We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back, excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for a weeks getaway in May. To begin with the service is impeccable - such accommodating, friendly hosts with a great knowledge of the area and local restaurants, activities ect. The have just the right touch, attentive enough that it felt personal but you weren't smothered. The suites are amazing, we had a mountain view which included a view of the lake from the balcony. We did hear a little of the nightlife noise that I have read in other views, but it was not enough to bother us in the slightest and certainly did not interrupt our sleep in our very comfortable bed. We ate our breakfast in our room daily (a concise but delectable menu), had an in-suite massage, nothing was an issue. For anyone who wants to be within walking distance to town, restaurants, shops ect and on the lake, this is by far the best situated hotel and the best of any accommodation I have previously stayed at in the area. I will never want to stay anywhere else in Queenstown!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alanaa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your review Alana, so glad you enjoyed your Queenstown break - I love your photos, great colours in Autumn.
They say you cant beat location - but you can enhance the experience by delivering personal service and amenities, and in such an iconic building.
Many thanks and we hope to welcome you back to Eichardt's again soon.

Regards,
James Cavanagh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wait staff was absolutely amazing! Would marry all of those lovely girls if I could. Keep up the good work. Venue is perfect for a quiet drink and a nice catch up with friends. By far one of the best little bars in Queenstown!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennimoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you Jenni for posting your feedback, I am glad your visit was memorable. The team appreciate the recognition on the service perspective, it's a big focus for us.
Come again next time you are in Queenstown and see what's new.

Regards,
James Cavanagh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Just popped in for a coffee, wish I was staying here! Wait staff were very friendly and happy for me to sit and enjoy the fire x plan to come back for tapas, so lovely and quiet too perhaps because I'm child free....

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yavann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thanks for your review Yavann, see you again soon for dinner!
If you do end up bringing the kids in, they have their own menu with loads of nice options, as well as modifying the regular tapas menu to suit if we can.

See you again soon,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is easily Queenstown's most luxurious. Absolutely stunning suites, beautifully appointed with every amenity and luxurious interiors. Stayed here for a weekend and did not want to leave, the staff are warm and service unobtrusive. We will definitely be back, thanks Jackie and the team!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrison_francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to post your comments, much appreciated. So pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us.
Look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to New Zealand.
Regards,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is my idea of the perfect hotel - small and beautifully appointed - I coveted all the furnishings.
The tapas bar is wonderful - five stars for food and ambience. I had an apple martini that I still think about. Service was charming, easy and unobtrusive. Would love to go back

Room Tip: Lake views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback Gail, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us it was a pleasure to have you. Small and intimate is the best description, a remote lodge in a downtown setting.
Look forward to welcoming you back to Eichardt's next time you visit Queenstown.

Best wishes,
James Cavanagh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had the most amazing stay at eichardts,both my partner and i had heard so much about this private hotel,and how it had recently experienced new owners.
We were blowen away by the service and the amazing rooms with a view, simply spectacular!

The tapas in the ground floor bar,in particular the seafood chowder were to die for!

Room Tip: Any room is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisWright2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thanks Chris, glad you enjoyed your stay with us last week.
Now that winter here, Eichardt's suites are without doubt the cosiest luxury suites in Queenstown and make it hard to leave!
Great to hear the bar lived up to expectations as well, we hope to welcome you back on your next visit.

Best wishes,
James Cavanagh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We loved this gorgeous boutique hotel with its prime location overlooking the lake and in the heart of the town. It is pricey but you get a high level of service and luxury for what you pay. We were upgraded to a spacious, luxurious suite overlooking the lake. Fabulous space with a contemporary fit-out and much appreciated fire place. Fruit and nuts went down well and loved the funky little tea bags!. Bed huge; likewise bathroom. Only issue was a sky-light over the bed which didn't seem to have a shade; a Another bit light a bit early!. The parlour was fun with comfy chairs and complimentary whisky and a delectable sherry. Staff were excellent and we had no issues with pre-dinner drink and had a table available for us for evening tapas. Breakfast was also excellent with a good choice, prompt service and a wide selection of papers. We were reluctant to leave the place and didn't venture far from this hotel as it was too charming and comfortable. Would absolutely return. Another plus; free WiFi hotel wide; excellent!

Room Tip: lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to post your experiences at Eichardt's, I am thrilled your stay was all you expected it to be.
All the little extra touches around the hotel do make the difference don't they, I love those Tea Forte bags, why have the ordinary when we can be spectacular! Glad you enjoyed the whisky lounge as well, we like to make it more of a lodge experience with lots of inclusions, and choosing the selection of single malts and brandies was a sought after job.

There is a shade on a remote control for the bedroom skylight, apologies if that wasn't made clearer on arrival. A lot of guests are blown away with the suites and outlook that the 'instructions' on all the features can get lost, I hope this didn't lead to an early wake up.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Eichardt's next time you visit.

Regards,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
#24 of 59 in Queenstown
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
4 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eichardt's Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eichardt's Private Hotel

Address: Marine Parade | PO Box 1340, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £662 - £1,116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eichardt's Private Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HM Magazine (Australia) Best New Zealand Hotel 2014. World Luxury Hotel Awards Best boutique ski hotel 2013 and 2014 Eichardt's Private Hotel provides fine accommodation in five luxurious Hotel Suites, four Lakefront Apartments, and the Eichardt's Residence, all located in the historic district on a premium lakefront position at the heart of Queenstown's cafe and restaurant precinct with some of the finest international shopping labels an easy stroll away. The Hotel reflects contemporary provincial elegance, its modern features in perfect harmony with the distinctive antiques and luxurious furnishings of this New Zealand icon. The Lakefront Apartments, just a few paces away from Eichardt's Private Hotel offer stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and nearby mountain ranges. The Residence, located on an elevated position, a few minutes walk from the hotel is set over three levels and offers three suites, each with large ensuite, movie theatre, full European kitchen, and three lakefacing balconies. Queenstown's premier lakefront address offers a welcoming and stylish environment for sampling mouth-watering creations and timeless cocktails. Eichardt's Bar oozes the warmth, comfort and style of this beautiful old hotel with amazing views of the lake and surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eichardt's Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eichardts Private Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing