We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough, but not really a resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
Ranked #44 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed two different times within one week at the resort as we used it as a 1 night stopover on the way to Te Anau and then for 2 nights before we flew back to Auckland. The first night we had a bed that needed replacement as my husband had to fight rolling into the middle. The same room had a broken toilet. The toilet was reported as was the broken heating pad and I'm sure that they have plans to fix both. The bed may take a longer time to replace to fit their schedule.

The second visit we had a much nicer room - granted I asked for a different room than the first to ensure we'd not have a repeat experience. The bed and heating pad were all fine as was the toilet. :)

If you purchase their continental breakfast be sure to ask for the ham and croissants as they don't seem to put them out until someone asks for them, even though they are advertised as an option.

We made use of their shuttle into town during the first visit and it worked well. The second time we stayed at Goldridge we just drove our own car into town.

I state in my title that Goldridge Resort isn't really a resort as I envision one. I did see a tennis court and I read that there was a spa somewhere but those amenities are definitely secondary to the restaurant and rooms. It's not really a big place, but that was fine for us. I just got a little taken aback by the name as I figured it would be more grand.

One thing to take into consideration is that it is quite aways outside of Queenstown. It actually seems closer to Frankton so if you envision walking into town plan on a good amount of time to do the walk. This is why they offer the shuttle.

The staff are all very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TnTLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Goldridge Guest, thank you for posting this comprehensive review. I’m glad to hear that our staff were helpful to you. Thank you for high lighting a couple of concerns it helps us fix them so much quicker. The new beds are en route and we expect them about the middle of June to ensure we are nice and comfy for winter. Our first big dump of snow arrived yesterday so we are all getting excited for the skiers. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed two nights and found the room suited us. Price was very good for Queenstown. Room was basic but clean. Good bathroom facilities. Disappointed no sky TV as this is considered basic nowadays. Electric blanket didn't work. Needed in Queenstown at this time of year. Obviously not checked. Found parking similar to another review. Parking space when we arrived but cars everywhere when we came back later. Had to park aroung back in front of rubbish skip.
Good basic middle of the road accomodation. And yes will use again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank no1witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Goldridge Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Goldridge. I’m pleased to read you were satisfied with your room. Certainly housekeeping failed to pick up the electric blanket fault and for this we apologise, we now have the team being very diligent, so thank you for bringing this to our attention at the beginning of winter. Sky TV is available in our lounge and bar area so we do hope you avail yourself of this service on your next stay with us and don’t forget we offer free Wi-Fi in our superior rooms during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Clean, comfortable and provides all the basic facilities. The wifi was a slight disappointment, as it was a limited supply but advertised as free. The free shuttle into town would be a handy option in peak season, but in off-peak season parking is manageable in the city centre anyway.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Monique4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Monique, Thank you for your time to post this review. I’m glad to hear you had a comfortable stay and apologise for any confusion regarding the WiFi. We do provide free unlimited WiFi in all our superior rooms. Otherwise there is an option of 250MB free WiFi per stay in our standard rooms. Every attempt is made to ensure this information is highlighted on all booking sites (including our own) to avoid misunderstanding. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed in a lake view room for one night. Loved the view and found the room to be clean, spacious and comfortable. The shower was average, it did the job. When we arrived, there was parking space outside our room but we went into town and returned later in the evening and there was cars everywhere and no space to park close to our room. Other than that, had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiamhH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Goldridge Guest, Thank you for this warm review. I’m glad to hear that you found your room comfortable and enjoyed your stay at the Goldridge. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Honestly this motel felt more like a hostel. Have stayed in many youth hostels which are much nicer. Room was relatively clean but felt dated. Walls were very thin and could hear everything in the room next door. Think the mattress on the bed was from the 1960's - been a long time since I've slept on a bed you can feel the springs through. On a positive note there was a nice view of the lake and a track you could walk into town in about 45 mins. The hotel also offered a free shuttle service each hour if you wanted.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank summerdreams365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Goldridge Guest, we appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the view, the Frankton track is one of the most popular tracks in Queenstown. The property does still have some rooms that need a makeover. This an ongoing project which we do in the quieter months of May and June. This means we are awaiting some more new beds and linen along with heaters for the superior bathrooms. Our public areas are also about to start a revamp. All very exciting for the property, so we hope on your next visit we can meet your expectations. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The location was convenient for getting to the city and the airport. We got a last minute deal online but I still feel like we paid too much. The room was dated and cheaply built, and the bathroom terrible. Our bed was quite springy and uncomfortable. We had a room overlooking the tennis courts which was fine except the walls did not provide much sound barrier for the kids playing outside at eight am. Parking is also very limited and most people in our section put their cars along the driveway in any way that could fit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRC-WJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Goldridge Guest, Thank you for your time to post this review. YES we agree the bathroom could be so much better so we are pulling it out this month and replacing it with a new one.It is a little quieter in Queenstown at the moment and an ideal time to fix a problem area. So in future our budget rooms will have new bathrooms so we appreciate your bringing this to our attention. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The room and location was ok, but one thing i was really unhappy is I didn't get my room served, which I asked for it. No one came to clean my room, no clean towels. Receptionist don't care customer's complains!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuiRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Goldridge Guest, Thank you for taking your time to offer feedback about your recent stay at the Goldridge. I'm very sorry to hear of your room service experience. I can assure that this was not up to our usual standards. I will be following up with our housekeeping staff to ensure they cannot miss a room in the course of their duties, to ensure it does not happen again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Kind Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
1.9 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
1.8 mi away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#35 of 59 in Queenstown
674 reviews
3 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#21 of 59 in Queenstown
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road

Address: 594 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand (Formerly Goldridge Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#41 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £99 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldridge Resort is a beautiful spacious 75 room property with restaurant and bar that welcomes you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown experience. Located on a prime 5.5 acre ridge, looking over Lake Wakatipu with views of the Remarkable Mountains, just minutes from the airport and 4kms into town, it’s an ideal location for your southern experience and the perfect base from which to explore the essence of our beautiful alpine resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldridge Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing