We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Pencarrow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pencarrow
Ranked #37 of 45 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Even rave reviews from friends had still not captured the extraordinary experience we revelled in at Pencarrow. Attention to detail on every level of our experience - you feel like your room is a luxury haven just for you, with beautiful pottery, wall hangings and furnishings carefully selected for each room. Our hosts were an exhuberant loving couple who genuinely cared about enriching our whole experience, ensuring it was memorable and as pampered as possible. After a daylong river cruise in pouring rain and a two hour drive, we arrived late, tired and hanging for a warm shower - greeted by champagne and goodies waiting in our room, a massive bathroom gleaming with spotless fittings, beautifully appointed and with two basins and even with underfloor heating. Oh how snug! You nominate what time you want breakfast in the intimate dining room. Settings there are themed each day and fresh baking is done each morning in the kitchen so that guests arrived to delicious goodies piled in the centre of the table. Mind you those breakfasts are incredible, with the multiple courses varied each morning, but always the minimum of a range of juices, cereals, fresh sliced fruit, a huge plate of hot breakfast, then flapjacks and don't forget that fresh baking in the table centre. Sigh ... What a way to go! I unreservedly recommend Pencarrow. Their guest book speaks for itself - people from all over the world keep coming back ... England, Australia and USA were all represented just while we were there.

Room Tip: Four suites, each distinctive theming. Website gives you internal shots of rooms to help your choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyBoomerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

The best of everything in a hotel is found in Pencarrow. The room we had has a perfect setting-- a beautiful view of the lake with the remarkable Remarkables in the background. We enjoyed the most sumptuous breakfasts (which varied everyday) and genuine hospitality throughout the 4 days we stayed there. We were made to feel most welcomed and nothing was too much trouble for them when we asked for help or advice in anything. Every evening, there were little wise or humourous quotes or sayings put on our pillows with the chocolates when our beds were turned down. We were sad to leave at the end of the stay. We will return at the first opportunity, Kari and Bill.

Room Tip: The upstairs ensuite has an adjoining sunroom which has a panoramic view of the lake and the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kemsloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Each and every word in these reviews is true - all of it. We spent 4 nights at Pencarrow as part of our honeymoon. We had read the amazing reveiws and had very high expectations. Pencarrow lived up to ALL of it and more.

Bill and Kari are warm and wonderful people who went out of their way to make our honeymoon unforgettable and so so special. From little gestures like quirky turn down services to fresh flowers in the bathroom, we appreciated it all.

One of the best parts of the stay is definitely the breakfast. We have been craving the 4-course gourmet meal ever since we left.

Bill and Kari give great advice on activities and excursions with detailed maps to lay out where to go and how to get there.

We're definitely going to be back. Thank you Bill and Kari!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitchieKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This is a very late review but we really want to do a thorough one since Pencarrow is an amazing place. We went there on April 2012 and it's all thanks to our hosts that we can have our dream wedding :) First of all, all of the reviews here on TripAdvisor are true and there’s more! Pencarrow have a wonderful environment, comfortable and super clean rooms, a very delicious king's breakfast that makes us stuffed until dinner, and of course it wouldn’t be complete without Bill and Kari's first class hospitality.
The first time we contacted them, we were asking whether they provide a wedding service and they replied with such enthusiasm and offered lots of help to us. We found our photographer, videographer, and florist based on their suggestions and we are really satisfied with the respective experts work result.
When we arrived there, we knew that we have chosen the right place. They were very friendly and they always did their best to satisfy us. I even got a very generous special gift one night before my wedding! Here are some notes of their awesomeness:
* We rent a car to travel around Queenstown and one of the nights after dinner (there were six of us and it probably become too heavy to climb up), our car got stuck in the steep gravel road on the way up to Pencarrow. After that Bill makes us promise to call him for help every time we need to travel up and down the path.
* We stay at Pencarrow with our parents, and they are not used to eat without rice. Kari was very nice to try to add rice to the breakfast menu just for them and the rice was perfect even though she never cooks rice before.
* My parents can't speak English but even then, they admire Bill and Kari because they can feel that Pencarrow’s service came from heart. Unfortunately we weren't able to try all the activities they suggested but yes, they can provide a lot of information about activities around and help you book them.
* Bill and Kari even agreed to be the witnesses of our wedding although they are not obliged to do so. We are really grateful for this. When we went back to Pencarrow after the photo shoot, we found our room filled with sweet decoration, beautiful gift, and a champagne to enjoy on our wedding night.
So all in all, we will definitely going to be coming back to Pencarrow and we strongly suggest anyone coming to New Zealand to go to Queenstown and stay in Pencarrow. Our experience in New Zealand will not be as perfect without Pencarrow :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary with a trip to Queenstown, staying at Pencarrow for eight nights... I will add my praise to the list of 5 star reviews below. This is everything you could want from a Bed and Breakfast and so much more. Beautiful, comfortable rooms, amazing breakfasts and hospitality that makes you feel right at home. Need help with activities? No problem. Want to play a game of snooker, watch a movie, sit in the spa, or gather around the outdoor fire pit? No problem. Want a glass of wine in the evening to help wind down after another amazing day of activities? You got it. Bill and Kari, thank you so much for everything! If I could add more stars to my review, I would happily do so. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Silver Leaf suite... very quiet and a separate entrance make this a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawkeyeAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We spent three nights at this marvelous B&B. Pencarrow is located a couple miles from the center of Queenstown. It sits on a hill with a spectacular lake and alpine mountain view. The warm hospitality and personalized service provided by the owner/hosts, Bill and Kari, was simply extraordinary. Bill served as a jet Captain and Kari as a flight attendant for a Saudi prince. They bring this same level of gracious service, attention to detail and a truly memorable experience to their guests at Pencarrow. Having lived in Queenstown for over 10 years, Bill and Kari eagerly shared their valuable knowledge of restaurants, sites and activities in and around Queenstown. This included detailed maps and directions that Kari printed out for us. Guests are invited to complimentary wine in the afternoon and evening, while relaxing in the Pencarrow's inviting lounge/bar area. We greatly enjoyed our pleasant conversations with Bill, Kari and another couple who were guests during our visit. We all shared some interesting tidbits about activities in Queenstown, a few aviation tales, and current events in New Zealand. As this was our first visit to New Zealand, we really enjoyed this exchange with locals. Unfortunately, words cannot describe the wonderful VIP experience Bill and Kari provides to their guests, including small gifts left in our rooms each evening, incredible breakfast with hot/cold and freshly bakes items and most of all the fellowship we experienced during our visit. We arrived as strangers and left feeling that Bill and Kari were new friends. Our visit to Pencarrow could not have been better and we highly recommend this wonderful property to other visitors to Queenstown.

Rick and Valerie


Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Aviator311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Our stay with these fine people exceeded every expectation. The breakfasts were superb, their knowledge in helping us pick activities was outstanding, and the actual lodging was both super clean , elegant and comfortable.

I would encourage anyone staying in Queenstown to stay at Pencarrow - I will be back as often as possible.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.3 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
917 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Gibbston House B&B
Gibbston House B&B
#25 of 45 in Queenstown
12 reviews
2 mi away
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
4.4 mi away
Hidden Lodge
Hidden Lodge
#7 of 45 in Queenstown
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencarrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencarrow

Address: 678 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: £151 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pencarrow 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencarrow is an all-suite country estate 2 miles from Queenstown offering 4 acres of elegance with stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables. Suites have sitting room, free WiFi (iPads in every suite), writing desk, magazines/books, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities, homemade sweets, fresh flowers, Flat Screens and Sky (cable) television, iPod docking stations, direct-dial phones, iron/ironing board. En-suites equipped with oversized jet spa bath, separate shower, double vanity, heated towel rail, under-tile heating, hair dryer, bathrobes, slippers, guest amenity basket. Outdoors many sitting decks/patios, fireplace, spa pool, waterfall, tree, plant, and flower species. Indoors plenty of space and privacy. Guest lounge/bar with fireplace, concierge/library room, snooker/games room, incredible views. Breakfast is a 4 course full on affair each morning at your personally requested time. Welcome gift, afternoon “sweet in the suite”, drinks/mini bar, and all taxes included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pencarrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing