We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best garlic bread!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
Ranked #43 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I spent a night here, and found it very comfortable. The restaurant serves the best garlic bread I have ever tasted. The staff were pleasant and the facility's above average. Great food too, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAMember07242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Goldridge Guest, thank you for your comments on the garlic bread, Chef was very chuffed! I'm glad to hear you had a comfortable stay also, we hope to see you back with us in the near future. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

We enjoyed our 5 day sty at Goldridge Resort. The staff were efficient and personable and the restaurant/bar comfortable and convivial with excellent food on offer. Our premium room with view of the lake was very clean and comfortable and room service was excellent. One criticism is that as there are no cooking facilities it was quite expensive to have to have breakfast in the restaurant or outdoors, so the provision of some bowls and spoons for cereals would have been a bonus. Parking was no problem and the courtesy van service to/from Queenstown was very useful. We would not hesitate to stay at Goldridge again

Frank & Jean Jones

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Frank & Jean, thank you very much for this warm review. I'm pleased to read you had a good time with us at the Goldridge. We do not provide bowls and spoons in our rooms but you are more than welcome to see one of our restaurant staff and borrow cutlery from our Bistro 594. We hope to see you again in future. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is a lovely little hotel, with nice rooms and friendly, helpful staff, but the waitress ruling over the hotel breakfast was grumpy, unhelpful and rude. I ordered one of the la caste breakfast dishes advertised on Goldridge's website and then I asked if I was allowed to have a coffee from the counter with that. Grumpy Waitress said yes, of course, but that I would have to get it myself because she wasn't going to. Then, while I was pouring my coffee, Grumpy Waitress returned with a piece of paper she needed me to sign immediately. She waved the paper and a pen in front of me while I was still pouring the coffee, demanding that I sign immediately. I asked what it was for and she said some guests try to leave without paying their breakfast bill. She glared at me. So I stopped pouring my coffee and signed her piece of paper. I found out when I went to pay for my breakfast that Grumpy Waitress had charged me for that coffee after all, and that was why she'd been so keen to get my signature.
A shame really -- this is a nice hotel, but I won't be back. Grumpy Waitress gives bad service and charges for things she has indicated are included -- I shudder to think what she does if she's on reception and feeling spiteful.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smile1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Goldridge Guest, thank you for taking your time to post this review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and our staff were helpful to you, but it appears we failed with your breakfast experience. We sincerely apologise for this, it is certainly out of the normal, we will endeavour to find out what caused the grumpy mood and correct the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My partner and I spent 4 nights here in a lakeview room, it was absolutely amazing. Bedroom was spacious & clean with an amazing view to wake up to. We rented a car for the duration of our stay so it was nice getting in and out of town, only a 5 minute drive. Goldridge had everything required, prompt room services, spa & sauna as well as buffet breakfast. Great customer service from all staff members. We were able to use the dvd player with a range of dvds to chose from if we wanted a night in. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASMA1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Goldridge guest, thank you very much for this great review. Fantastic to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Goldridge. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is clean and offers a spectacular view of the lake and mountains. We had a car otherwise I would be concerned about getting to the city center on foot. It's not too far but the road is busy. I'd suggest you order a room in advance, hard to get a deal close to weekends when even the most expensive rooms are taken. Price ranges 100-130 US.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you Marina for posting this warm review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Goldridge Resort. We do have a complimentary shuttle vehicle that takes you to town in the morning and early evenings and also picks you up when pre-arranged. It’s a great service if you combine it with a one way walk along the walking track beside Lake Wakatipu, with lovely spots to sit and enjoy breathtaking views of the lake and the Remarkables mountain range. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Upon arriving at our accommodation we were welcomed with a smile and found the Receptionist very friendly and helpful. Nice rooms and a great view. I would recommend staying again in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you Amy for this positive response to the resort's facilities and services. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Between Queenstown and Frankton so unless you are on a coach trip a car is essential. Good rates and the rooms were fine. Clean and tidy and helpful staff. They have a tennis court and a nice indoor spa pool . We also found the room rates very reasonable for this time of year.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms have the better aspect. The views to the Remarkables are captivating. Our room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you Martin for this positive review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Goldridge. It is great to be able to share this with the team. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,457 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
1.8 mi away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#36 of 59 in Queenstown
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#35 of 59 in Queenstown
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road

Address: 594 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand (Formerly Goldridge Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £89 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldridge Resort is a beautiful spacious 75 room property with restaurant and bar that welcomes you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown experience. Located on a prime 5.5 acre ridge, looking over Lake Wakatipu with views of the Remarkable Mountains, just minutes from the airport and 4kms into town, it’s an ideal location for your southern experience and the perfect base from which to explore the essence of our beautiful alpine resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldridge Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing