We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking mountain and lake views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is our third stay at these apartments over the last decade. The views, location (we enjoy being away from the busy part of town and the walk into town) and the space are what brings us back. As we are aware that each apartment is individually owned and furnished we particularly requested one that had been recently renovated. The kitchen, bathroom, carpets etc were in good condition but the furnishings were certainly not current and were lacking, and seriously it had the ugliest lounge suite!! This was disappointing given our request; we viewed another apartment (no. 7) which was being cleaned and it was fabulous - tasteful and current; doesn't make sense that the standard can vary so much but the rate is constant.

The usual managers were away (May is very quiet in Queenstown) so things were lacking in that department also. Our apartment did not get made up one day although we put out the sign albeit in the middle of the day, but there was no instruction to have the sign out by a certain time. Also we had an urgent plumbing problem on the last night and were unable to raise management. We were financially compensated when we paid our bill but would have preferred a good night's sleep.

If one had been allocated unit 7 and under usual managment the rating could easily be a 5; but with our experience this time around I can only give it a 3. However, the rates were good for this off-season period.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Backhammer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

We travelled with another couple and stayed for 7 nights at Spinnaker Bay. It suited us perfectly with 2 double rooms and 2 bathrooms. The host was very friendly and helpful. The kitchen had everything we needed, including dishwashing liquid and fresh tea towels every day. The view was glorious and there was a heater and woodfire. Very pleasant walk into town and even a garage for our hire car. We are definitely planning to stay here again. We absolutely highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbyt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed here with a large group and the 3brm units were perfect. Management happily offered to have two single beds in each bedroom.

Sure, the decor is a little tired. But everything was in perfect working order and spotlessly clean. The free WiFi was a bonus, especially for those of us from overseas.

The complex is an easy 15 minute walk to town via the lakefront. (Yes, there is a steep driveway up to the road, if you choose to walk that way.)

Would recommend for those looking for good quality, clean, affordable accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiwiTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at Spinnaker Bay for 3 nights, with another couple. The 2 bedroom apartment was very good in terms of space, views, service and comfort. Beds were great and having 2 bathrooms was excellent. Cooking and laundry facilities were also more than adequate. Papers were delivered each morning and the apartment was serviced daily. The views across the lake were nothing less than spectacular and the long spring evenings allowed us to enjoy them for many twilight hours. The stairs and steep site could be a problem for anyone a little unsteady on their feet, and the 15-20 minute walk into the centre of Queenstown wouldn't be for everyone - a flat and pleasant-enough walk once you got down to lake level. We were pleased with our choice for the most part and would have loved the time to make use of the sunny courtyard and barbecue.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

6 days at these apartments were not enough - two levels, quiet, loved the wood fire - views morning and afternoon over Lake unbeatable - walked to CBD once - but then used the car - 5 minute drive. Friendly host. Certainly will be first choice in queenstown next time. Discounted price was right.

Room Tip: every apartment would appear to have great views.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

It was really a home away from home. Clean, Tidy and well presented, the apartments overlooking the lake was just splendid. Hope to come back again in Jan 2012

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vgirinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed in the Lakeview 2bdrm 2 bathrm apartment...was spotless...and well maintained...everything worked well.We were late arriving on day 1 and had let them know they had kindly heated the rooms for us....lots of heating options and storage options...spa was lovely....very spacious and great that there are 3 tvs that can go on different channels...You can even have a undercover garage.People were lovely and lots of stock of loo paper,rubbish bags etc and dishwasher and laundry...pool was closed for repair on day 1 but our son used the next day it was great also.Got for $250 a night off wotif...great price for great apartment.Also we went for a morning wal everyday around the shores of Lake Wakitipu...right outside our apartment.
Amazing views from the apartment...5 mins to town in the car. Free Wifi as well.
Perfect..

Room Tip: Depends on yur requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debzrotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#34 of 59 in Queenstown
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
1.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#24 of 59 in Queenstown
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Platinum Queenstown Villas
Platinum Queenstown Villas
#2 of 93 in Queenstown
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnaker Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker Bay Apartments

Address: 151 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £168 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spinnaker Bay Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 very spacious apartments set in peaceful secluded surroundings with amazing views of Lake Wakatipu and the surrounding mountains. Located just a 20 minute walk along the lakefront from the town centre of Queenstown. There are one bedroom, two bedroom and 3 bedroom apartments that are serviced daily, and there is a choice of either a super king bed or 2 single beds in each bedroom. These all have many of the comforts of home including fully self contained kitchens, laundry facilities and a spa bath. There is free wifi and we provide many complimentary household items to make your stay more enjoyable. Underfloor heating in some areas and the wood burner fireplace are nice treats on the cold winter evenings. You can also enjoy the heated indoor swimming pool or relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Spinnaker Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing