We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price / great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great price / great views”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The room we had great views over Lake Wakatipu and lots of space. The decor was a little dated in the sleeping area but it didn't bother us - the bathroom was lovely. We paid, 100NZ$ and we were very happy.

We arrived after a day of kayaking so were very happy to hear that their was a spa onsite. It lived up to expectations with a wonderful spa/sauna facilities.

Reception staff were very helpful and left the laundry open for us later than advertised so we could go for dinner and collect our drying later on in the evening.

Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becksm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are very lucky we have great views overlooking Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkable Mountain range. Well done for taking advantage of our hot spa and sauna after a day’s kayaking, a lovely warm way to finish the day! We look forward to welcoming you back when you have the opportunity to come this way again. Best Regards Penny Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    156
    81
    31
    15
See reviews for
72
183
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
farnham common
Level Contributor
298 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Queenstown seemed to offer plentiful accommodation at very reasonable prices but the Goldridge Resort – effectively an hotel – was specially recommended to us. The room shown to us had super views over Lake Wakatipu and ample space. The furniture and decor was dated (especially the bathroom) and a little worn but was acceptable. The bar and dining room also offered a comfortable ambience and 180° views over the Lake. At the price we paid, 120NZ$ we were very satisfied. Unfortunately, the breakfast staff were conspicuous by their absence…..no-one appeared for about 30 minutes whilst salvers were gradually emptied; they were there (somewhere) but chose not to serve their customers! A real let-down for the hotel. Reception staff though were very helpful on both arrival and departure.

Room Tip: Rooms are of a good size with great views just dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear top contributor. We love our 180 degree views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkable Mountains. Our team work hard to keep the hotel clean and we update at every opportunity with 15 rooms just getting new curtains yesterday. We are busy refurbishing bed linen in 20 rooms in the coming month. We also pride ourselves on our friendly efficient staff that appear to have deserted the front line on Saturday. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Penny Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The best part of this hotel is the view! It is simply amazing - looking out over the lake and mountains was like a postcard. The room was simple, clean and comfortable. Really enjoyed the spa and sauna facilities - great after a day skiing. The location made it very handy to town. It is also great value for money compared to other hotels in Queenstown - we would return here and recommend it to others. We really enjoyed our stay :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joc186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest, we are pleased you enjoyed the mountain sparkle dust we sprinkle most mornings before you pull those new curtains back. Watching the TV in the spa is also a great pass time when you have a relaxing moment after an exhilarating day in Queenstown. We look forward to welcoming you back. Penny Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

On the road out of town but only 5 minute drive to Queenstown. Bit hard to find due to lack of signs but this was normal in New Zealand . Large well equipped rooms but limited parking as it a bus tour hotel. Had dinner there both nights & the meal was the special of the night good food and service at reasonable pricing. Staff found a coffee plunger for us as we are both coffee drinkers and had ground coffee with us. Laundry and Wi Fi on site.Best Rooms are at the back no view but no road noise either. Would stay there again.Staff were very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogergary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you Roger for this positive response. Finding us from town is certainly challenging and one needs to start looking for signage at 3.5 km and the road Goldfield Heights. Our parking facilities enable coach drivers to park coaches and stay with us themselves. We are not really designed to cope with lots of groups. Great to see our staff accommodated your need for a caffeine fix. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here two nights and had a lovely big room with a great view over the lake. It was a bit hard to find initially as the sign is on a hill around a bend, and it's not near the centre of Queenstown but they do have a shuttle bus which was very handy as it saved us trying to find a carpark in town during the day. The curtains and artwork are a bit dated but the room was clean and the beds very comfortable with electric blankets (we had 2 queen sized beds in our room). The shower was nice and hot and it was good to have a towel heater in the bathroom. Overall we enjoyed our stay here. It was nice and quiet and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. The shuttle bus is very helpful to get to town and it also helps to get you back if you have had a night out! We have just ordered the fabric for the new curtains for our superior lakeview rooms which will replace our 1994 versions!! Our housekeeping team is doing a great job. We are pleased you appreciated the cleanliness. Hope you get a chance to come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel has a lovely location and beautiful surrounding gardens. But, they have NO sign what so ever that indicates where reception is. When you go up the hill following the signs to the hotel there are many ways to go. We saw one building that looked like a restaurant but nothing for reception. Went into what we thought was the restaurant and sure enough there was a desk. I said was this reception and the girl behind the counter said, "Well I am at this desk aren't I ?" I thought that was a rather rude way of greeting potential customers.
Got checked in and inquired after the wifi, you get half an hour of free use which has to be used all at once. If you purchase more it is only $6 an hour but you also have to use that all in one go.
We had the breakfast the next morning, but I would not bother there are places in town with great looking breakfast you can buy for only $10. When we checked out the original person was not there and I mentioned how much easier it would be for people to see a reception sign, At least he agreed but I doubt anything will come of it. there are certainly many spots to put one . on the door for instance or on one of the post entering the parking area.
The room itself was ok, but the shower was a cheap plastic joke, unless you held on to it and showered with one hand.
I am glad we were only there for the one night. It is quite a ways into the centre of town, at least for walking when it is freezing cold and windy out, but there are buses.
they also say they have a free shuttle but when I inquired about a ride to the airport the next morning the girl behind the desk said they did not offer a shuttle. Which meant we had to keep the rental car until the next morning and get a ride to the airport from the car rental place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We just left queenstown after staying here for 2 nights. The location is about 8 minutes from city centre and good for those who have their own vehicles. We had a great deal for our room. It had a fantastic view of the lake and mountain. The german lady receptionist was really really hospitable and gave us advice on things to do in queenstown. Thank you Miss.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YusriSafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
3.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#39 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
1.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road

Property: Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
Address: 594 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand (Formerly Goldridge Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldridge Resort is a beautiful spacious 75 room property with restaurant and bar that welcomes you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown experience. Located on a prime 5.5 acre ridge, looking over Lake Wakatipu with views of the Remarkable Mountains, just minutes from the airport and 4kms into town, it’s an ideal location for your southern experience and the perfect base from which to explore the essence of our beautiful alpine resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldridge Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing