We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Trelawn Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trelawn Place
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Amazing!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had our wedding at trelawn in dec 2011, it is a truley amazing place, the views are spectacular and the rooms are 5 star, We couldnt ask for a better place for our special day! Nery and Michael were awesome, they put together a wedding package and everyone that went loved it. They were very helpful and perfect hosts we would recommend staying here it is a real gem.

Room Tip: Pick any room they are all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    20
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
49
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed here back in 2008 and had a great time! I was there in the winter time and was very cozy. I thought the location was very good. Yes, it is outside of Queenstown, but the drive is short and scenic. I was just there on holiday but this place would be great for weddings, honeymoons, anniversaries, etc. The owners are extremely friendly and were able to recommend lots of things to do. Definitely give this place a look.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Trelawn Place is a real gem! Nestled on top of Arthur's Point, just 5 minutes out of Queenstown, it is a world class establishment run by professionals that the whole family can enjoy. The view of the Shotover River and Coronet Peak is almost out done by the best roses I have ever seen in a private garden! We stayed in The Apartment, two adults, a teenager and a ten year old. There was plenty of room and we were all comfortable and able to find our own space around the property. After a day of hectic adventuring in and around Queenstown the Trelawn is the perfect place to unwind. We loved the spa that overlooks the Shotover and the walk down to the River (accompanied by a corgi). Nery and Michael are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble and the breakfasts are delicious! We will definitely be back .... soon.

Room Tip: Get Tiggers Tree house if you are a romantic couple, it's sooo beautiful! However, all the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Myself, my flatty, my nephew and his g/f all went down to Queenstown for a long weekend. I found Trelawn just by chance after phoning around a few places in Queenstown to see if I could book somewhere that would allow us to bring our four legged hairy baby (George) along too. Michael and Nery were more than happy for us to bring George.
The property is set in absolutely beautiful scenic setting, the views are breathtaking and it's only about 5 minutes drive fron Queenstown. We were greeted by Nery and their own hairy babies on arrival and shown to our lovely, cosy cottage to the side of the main house. Michael had the fire going for us and the electric blankets on in our beds..lovely!
George was a bit aprehensive at first with Rusty and Sara (the resident corgi's)...I think an unspoken pact was eventually agreed...stay out of way while the messy bulldog eats his dinner on the porch.....wait till the coast is clear and QUICK get in for the leftovers ha ha it seemed to work for them.
We had a pretty busy day on the Sat in Queenstown but got back to the cottage just after t to find fire had been re-stocked for us and George was happily snoring in front of it (litte did we know that Michael and Nery had taken him out for a stroll in the afternoon....they didn't get too far ha ha lazy bulldog!). After a few tipples we headed down to the outdoor jacuzzi to relax and watch the shooting stars until our bones were relaxed and our skin resembling that of a prunes! The following day we headed up the mountain for a spot of snow boarding, which is only about 15 min away in the car and we managed to squeeze in a bungee jump before heading back to the shakey ground of Christchurch.
This was an excellent weekend, our accommodation was brilliant, cosy and warm. Michael and Nery are great hosts who make you feel welcome, comfortable and happy.
We could have happily stayed another week or 2. We will definately be back again, I would highly recommend this accommodation to all and for those who are responsible dog owners (there are some that ruin it for us others...prob why it's so hard to get accommodation that will take pets!!) , Michael and Nery go out of their way to make ur four legged baby's welcome too.
Thank you so much for having us! We can't wait till our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan9780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We are Queenstown locals and chose Trelawn for our wedding and reception and are so glad we did. Nery and Michael were great hosts and so helpful in the lead-up to the wedding. We hired the whole venue so that our families could also spend the night of the wedding there and they all loved it. Breakfast in the morning was great too. We would definitely recommend this b+b for anyone looking to stay in a beautiful location just a short drive out of Queenstown.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausnic80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I have read everything about how beautiful this place is, and boy, was I blown away when I saw it for myself! This has to be the most beautiful place I have ever lived in. The garden was maintained by the owners Michael and Nery to perfection. Among the plants were roses, and an apple tree (I wanted to pluck one to eat but managed to stop myself). The hosts made us feel really at home (ok, if my home is in heaven).
Its was raining and cold when we arrived. Michael and Nery welcomed us with some hot tea and cakes, and we had a little chat at the fire place. Their 2 dogs were very friendly and kept wanting to snuggle up to us, though the 2 cats couldn't care less! Afterwards we were shown our room (we had the Floydies room). It was a lovely country-styled room with an attached toilet . I don't find the furniture dated at all. I think they add to the charm. O, and there is free wifi!
Despite its secluded location, it is just a short 5-minute drive to town. This is a fantastic place in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minigingerbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

The place is beautifully located overlookiing the Shotover river and if you have a car (and most people who stay there do), you are very central to all the sites. We have stayed at the Cherry tree cottage which has all the things you could hope for including a spa bath, DVD player for the rainy afternoons (we had a few) and a fireplace. At breakfast on the deck overlooking the speedboats on the river below we were accompanied by the two resident dogs and a cat who felt she owned the place. It was a very beautiful and convenient base.
One suggestion is that the windows should have flyscreens - without them you face the choice of being eaten alive by mosquitos or leaving the place with no ventilation. The latter creates a musty smell which is not that appealing and gives the cottage a bit of a dated feel. The kitchen utensils could also be updated to change the feel of the place to a more up market level befitting the price. Finally, we were rather amused that the beautiful garden next to the cottage is actually a pet cemetery but some guests may find that a little spooky.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trelawn, Owner at Trelawn Place, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Thank you for your review.
Following a similar suggestion last week, we went and brought a new lounge suite. We are at the moment doing renovation for all the cottages so we will very much keep your thoughts in mind.
The insects you may have encountered are sand flies, these appear only prior to it raining. We are lucky not to get mosquitoes here.
All the best with your traveling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
2.5 mi away
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
2.4 mi away
Coronet View Accommodation
Coronet View Accommodation
#47 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Canyons Lodge B&B
The Canyons Lodge B&B
#30 of 90 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
14.3 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#3 of 44 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawn Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawn Place

Property: Trelawn Place
Address: 35 Watties Track | Arthurs Point, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Trelawn Place 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelawn Place is a country home 5 minutes (4km) drive from central Queenstown. 11 Km from the Queenstown Airport. (20 Minutes). We offer luxury self contained accommodation in our very popular Cherry tree house, our honeymoon cottage that can sleep four people and our garden apartment can sleeps three. All in a very private location,we are very popular for weddings. Nery and Michael are well traveled hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trelawn Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing