We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
53
37
3
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
37
3
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen home away from home lounge area amazing views of the lake stayed for nights walk into town sleep hosts
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Butterfli Lodge. Very commercial orientated running hostel quite a walk to the heart of Queenstown, but with a nice view on the lake.

Unfriendly staff, for the Internet they made me paying 5 NZ $ for 100 MB using my own Notebook. Rooms are simple, but very clean. Don´t get those rooms on the basement, they are very dark and tight.

All rooms have shared bathroom, there exist only 3 bathrooms in total, which are always busy in rush-hour. Check out time is 10 AM, we wanted to take a shower at 9:30 AM, we could not, bathroom was busy by cleaning staff writing SMS (and not cleaning). The other bathrooms were busy by other guests. This was the reason we could not check out on time, giving the key to the reception at 10:05 AM and having breakfast for 15 minutes. Cleaning our teeth afterwards in the shared bathroom upstairs brought us into trouble with the staff. They warned us in a in a rude way that we would have to pay for another night.
Traveling 1 month in NZ we stayed in perfectly hostels and met lovely people. Butterfli Lodge is definitely a place I do not recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zhenia_Mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed in a double room in the Butterfli overlooking the lake in Queenstown, its a really friendly down to earth place - its quiet and the views over the lake are stunning. Great place to be based for a stay in the are and good value.

Room Tip: rooms at the front downstairs have a small deck overlooking the lake with hammocks,
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoESouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My family & I consisting of my parents & aunt+uncle stayed here for 2 nights (wish we could stay longer! aaargh, next time we'll stay for a week!) Feb 28 & 29. Honestly, I was quite worried before checking in cause their Website was not so flashy (don't judge a lodge by its website!). However once we found & checked-in @ Butterfli Lodge, I realized just how beautiful the location was. Butterfli Lodge is located on top of a hill facing the mountains & Lake Wakatipu (was it the Remarkables & Cecil Peak?) without any houses or trees obstructing this view. The view is simply PRICELESS. We really couldn't have asked more for the price we paid. My parents & aunt+uncle were in the double rooms facing the lake ($68 per room night), I ended up hanging out at their room & the hammock outside more than my own room. I was in the 4 share room on the other side of the lodge. My mom & aunt kept remarking how cosy & homely the lodge was. The lodge manager, Cindy, was a very helpful & nice person. The lodgers staying here seem to be equally nice folks. The kitchen was well equipped & stocked with lots of spices. Location: Short walk to the town. Take note that if you buy activities/rides through them (eg. Gondola, jetboat ride & etc.), you get free Internet vouchers (in our case, each of us bought the Gondola ride+1 luge & each received a 50MB Internet voucher. Suggestions: None, it's really clean there, perhaps putting a TV in each of the double rooms? :p Recommendation: I strongly recommend Butterfli Lodge to any traveler (family, couple or single) heading to Queenstown.

Room Tip: Request for the 2 double rooms or twin room fronting the lake. It's a view to die for!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlzev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

a friend and i spent 4 nights in queenstown, the longest of any city on a 3 week tour, and loved the butterfli lodge. the ONLY minor negative is that it is about an 8 minute walk into town down a big hill and back up it (which was a little tiring late at night!). so if you want a central central spot, this might not be it.

because it was a little set back, though, and up on the hill, it was extremely quiet and peaceful and provided absolutely breathtaking views of the area. we had the downstairs 2 twin room, which had a little patio and opened to the driveway, which was nice for unpacking and exiting without going back through the house.

the kitchen is a decent size and clean and the living area is welcoming and cozy, complete with a fire place. while the laundry is outdoors, it's right near the kitchen and by that point in the trip, we were happy to have the ability to do it!

the bathrooms, though shared, were always clean. i felt that people were respectful of others and didn't leave a mess. (that probably says something about the type of people the hostel attracts!)

if you do stay there, there's a five-star hotel (can't think of the name right now) right next to it... very chateau-looking... anyway, the bar features floor-to-ceiling glass windows overlooking the lake/mountains... great spot for a sunset drink on the way into town!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jool12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

With several private double rooms (shared bath/shower) and a kitchen/dining area, this hostel was perfect. Our downstairs double room had a closet, lakeview patio, patio chairs. A deck runs the length of the house, with picnic tables and benches. A short walk downhill into busy Queenstown, this was a restful place we would recommend. Internet available for a fee. Helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview room if possible.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaGCalais_Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews