We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eichardt's Private Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

I really enjoyed staying at Eichartds because the staff were very kind and welcoming.One blonde girl stood out because she was cheery and happy to see us.
The tapas is beautiful if you are just in the mood for being a bit peckish. The lunch has an amazing range of wonderful foods.
For me the breakfast is absolutely beautiful!
The rooms are spectactular.
I will be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a lakefront apartment update or a room with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnabelTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Dear AnnabelTravel11

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Eichardt’s Private Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us, we are exclusively positioned in the prime waterfront location in Queenstown, and we strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel. I will be passing on your feedback to the staff, and our menus change seasonally – so there are always exciting new options for when you stay with us next time. Merry Christmas from the staff at Eichardt’s and we look forward to seeing you next time

Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    15
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
54
155
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Great apartment - comfortable, modern, everything we needed.

Service was EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Apartment has a great lake view and near all of the action downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear Jeffrey K

Thank you for your review of Eichardt’s Private Hotel and Lakefront Apartments. I was pleased to see you had a great experience with us, and that you received excellent service. I am glad you loved the view from the apartments – it truly is a unique and exclusive setting with views to Queenstown Bay, the Gardens, and surrounding mountain ranges whilst not being too far into town to be affected by noise. I appreciate the time it takes to post a review and we look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt’s.

Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

My husband and I were impressed with our stay. The decor is gorgeous and the staff go out of their way to help. Adam and Beth were very kind and nothing was a problem. Our suite looked over the lake - just lovely! Perfect in queenstown

Room Tip: Lake side room have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitlock22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Whitlock22

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Eichardt’s Private Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience with us, and I appreciate your kind comments for Adam and Beth – they are both fantastic members of our team! Our approach at Eichardt’s is that nothing is a problem, and we make sure our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay whilst in Queenstown. Our team is committed to impeccable guest service in every aspect, every day. I look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt’s

Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

In a nut shell - stunning service, water location is charming, and rooms are gorgeous. Superb

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilyh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Emilyh55
Thank you for placing feedback regarding your stay with us at Eichardt’s Private Hotel in Queenstown. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience and I appreciate the kind comments. We have an enviable position with the best views available in Queenstown and matched with our gorgeous suites taking full advantage of the postcard views available from each suite it is a truly delightful hotel. Make sure to check out what is on offer this Christmas and New Year at Eichardt’s as we have lots of tantalising menus and promotions on offer. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again at Eichardt’s

Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We had a lovely trip to New Zealand; a highlight was staying at the Eichardt's Private Hotel in Queenstown. Our family (2 adults, 2 children ages 7 and 9) stayed in one of the 'apartments' a short walk from the main (5 room) hotel. It was perfect for us: 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a nice spacious family room with kitchenette. Every amenity provided. Our balcony looked directly across Lake Wakatipu to the stunning mountains; directly below we could observe our boys playing in the grassy area adjacent the beach. Every staff member treated us with the utmost attention and service; no request too big or too small. You are unlikely to find a bargain staying here, but it's a wonderful splurge. Enjoy their delicious private-labeled Mount Edward Pinot Noir, and be SURE to eat next door at the Botswana Butchery!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CNHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear CNHK

Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your stay in Eichardt’s Lakefront Apartments. It was certainly a pleasure to have you with us during your time in Queenstown. I was pleased to see you enjoyed the service we provide, we take great pride in the fact that our staff are dedicated to our guests and they all have a passion and focus to quality hospitality. I hope the rugby ball was intact after getting stuck in the trees! I appreciate your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you next time at Eichardt’s

Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

In one word... heaven. Loved the views, bed, best service we have experienced, and stunning decor. Well worth the price and a very memorable and enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Room One - lake view was stunning - we were lucky to see snow
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear Sandra W

Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your experience at Eichardt’s Private Hotel. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your staff, and
I would suggest on your next stay trying our “Eichardt’s Garden Tea Party” – a high afternoon tea in our courtyard, or make sure you try a stay in our lakefront apartments – they offer a great alternative to our hotel suites and still have fabulous views over the lake and mountains.
We look forward to seeing you next time at Eichardt’s

Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We really enjoyed our four nights in Queenstown - we stayed in the top floor apartment just down the road from the hotel and loved it. It worked really well for our family giving us the space we wanted whilst enjoying all the facilities of this lovely hotel. The views are amazing, the service was warm and welcoming and Queenstown is a stunning place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
Dear City Traveller45

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us at Eichardt’s Private Hotel. We were pleased to see you enjoyed the space and exclusive location the apartments offer – and as you mentioned – with the full facilities of the hotel. The views are breath taking! We are blessed with such a unique location and stunning vistas from every window! I look forward to seeing you next time at Eichardt’s and I think next visit an Eichardt’s picnic in Queenstown Gardens with a bottle of bubbly or the Eichardt’s Pinot Noir might be in order to truly soak in the views!

Kind Regards
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
#10 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eichardt's Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eichardt's Private Hotel

Property: Eichardt's Private Hotel
Address: Marine Parade | PO Box 1340, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Eichardt's Private Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HM Magazine (Australia) Best New Zealand Hotel 2014. World Luxury Hotel Awards Best boutique ski hotel 2013 and 2014 Eichardt's Private Hotel provides fine accommodation in five luxurious Hotel Suites, four Lakefront Apartments, and the Eichardt's Residence, all located in the historic district on a premium lakefront position at the heart of Queenstown's cafe and restaurant precinct with some of the finest international shopping labels an easy stroll away. The Hotel reflects contemporary provincial elegance, its modern features in perfect harmony with the distinctive antiques and luxurious furnishings of this New Zealand icon. The Lakefront Apartments, just a few paces away from Eichardt's Private Hotel offer stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and nearby mountain ranges. The Residence, located on an elevated position, a few minutes walk from the hotel is set over three levels and offers three suites, each with large ensuite, movie theatre, full European kitchen, and three lakefacing balconies. Queenstown's premier lakefront address offers a welcoming and stylish environment for sampling mouth-watering creations and timeless cocktails. Eichardt's Bar oozes the warmth, comfort and style of this beautiful old hotel with amazing views of the lake and surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Eichardt's Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eichardts Private Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing