy and the beds comfortable.The view was fabulous. After skiing we enjoyed the spa. it was a half an hour walk around the lake into town or a 5mon drive. They do have a free shuttle service. Only suggestion was to take your own pillow and the tv doesn't have sky channels although sport available in the bar. I'd happily return

Room Tip: Lake view including breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have enjoyed two visits to The Goldridge Resort in Queenstown, while on our working holiday, year long visa. We hope to return and stay with this hotel again. We have continuously been blown away by the wonderful staff. We know some of them by name and look forward to seeing Joe at the front desk and Silke and Zoe behind the bar! They offer a shuttle into the city and they give great tips on places to visit and dine. The rooms are clean and showcase amazing views of the Remarkables. We enjoyed the hot tub and sauna last time, which was a real treat for us! We want to thank the amazing staff for making our short holidays so memorable and enjoyable!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
3.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,489 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#35 of 59 in Queenstown
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
1.9 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road

Address: 594 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand (Formerly Goldridge Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#41 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £86 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldridge Resort is a beautiful spacious 75 room property with restaurant and bar that welcomes you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown experience. Located on a prime 5.5 acre ridge, looking over Lake Wakatipu with views of the Remarkable Mountains, just minutes from the airport and 4kms into town, it’s an ideal location for your southern experience and the perfect base from which to explore the essence of our beautiful alpine resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldridge Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing