We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy perfect little hostel”
Review of Butterfli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Butterfli Lodge
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Cosy perfect little hostel”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

One of the best hostels we stayed in. My sister and I had a twin room, heater and extra blankets were in the room. The main lounge/kitchen was warm and cosy with a stunning view on the lake. All common areas were super clean and tidy. Other guests were lovely and Jimmy the cat likes cuddles. :) Owner was friendly and welcoming. All in all a perfect hostel and I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stephaniel442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    35
    3
    10
    3
See reviews for
5
44
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had a great experience at Butterfli Lodge. Our twin room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. We had requested an upstairs room based on reviewers comments and I think this was a wise choice. The staff we encountered were friendly and super-helpful. The communal area, including kitchen is small and as we went out for dinner we didn't have to compete for space, but I think it could get quite cozy if everyone decided to cook at once. We got up around 8am and the kitchen was empty, leaving us lots of space to do our thing :-) Based on our experience I'd highly recommend Butterfli Lodge and reading through other reviewers comments, I'd suggest if you stay here that you make yourself aware of things like upstairs vs. downstairs and Cindy's focus on check-out times.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneDoe2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We travelled as a group of 6 to Queenstown and stayed 3 nights at the Butterfli lodge, the beds were comfy, the rooms nice and the view was amazing. Unfortunately there were a few let downs. "Free wifi" was only 100mb per person which only lasted about an hour and was $10 to recharge. Hot water ran out one night and we were left with cold showers. There is only one small common room, one night it was totally full with about 20 people and nowhere to sit. Some of the staff were friendly, where as others cleaned around us and even vacuumed when we were watching a movie. This made us feel awkward to be there and felt like we couldn't even eat breakfast one morning. Overall pretty disappointed, would not return in a hurry.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie_Louise27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Initially, my boyfriend and I planned on staying at the Butterfli Lodge while we were visiting Queenstown. We called and booked a private double bed room. We told the woman on the phone that we were possibly going to stay two nights but only committee to the first night. THANK GOD.

The Bufferfli Lodge is backpacker style, so the private room was $69 if I remember correctly (cash only) so not too bad. It’s situated on the lake so of course the view is beautiful. However, the room was very basic. On the ground floor of the house. The kitchen and the dinning are directly above the room and the walls and floor are paper thin…. So there was A LOT of noise. We couldn’t fall asleep until everyone went to bed and we were woken up with what sounded like stomping around 6am! So we didn’t get much sleep.

The next morning we asked CINDY (I think she might be the owner) if we could change rooms due to the noise. She said that there was nothing else, so we said no worries, but we were probably going to go elsewhere because we needed a full night of sleep. She became very offended by that and said we needed to hand in the keys to the room asap since check out was 10am and it was now 10:15am. We said of course and quickly moved our things. However she gave us the silent treatment as we got ready for the day; kind of weird but whatever.

We had planned on making a quick breakfast before we started our day but when we tried to use the kitchen she said that we needed to leave the hostel since we weren’t staying a second night.. I couldn’t not believe my ears! We had planned on waking up quite early to start our day but with the lack of sleep we were too tired to get up which is why we ended up sleeping in so late. So I explained that and I asked if we could make a very quick breakfast. Cindy said that she had already started to clean up the kitchen… I guess she thought that we couldn’t clean up after ourselves? She then has the audacity to say that she was already being very generous with us because she could have charged us for a second night since we were 15 minutes late leaving our room.

I have never experienced such poor customer service from a hostel or hotel.
So incredible rude. I would most definitely NOT recommend staying there. Clearly, this woman, Cindy, should not be in the hospitality industry. She is a very bad host.

Room Tip: Do NOT choose the downstairs double room. You won't sleep a wink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank HannahG31525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Barthelemy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I stay 10 days at the Butterfli lodge and it was like I'm at home. The people stay there are very friendly and the staff also. Thank you Cindy,Arriette and Clelia.

J'ai passée 10 jours au Butterfli lodge c'était parfait je me suis sentie comme à la maison. Le personnel est très sympa. Merci à Cindy,Arriette et Clelia.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank SofSbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

So the room smells a little bit, the toilet is so hard to get in in the morning, there is only one sink in the kitchen......but that's not the problem. I asked the reception lady:"can I stay until noon while I'm waiting for my friend?" She said "no". I mean, really?! you are running a hospitality business, you never say no to a customer! Let alone it's such a small favor.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed here for the past two nights and absolutely loved it. Not only was the view magnificient but Hostel Manager Cindy was brilliant. She was very helpful and directed me the right way while I was attending my job interviews and didn't know where to find the places :) The hostel itself was very cosy, clean, with free tea and coffee and lovely people. The only lazy guy I could find was cat Jimmy :) I would definitly recommend it to everryone lookong for a quiet place to relax! If you are looking for a party hostel you'd have to look somewhere else!
I enjoyed my stay here and hopefully be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowflake61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Queenstown
Esplanade Queenstown
#42 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highview Apartments
Highview Apartments
#11 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Jemm
Pacific Jemm
#51 of 90 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LakeRidge Queenstown
LakeRidge Queenstown
#15 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#17 of 90 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alta Apartments
Alta Apartments
#44 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfli Lodge

Property: Butterfli Lodge
Address: 62 Thompson Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Butterfli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing