We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with fab breakfasts”
Review of Chalet Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chalet Queenstown
Ranked #4 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We spent two nights at Chalet Queenstown at the end of our New Zealand adventure. We chose it on the basis of a good write-up in Lonely Planet and would definitely recommend it to others. The breakfast was really excellent and beautifully presented. The rooms are of a very high standard with lovely decor and comfortable beds, and are spotlessly clean. I have seen a couple of comments below about the rooms being small but I found ours pretty spacious (certainly if you are from the UK/Europe you will not think they are small). Alex was welcoming and friendly and was very nice about our using him as a post office to receive parcels from earlier stops in our travels! The location is a little out of the town centre but it only takes 5-10 minutes to walk in (slightly longer to walk back as it is up a steep hill - we lazily got a (very cheap) cab after a few drinks!), and you get to enjoy the lovely views of the lake. A really good option for a stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Sarah, thanks so much for taking time to review our property. Knowing that I am selling bed and breakfast I try to excel in these services and it always delights me that you have found it as good as I hope. It was no problem to collect the mail for you and to have it ready when you arrived. Hope 2014 treats you as well as the days you spent in Queenstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed for two night in B&B, it was marvellous.
Alex is a good host, gave us a lot of information. Was interested in us and we had some nice conversations. The breakfast was excellent. The room was small, also the bathroom but it was enough. The view on the lake was splendid. The bed was very good and room and bathroom were clean. We enjoyed it to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricatL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Hi Erica. Thanks so much for reviewing our property and for your feedback. We really appreciate the time you take to do this and it is always interesting to know how you rated our property. I hope the rest of your journey went well and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent 4 nights in this B&B and we loved Queenstown - one of the best place in NZ (for us). The room was spotless - the bed was very comfortable with a choice of 3 different pillows. We had a room with a beautiful view on the lake - which is amazing !! The chalet is very well located only few minutes walk to reach the center. Free wifi in the chalet which is very convenient. It is also possible to park your car in front of the chalet. The breakfast was very good, eggs, bacon, fruits, muesli, pancakes, etc. The atmosphere is more like in a hotel than an B&B - very friendly and polite but a bit cold.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexMcMillan, Owner at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Hi Valerie

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you found the property was able to meet many of your needs and that you enjoyed the views from here. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This b&b is a short walk to the center of town, though the walk back is steep. The view of the mountains and lake from our room was incredible. Breakfast was great with lots of choices. The room was immaculate and comfortable, if a little small.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank travlinman1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletQueenstown, Owner at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property - we really appreciate the effort and feedback you have given. Hope the rest of your journey went well. Kind regards Alex McMillan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Although not our favourite B&B in New Zealand, this one was very well located within a short walk of the town centre, and our room was comfortable and clean. It was a shame we didn't have a balcony room. There was not a huge amount of space for all our belongings and suitcases, and in the bathroom there is nowhere to put your things! We thought the breakfasts were very good, and we used the laundry service which was very helpful, if a little on the pricey side. The hosts were helpful with things to do and places to go. We really enjoyed Queenstown and this was a good location to explore it from.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room. The downstairs room has no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thanks Becky for your review.So pleased you had a great time in Queenstown and hope the weather stayed fine for the rest of your trip. Our laundry service is $25 dollars per load, so hope this compares well to $17 for a self service laundry in town and saves our guests having to wait for laundry while on there holidays. We look forward to welcoming you back to Queenstown and wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. Kind regards Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Alex and Rona were excellent hosts. I had a wonderful stay! Lovely clean facalities, really comfortable beds. The atmosphere is vibrant and friendly, they had plenty of advice to offer and were great for a chat also. I have stayed there probably six times now and would recommend Chalet Queenstown to anyone and everyone i know! Thanks Alex and Rona, all the best guys!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thanks Dan you your review and so pleased you enjoy stay with us, we look forward to your visit to Queenstown. Kind regards Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The room had the charm of a very ordinary motel, especially with the parking directly in front of our windows and jalousies which have not been in order. The furnishing of the room is not very comfortable and it is not very funny to use a bathroom at low outside temperatures when the heating does not work at all.
This chalet has been very disappointing especially in the class of that price level.
That is why we cannot recommend this chalet!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank juergen_sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thanks for choosing to stay with us, it was a pleasure to meet you both. We are always here to help guests from breakfast, to arranging your trip to Glenorchy on the Dart River, the heating in all rooms is controlled by you and is simple matter of turning the switch on. We are price concuss B & B and as you travel around New Zealand, we do offer value for money. Hope the weather was as sunny as your time in Queenstown. Safe travels.& kind regards Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.6 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
917 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Villa del Lago
Villa del Lago
#4 of 59 in Queenstown
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Queenstown

Address: 1 Dublin Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: £135 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes walk to central Queenstown, Chalet Queenstown is a boutique Bed and Breakfast/Inn accommodation. Renowned worldwide for its perfectly appointed rooms and fabulous breakfasts Chalet Queenstown is the perfect place to enjoy all Queenstown, the adventure capital of New Zealand, has to offer. All seven guest rooms have private shower ensuites and balconies with the centrepiece of each room being King or Twin beds, covered in luxurious feather duvets, crisp white linens and capped off with a choice of pillows and a charcoal comforter. A sumptuous continental style buffet and freshly prepared a la carte breakfast is offered each day. With an emphasis on locally supplied goods, diversity and flavour are our focus. Cafe quality presentation has guests reaching for their cameras before they take their first bite. Chalet Queenstown also offers guests free onsite parking, along with WiFi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing