We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and cozy”
Review of Butterfli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Butterfli Lodge
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Chose to stay at Buterfli lodge as it was recommended in the Lonely Planet travel guide. Spent 3 nights there, overall it was a very pleasant experience. Rooms/toilets were very clean and we had no problems with the noise level. Romy, the manager, was extremely friendly and accommodating, and was even able to help us book activities e.g. cruise, skydiving even though our requests were last-minute. I'll definitely be staying at butterfli lodge the next time i'm back in nz

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mabs_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2011

This is a small backpackers about a 10min walk from town, up a fairly steep hill. We stayed in a double room on the ground floor with shared bathroom. The room itself was ok, with double doors leading out into the garden. It was sort of clean - the mirror, side table and shelves were pretty dusty though.

The whole place feels quite old and worn. It is a coverted house so isn't exactly the best building for so many people. In particular it is very noisy. Our bedroom was located under the entrance and common room and it honestly sounded like herds of elephants above us. Also the room walls are so thin you can hear everything the people in the next room say. The noise from the stairs is always audible. So sleep quality not great.

The 3 shared bathrooms are not adequate for the size of the place and there were queues often. Also the toilet and shower are in the same room which isn't practical at all. Also in the bathroom I used, the condensation was so bad that freezing drops pelted me during my shower. Horrible!

Staff were ok, shared kitchen ok but small, internet was reasonable at £5 day - wireless only though, there are no kiosks.

So overall alright but severely due a MAJOR rennovation and little more thought about the facilities a good backpackers needs.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezziebahnezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterffli, Manager at Butterfli Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2011

I'm very surprised to read this. Butterfli Lodge is known as a quiet backpackers, we've never had any complaints about noise in the 11 years that we have been operating. But the exception confirms the rule...

I'd like to point out that old houses in New Zealand are not the best quality. Originally, the houses in the area were built as summer holiday houses. In order to make Butterfli Lodge, and all the other backpackers sound proof, we would need new buildings.

Nevertheless, we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused on this particular night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Stayed here for 6 nights in Aug 2010.

Had a double room which was very cosy. Warm fire and lots of books. Everything you would want. Lovely staff and great chats on a night!

About 5 mins walk into queenstown which was great and stunning lake views

Highly recommended to all! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneyEmmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

All is good there, the view, the fireplace, the comfortable beds, the location, the staff, and the guests. Located just far and high enough to discourage the lazier stupider backpackers you'll end up meeting only keen travelers, and that is a great feeling as it's a small hostel and there is very quickly a family atmosphere between guests and staff!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

good lake view, quiet, nice owner, warmly living room

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beiyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Butterfli is a 5 min walk out of downtown queenstown (easy, with or without your beer coat on!) on a slight rise with lush views onto the lake and mountains.terrace or sofa, beer or cup of tea could happily sit for hours if there wasn't so much else to do. Couldn't fault it for staff, facilities, price or guests. Very friendly clean and chilled and will stay there again when we go back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac_JayUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2008

I found out about Butterfli lodge on this site and wanted to add my glowing review to the many found here. We had a private double with shared bathroom, but only shared the bathroom with a few other rooms so it was almost always available and was nice and clean. Butterfli felt like staying in a comfy lodge - nice kitchen, comfy lounge and dining area, and a beautiful balcony overlooking the lake and mountains. Best of all were the people it seemed to attract - we met so many nice travellers from all over the world. We highly recommend Butterfli to people of any age.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rowbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Queenstown
Esplanade Queenstown
#40 of 58 in Queenstown
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#9 of 58 in Queenstown
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeRidge Queenstown
LakeRidge Queenstown
#12 of 93 in Queenstown
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#6 of 93 in Queenstown
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Jemm
Pacific Jemm
#56 of 93 in Queenstown
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#15 of 93 in Queenstown
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfli Lodge

Address: 62 Thompson Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £28 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Butterfli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing