We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views!”
Review of Butterfli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Butterfli Lodge
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Great location, & our triple room(double & 1 single) was very clean & comfy! Short walk to town away from the hustle & bustle of Queenstown. Staff not all that friendly. Kitchen busy! Remember to name & date all your food as they like throwing unmarked food out! We had our food unmarked & found it either in the bin or with someone else's names on it! Well worth the stay!

Room Tip: Mark your food that goes in their fridge or pantry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Butterfli Lodge. Very commercial orientated running hostel quite a walk to the heart of Queenstown, but with a nice view on the lake.

Unfriendly staff, for the Internet they made me paying 5 NZ $ for 100 MB using my own Notebook. Rooms are simple, but very clean. Don´t get those rooms on the basement, they are very dark and tight.

All rooms have shared bathroom, there exist only 3 bathrooms in total, which are always busy in rush-hour. Check out time is 10 AM, we wanted to take a shower at 9:30 AM, we could not, bathroom was busy by cleaning staff writing SMS (and not cleaning). The other bathrooms were busy by other guests. This was the reason we could not check out on time, giving the key to the reception at 10:05 AM and having breakfast for 15 minutes. Cleaning our teeth afterwards in the shared bathroom upstairs brought us into trouble with the staff. They warned us in a in a rude way that we would have to pay for another night.
Traveling 1 month in NZ we stayed in perfectly hostels and met lovely people. Butterfli Lodge is definitely a place I do not recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zhenia_Mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed in a double room in the Butterfli overlooking the lake in Queenstown, its a really friendly down to earth place - its quiet and the views over the lake are stunning. Great place to be based for a stay in the are and good value.

Room Tip: rooms at the front downstairs have a small deck overlooking the lake with hammocks,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoESouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My family & I consisting of my parents & aunt+uncle stayed here for 2 nights (wish we could stay longer! aaargh, next time we'll stay for a week!) Feb 28 & 29. Honestly, I was quite worried before checking in cause their Website was not so flashy (don't judge a lodge by its website!). However once we found & checked-in @ Butterfli Lodge, I realized just how beautiful the location was. Butterfli Lodge is located on top of a hill facing the mountains & Lake Wakatipu (was it the Remarkables & Cecil Peak?) without any houses or trees obstructing this view. The view is simply PRICELESS. We really couldn't have asked more for the price we paid. My parents & aunt+uncle were in the double rooms facing the lake ($68 per room night), I ended up hanging out at their room & the hammock outside more than my own room. I was in the 4 share room on the other side of the lodge. My mom & aunt kept remarking how cosy & homely the lodge was. The lodge manager, Cindy, was a very helpful & nice person. The lodgers staying here seem to be equally nice folks. The kitchen was well equipped & stocked with lots of spices. Location: Short walk to the town. Take note that if you buy activities/rides through them (eg. Gondola, jetboat ride & etc.), you get free Internet vouchers (in our case, each of us bought the Gondola ride+1 luge & each received a 50MB Internet voucher. Suggestions: None, it's really clean there, perhaps putting a TV in each of the double rooms? :p Recommendation: I strongly recommend Butterfli Lodge to any traveler (family, couple or single) heading to Queenstown.

Room Tip: Request for the 2 double rooms or twin room fronting the lake. It's a view to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlzev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

a friend and i spent 4 nights in queenstown, the longest of any city on a 3 week tour, and loved the butterfli lodge. the ONLY minor negative is that it is about an 8 minute walk into town down a big hill and back up it (which was a little tiring late at night!). so if you want a central central spot, this might not be it.

because it was a little set back, though, and up on the hill, it was extremely quiet and peaceful and provided absolutely breathtaking views of the area. we had the downstairs 2 twin room, which had a little patio and opened to the driveway, which was nice for unpacking and exiting without going back through the house.

the kitchen is a decent size and clean and the living area is welcoming and cozy, complete with a fire place. while the laundry is outdoors, it's right near the kitchen and by that point in the trip, we were happy to have the ability to do it!

the bathrooms, though shared, were always clean. i felt that people were respectful of others and didn't leave a mess. (that probably says something about the type of people the hostel attracts!)

if you do stay there, there's a five-star hotel (can't think of the name right now) right next to it... very chateau-looking... anyway, the bar features floor-to-ceiling glass windows overlooking the lake/mountains... great spot for a sunset drink on the way into town!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jool12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

With several private double rooms (shared bath/shower) and a kitchen/dining area, this hostel was perfect. Our downstairs double room had a closet, lakeview patio, patio chairs. A deck runs the length of the house, with picnic tables and benches. A short walk downhill into busy Queenstown, this was a restful place we would recommend. Internet available for a fee. Helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaGCalais_Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Had a very good stay. Great views from the lodge and also a short walk from town.
Awesome

Room Tip: all rooms pretty good and well themed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsouza_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#74 of 93 in Queenstown
496 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,494 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.2 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfli Lodge

Address: 62 Thompson Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £27 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Butterfli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing