We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money at Queenstown.”
Review of Butterfli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Butterfli Lodge
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This was one of our best decisions of our trip to Queenstown. Though the warmth, hospitality and the rooms were excellent, the breathtaking views of the Wakatipu lake and the adjoining mountains when peered through the windows were priceless. Value for money. Highly recommended. I would surely stay at this place if I make it to Queenstown sometime.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akhilesh890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed here in March 2012 for 2 nights in a double room and we were really surprised when we saw our room. Its on the lower level of the lodge with a door open to a patio with the wonderful view of Lake Wakatipu. We spend the whole afternoon there enjoying the view and breeze despite the cold weather imagine how much its cost to stay in a room with such view in downtown hotels. The double room is very simple with a double bed , a small wardrobe and a heater. Nothing much to shout about in this indeed dull room but with so much to do in Queenstown , the reasonable rate and the view, there's nothing you can complain of. There are about 8 rooms sharing 3 large, spotless barthroom, we have no issue about waiting for use. The reception is on the upper level just next to the kitchen and the best part is the sundeck overlooking the lake, perfect for having your meals and relaxing. The locations is about 15 mimutes walk from downtown with a steep road leading to the lodge or you can take the stairs from downtown. Its close to the trek up to Bob's Peak and Gondola ride.

Room Tip: Ask for the lower level room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BTLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Good clean rooms. No en-suite but there was never a queue for the numerous clean shared facilities. Nice view of the lake. They can book your activities for you, and give free wifi if they do. Having stayed in a few hostels in NZ, this has been my favourite so far. I'd recommend it. It is about 5-10 mins walk to the lake, but that didn't really bother me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptJeanLucPicard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

A hostel in a quiet location with beautiful lake view, not a typical backpackers.
Though we stayed in a twin room facing road, but we did have a good night sleep without any noise. Bed is comfy and warm. Room cost $68/night.
There is a bathroom very near us and 2 more downstairs; shower and toilet together. Clean and quite spacious.
Not a big kitchen but very clean and tidy. Parking off street.
Overall, this is definately one of your good choice to stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nt_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

First of all, I'm not a backpacker so it was with trepidation that I stayed at this place. New Zealand hotels are quite pricey so backpackers places were my only choice.

To my surprise, this place is hardly a backpacker place. It is best described as a semi-homestay. There are shared rooms (no bunks) and single/doubles. For $62 I had my own room with heater and comfy beds.

There's a living room with a host of movies to watch on the tv and stunning views over the lake and down into town. Full kitchen facilities are available which is a real boon since restaurants are incredibly expensive - as is food in general.

The hostess is very friendly and helpful with advice and booking tours.

If you don't have a car, it's easy enough to walk to town but it's a cold walk in winter and maybe icy.

This is not a hotel so you won't find a concierge desk, room service, restaurant and all that. It's a house where you rent a room/bed. The bathrooms are in the hall and everything is very clean.
It's a small, quiet place with a cozy fire in the evenings.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter because you don't hear the footsteps from the kitchen and living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nombre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Checked in for 1 night, stayed for 3.... On the outskirts of town, so quiet, but only a 5 minute walk in. Superb views of lake and mountains, with BBQ decks etc. clean, comfortable, good showers and kitchen, with friendly helpful staff.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Slightly out of town, but only 5 minute walk in. Double room w/o bathroom for 67 dollars then 62 for the 2nd night.
Cindy, the manager, was very friendly. Booked skydiving and Nevis bungy through her. If you book through her (same price as direct) you get free wifi.
Room was comfortable and clean, French windows opening out to a view across the lake and hammocks. Two bathroom/toilets on our floor. Warm lounge with log fire. Decent kitchen. Picnic benches on the veranda with a stunning view.
Off street parking. Resident cat.
Would highly recommend - homely atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocMarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#9 of 93 in Queenstown
347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hippo Lodge Backpackers
Hippo Lodge Backpackers
#50 of 93 in Queenstown
116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#7 of 93 in Queenstown
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
488 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfli Lodge

Address: 62 Thompson Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £20 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Butterfli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing