We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time of my Life!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Time of my Life!”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I recently visited Queenstown for the first time. When I walked into the townhouse I instantly had a smile on my face. It had a beautiful fireplace and all the furniture was comfortable and inviting. The house was kept to excellent standard and the service was the best I've ever had. Fresh towels were delivered everyday and everyone was delightful to deal with. We were having a family holiday with 7 of us in total and the 3 bedroom townhouse and plenty of room to move around in. The most impressive part of our stay was waking and looking out the window to a MAGNIFICENT view of the lake and mountains. I highly recommend Spinnaker Bay to families who want a comfortable place to stay after a hard day of Snowboarding and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    22
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
60
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Very well equipped kitchen and laundry makes it excellent for self-catering. Fantastic views of the lake and mountains from the living area and bedrooms. Separate bathrooms for each bedroom. Spa bath. Well heated and very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Well located, warm, best ever views, quiet, large roomy apartment, well equipped kitchen. A home away from home. You could want for nothing more, close enough to all amenities. One night a restaurant in town even delivered our meal to us free of charge. Stayed here 23 years ago when first opened and were not disappointed coming back. Buildings and amenities have been very well maintained. Thank you for a fantastic 4 days.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LC, TX
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We recently stayed at Spinnaker Bay for 2 nights, May 27 and 28. The management staff was extremely helpful and the 2 bedroom unit we were was spectacular. Great views and very clean. Kitchen had everything we needed. Both bedrooms were a great size with plenty of closet space. There were also 2 bathrooms that connected to each bedroom. Bathrooms were a generous size as well, which is great for a family. The walk to town was perfect for stretching your legs and wasn't too strenuous. You can shorten the walk if you cut off by the park instead of walking the perimeter. The management staff mentioned this to us and this was very helpful. It was very cold when we were there and we didn't realize how the floor heating worked on the bottom floor (bathrooms and bedrooms). However, we contacted the management staff who then checked our system to make sure it was heating. Its important to know that this under floor heating cannot stay on all the time, so the system comes on and off so it won't over heat. The upstairs area stayed cozy once we turned on the stand alone heater and the fire place stove heater. We plan to stay longer at these accomodations next time as they are among the best of New Zealand.

Room Tip: We did not use the pool area but it looked very nice. Don't hesitate to ask management staff or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is our third stay at these apartments over the last decade. The views, location (we enjoy being away from the busy part of town and the walk into town) and the space are what brings us back. As we are aware that each apartment is individually owned and furnished we particularly requested one that had been recently renovated. The kitchen, bathroom, carpets etc were in good condition but the furnishings were certainly not current and were lacking, and seriously it had the ugliest lounge suite!! This was disappointing given our request; we viewed another apartment (no. 7) which was being cleaned and it was fabulous - tasteful and current; doesn't make sense that the standard can vary so much but the rate is constant.

The usual managers were away (May is very quiet in Queenstown) so things were lacking in that department also. Our apartment did not get made up one day although we put out the sign albeit in the middle of the day, but there was no instruction to have the sign out by a certain time. Also we had an urgent plumbing problem on the last night and were unable to raise management. We were financially compensated when we paid our bill but would have preferred a good night's sleep.

If one had been allocated unit 7 and under usual managment the rating could easily be a 5; but with our experience this time around I can only give it a 3. However, the rates were good for this off-season period.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Backhammer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We travelled with another couple and stayed for 7 nights at Spinnaker Bay. It suited us perfectly with 2 double rooms and 2 bathrooms. The host was very friendly and helpful. The kitchen had everything we needed, including dishwashing liquid and fresh tea towels every day. The view was glorious and there was a heater and woodfire. Very pleasant walk into town and even a garage for our hire car. We are definitely planning to stay here again. We absolutely highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbyt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed here with a large group and the 3brm units were perfect. Management happily offered to have two single beds in each bedroom.

Sure, the decor is a little tired. But everything was in perfect working order and spotlessly clean. The free WiFi was a bonus, especially for those of us from overseas.

The complex is an easy 15 minute walk to town via the lakefront. (Yes, there is a steep driveway up to the road, if you choose to walk that way.)

Would recommend for those looking for good quality, clean, affordable accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Caples Court
Caples Court
#5 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnaker Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker Bay Apartments

Property: Spinnaker Bay Apartments
Address: 151 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spinnaker Bay Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spinnaker Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing